The link to yesterday's post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-24-snuggie-pmps-342-amps-336-7-320-new-acro-dx.249010/ where you asked me:
@Wendy&Neko regarding the bit about testing times - so that’s where I get a little “lost” with TR… and maybe a little is getting lost due to method of communication and not chatting live but - if the depot takes a few days to build (thinking few days = 3
days = 6 cycles) and TR is saying increase dose after 6 cycles if not enough blues, how is there any time to develop a “routine”? Feel free to direct me back to the TR stickies; I really only skimmed them when I joined bc the dry food dictated I went SLGS.
So the depot can take 3 days to build, but sometimes they have an earlier reaction to the new dose. Especially if you are starting to see better numbers, you don't want to stop testing. and six cycles is usually enough time to see what sort of nadirs a dose is giving you, provided you have that second test every cycle. With TR, we only hold the dose for 3 days/six cycles if you aren't seeing anything under 200. You can slow down how long you hold the dose once you start seeing blues/greens. In fact, if all kitty is seeing is 300's and above, there is provision for faster increases. Otherwise, I'd stick to what TR suggests.
UTI's - Neko never had them. Though my vet for some reason thought I should keep testing for them. Those urine cultures were darn expensive tests!

After a couple years I got wiser (and Neko was mostly under renal threshold), so I said no to that test unless there were other signs.
CKD, yes, that is something that can be accelerated by acromegaly. If you are interested, I can post an article on that. Thought I had posted it on this thread,
Acromegaly - the basics, which has links to lots of articles but evidently not. The one I have talks about the mechanism of acromegaly and how in impacts kidneys, but in humans. Proteinuria is more common in acros, so you do want to keep an eye on his urine protein numbers and get a urine protein/creatinine ratio test done if it's creeping up. It can be controlled with meds, but uncontrolled can worsen kidney disease. Neko had proteinuria and was on benazapril.
Other organs - of most concern is the heart. If he ever gets to the point where his CKD means regular fluids, I'd get his heart checked out first. Heart issues can go mostly hidden for a while. If your vet ever hears a murmur, and you can spring for an echocardiogram by a cardio specialist, I'd do it. I've seen a number of members here find their acros have heart issues, when it's quite late in the disease. Again, finding early means it can be managed by meds. Next set of issues I've seen most often is the GI system, whether it be inflammation of the bowels, megacolon, etc. Just keep an eye on his poops for an significant changes. And remember, not all acros get these issues, just these ones are on the top 10 list so you should be on the lookout for them.
Other changes are those caused by soft tissue growth and bony growth. Neko had one eye that teared - caused by blockage of her tear duct by soft tissue growth. It was an acro symptom, but not a big deal. The noisy breath is caused by soft tissue growth in the throat. Again, not a Neko symptom until 5 years in. Neko had some soft tissue growth on her gums, causing one of her canine teeth to rub on that gum. Regular vet thought it was a bad tooth, dental specialist realized it was soft tissue growth issue due to acromegaly. Her tooth was saved but shaved. The bony growths caused the arthritis, and later on a bony growth on her jaw. Same dental specialist thought the jaw growth was cancer, thankfully he was wrong, Neko was one of the 1% percent of benign growth cases.
today he seems super happy and interactive - honestly he seems to be improving every day outwardly
Yes!!

This is what counts the most. He will get even better as you can get him under renal threshold more of the time. That plus hopefully cabergoline will help some of the acro symptoms like the breathing. Neko got to a place where she had pretty good quality of life. Some of it needed medical help, especially the arthritis which was getting bad in later years, but with that help things were pretty good. At some point you may have to add gabapentin and/or buprenorphine (Neko was on) to help with pain, but doesn't sound like he's there yet. So in the mean time, just be aware of what could be there, but it doesn't mean he will get all these issues. And keep on snuggling!