6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +4.25 75, +5 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Sunday night Scully's PMPS was 79 and we shot 1.5 units. We have since reduced her to 1.25 units. I believe she's been clearing her bounce from me over-carbing her Sunday night when she hit a low of 28 at +5. I'd like to try again tonight, only this time follow the protocol for handling low numbers. I'd like to either shoot her normal dose or perhaps a reduced dose, but I'd rather not skip her shot as her BG will zoom up once her insulin wears off. Stalling the shot is not an option as I'd end up having to skip tomorrow morning's shot all together. Please help!

Tara
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78 Shoot??

Very Nice PMPS. :mrgreen:
If you're going to be home to monitor, have lots of test strips, and HC or syrup if needed, then I'd say go for it.
There will be other people logged on to stay up with you. I unfortunately will not, as I have to go to sleep soon.
I'd either do the regular dose now, or think of the BCS dose you feel more comfortable with. I don't like to stall either. Good luck tonight ;-)
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78 Shoot??

Thanks Dyana! I shot at the regular time a slightly reduced dose of 1 unit instead of 1.25. Have plenty of strips and HC food on hand. Here we go!
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78 Shoot??

Good shooting Tara! :mrgreen: :-D I'd get a +1 and a +2 to see what Scully has in mind for tonight.
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57

I edited the Subject line of my original post. I don't know if that's where or how I'm supposed to, but I'll worry about that later. Scully is testing low at only 3 hrs into this cycle, so we are diligently monitoring. I will begin giving her HC food if/when she drops below 50, which I predict will be pretty soon. She is being frisky right now, up at the top of her cat tree playing with her tail. She's clearly feeling good right now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57

You could give her a tsp or two of her regular LC food to see if you can encourage her to surf here. Frisky is good. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40

Just tested again and got 40! Gave a teaspoon of Gravy Lovers Chicken. Will test again in 15 minutes. In the past, her LC food didn't seem to bring her numbers up, so I skipped that and went straight for the high carb stuff. Here's my chance to try to avoid over-carbing her this time, but I don't want to be too conservative. Feel like I'm walking a tightrope here!
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +3.75 49

49 at +3.75. BG rising. Gave another big teaspoon of Gravy Lovers Chicken. (Just breathe) Will test again in about 20 minutes.
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +3.75 49

Nice catch and good job shooting low. Scully is being a bit dramatic, but you and Wendy can handle it!
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +3.75 49

75 at +4.25. Now, do I continue to feed low carb food or no food right now? She's snoozing on the couch, but will probably eat if I put food in front of her. Test again in 30 - 40 minutes?
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +3.75 49

So it's been 1/2 hour since her last high carb food? You could test again in 1/2 hour, without feeding and see if she is still rising. Feeding LC is also an option, to see if it can get her to surf here. That might give her more time in healing green numbers. The tradeoff is that you'll have to be up a little later testing as you want a couple of rising numbers without influence of food. What do you feel like?

Oh, and Scully has earned that reduction you gave her tonight. The new dose tomorrow is 1.0U.
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +3.75 49

88 at +5, so Scully is still rising without food. Her last high carb food was about an hour and 15 minutes ago. She has only eaten a few freeze dried pieces of chicken since then. I will test again in 1 hour. Hope the BG won't continue to rise too much further. Would like to see her spend some more time in the green.

Thank you, Wendy, for anticipating my question about tomorrow's dose, and especially for virtually holding my hand tonight! I can't say thank you enough!!
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +3.75 49

Good plan for tonight. Paws crossed she rises just a tiny bit and hangs onto that green for a while longer. I find Neko can bobble back down again two hours after HC. Looks like you did a good job on the HC amounts tonight, Scully is up but not soaring. :-D Hope you get some sleep soon.

Do you mind updating your first post with the latest numbers so that at a glance people can see that Scully is surfing safely now?
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +3.75 49

I tried to update the subject line, but it won't let me add any more. What am I doing wrong?
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +4.25 75, +5

I messed around with the subject line and just deleted one of the numbers so they fit.
 
Re: 6/25 Scully PMPS 78, +1 94, +3 57, +3.5 40, +4.25 75, +5

Looks good on the subject line. Usually you do have to remove the older data. If you remove the commas that would give a bit more space too. I see a 95 on the SS so looks like you can call it a night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top