6/25 Purrcee PMPS 382 +2 318 +8 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Hi
Purrcee has only been on 1.25 for 1 cycle and he really dropped this morning, Lowest value ever since on regular schedule of Lantus. He is hungry as are the other 7 and wants to eat. Not sure if I should feed or shoot.

Thanks!
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot??

Hi guys .. I know these "lower" ps numbers can be a bit scary .. this is actually a very nice number but I can understand your hesitation .. are you going to be home to monitor purcee today?
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot??

I won't be home half of the day to monitor. Starting around 9:30 I will be in an out but not sure at what times I can get tests.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot??

Julie --

Can you retest in 20 min. to see if this is a dropping number or not. Don't feed! I've got to head out for work. I think Marje or other experienced folds are around. You may want to look at this post on dealing with low pre-shots.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot??

That 146 isn't a bad # at all. As far as dosing advice is concerned, I have none. With regards to the food, however, if you're concerned about Purrcee dropping, you can always leave out a bit of MC (medium carb) food, which will help to keep him/her from dropping too rapidly, or if at all. If you are going to be in/out throughout the day, you can always try getting a quick test from him/her to see how he/she is doing, and then log the info into the SS when you get a chance later today. You'll get used to seeing these #s in the near future. This # could be a bounce since you've recently started giving 1.25u. Just remember that it takes a few days (give or take) for any kind of dose adjustment to kick in, and for the kitty's body to get used to the extra juice. You'll get there. :-D And welcome!
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

Can you re-test at +13? I can't tell if this is dropping or a surf. At what +time will you be leaving and returning. If you're leaving soon, and won't be back for some time, it may be best to skip -- although I hate to suggest that since this is a really good number!!
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

Julie

This is a GREAT number and what you have been working towards but I would not feel comfortable with you shooting and not being able to get a +1 and +2 to start. We don't have enough data on him to know how he will deal with you just leaving food out.

My thought is that if you shoot and feed, he will likely come up but then he could...and probably will...come back down when his insulin onsets.

It's your call whether to skip or not depending on your schedule. You could shoot a reduced dose but that is no guarantee that he won't still come down early in the cycle due to the depot. This dose is working for him.....is the any flexibility in your schedule today?
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

I tested at 45 minutes after AMPS is that close enough to +13? I really want to know if I should feed him or not.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

Did you already give him the shot...? If you did, then definitely feed him as shooting and then not feeding isn't a good thing. You definitely want to feed after giving a shot for sure.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

If you are going to shoot and monitor him, then feed him.

If you are going to skip, feed him.

If you want to stall longer to see if he comes up, do not feed him. If you stall, you will have to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot this morning and then we will work the schedule back for you to get on your regular shot time.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

Why don't you retest at +13. Sometimes in 15 minutes, they can really rise.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

Can i consider the +45 as the +13? I think I will stall until 9 am. which will be a +14. So I will need advice at that time on whether to feed or not and shoot or not.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

You can but what you want to be able to do is catch the number on the rise and shoot. At some point, his earlier shot should start to diminish. It will then take two hours for the one you give him to kick in. By shooting as soon as he starts to rise, it might keep him more level and not allow him to shoot way up.

We normally advise to test every 30 mins and shoot as soon as you see the rise. It can happen quickly.

Of course, cats don't read the manuals and sometimes, even within two hours, they don't rise. That's why I'm not a big fan of stalling for a number like this which is very safe to shoot. BUT you have to be able to monitor and if you can't, then it's not safe.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

Sorry Marje I read your response wrong about the 15 minute test from my 45 minute test. I will check him again at 8:30 which will be a +13.5 rather than wait until 9 am. It's hard on the other cats because they aren't getting fed either and they are wondering what's up. I'm hoping Purrcee can eat soon because if I isolate him while feeding the others he will not understand. I cancelled my appointments today so will be home most of the day to monitor him. 10 minutes to go and I will test.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

Ok...I'm waiting.

You might want to go back through and read all the posts on this condo. Lots of good info for the next time and its easy to miss a post here or there when we are cross posting.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 Feed? Shoot?? 45 Min test 138

+13.5 is 157 so looks like slightly rising.
so now is it okay to feed and shoot? Should I shoot a full dose at 1.25?
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 45 Min test 138 +13.5 157

Yes...shoot the full dose now and feed. Grab a +1 test. I will check in.

Great job!!!

PS...it's ok to take the 911 down. Usually best to take it down as soon as someone responds. Thank you!
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 45 Min test 138 +13.5 157

Hi Julie. Been watching from the sidelines because I didn't want to post and break the cross dialect between you and those helping. That first shot at a low number is nerve racking but you did a great job.

Have a great day Julie.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 45 Min test 138 +13.5 157

Thanks to all for the help. There were a couple of approaches to this issue so I'm a little unclear but maybe that's just the way it is. I will test at 10:15 +1. I moved the other numbers out of the spreadsheet and just made note of them in the comments section since they weren't really in the right place. I do keep a manual log as well in case I forget what's going on.

Thanks again!
Have a great day
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 45 Min test 138 +13.5 157

Julie

Just a few fun things to learn now that the tense moments are over :-D

We like to suggest a +10/+11 test whenever it is possible because it allows you to know if kitty is dropping going into preshot. Shooting dropping numbers can give you a great ability to take advantage of carryover and overlap of lantus.
Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect

There could have been two scenarios last night:
1. PMPS 291 and he could have come down to a blue nadir, gone back up a bit, and then gotten a second lantus dip that you saw this morning OR
2. More likely based on how he kept dropping, he was dropping from PMPS all the way to +12; this is indicative of a dropping number usually associated with clearing a bounce (but not always).

A second dip is safe to shoot without stalling because he has already had a nadir, has come up, and is just going to dip a bit before coming back up again. Then he will onset around +2.
A dropping number has to be addressed with a little more caution. When we don't know if it's a dropping number or not, we stall to see if there is a rise.....just like you did today.

Once you have a little more data, you will know whether he is getting a second dip or whether he's dropping and you can shoot more on schedule.

I have to strongly urge you to test a little more. Even when you get a high preshot, please get another test during the cycle whether it is a +2, a mid cycle, a +10/+11, a before bed.....whatever but you are missing the opportunity to know what is going on with Purrcee and better address how to handle it. I've seen cats go from 300 at PS to 40 at midcycle to 300 at the next PS. Without that midcycle test, the caregiver would have thought the cat needed more insulin.

Sienne and I are also big fans of a +2 test. It will potentially tell you alot about that cycle. If the +2 is much higher than the Preshot, it's likely to be a non active cycle with numbers staying flat or rising. If the +2 is similar to or the same as the PS, it's likely to be a normal, active lantus cycle as shown below. If the +2 is much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle with a possible early drop. That can help you decide when to test next.

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If you get a chance, could you please update the subject line to show his AMPS as 157? To show this all correctly on his SS so we know you stalled, go to the evening +11 column and put "146 @ 12; 138 @ 12.75" Then in the AMPS column, put "157 @ 13.5".

To get back on schedule, you have options:
1. If he zooms up above 300 by +10.5, shoot early and you'll be back on schedule. You MUST monitor especially grab some spot checks tonight and tomorrow because shooting early like that can act as an increase and you might see numbers come down in a subsequent cycle.
2. if he doesn't zoom up, shoot 15 mins early each cycle until you are back at your normal shot time OR you can also shoot 30 mins early once a day starting tomorrow morning until you are back on your normal shot time.

Any questions??? I've thrown alot at you.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 146 45 Min test 138 +13.5 157

I have to take time to read what you wrote but right now it's becoming more overwhelming than I anticipated and given my other obligations and commitments it's really too much to handle for one person. To get my SS right I'm not sure if I did it correctly...in the AMPS column it won't put a color in it when I add the @ 13.5

Marje and Gracie said:
If you get a chance, could you please update the subject line to show his AMPS as 157? To show this all correctly on his SS so we know you stalled, go to the evening +11 column and put "146 @ 12; 138 @ 12.75" Then in the AMPS column, put "157 @ 13.5".
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 157

Julie

Thanks for updating. SS looks great. You have to manually color in the columns where there is more than just the BG. Just click on the box and then go to the toolbar, click on the icon that looks like a pitcher and select the color.

I'm sorry you are overwhelmed. Everyone is when they start out. The learning curve is very steep but it gets better.

What can we do to make it less overwhelming for you? We are here to help and not make it more burdensome.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 157

I think you are doing all you can to make this easier by offering your expertise and support. Sometimes the different opinions are confusing to me and not sure which way to go. Just did +3 and he is 275 up so slightly. Thanks.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 157 +1 262 +3 275

Julie

Can you tell me, specifically, what confused you? Sienne and I were in contact and we are usually on the same page. I think we were telling you the same thing this morning. If I know where the confusion is, I can address it for you. We don't want you being overwhelmed because we are confusing you.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 157 +1 262 +3 275

I think my confusion centers around feeding or not feeding when his tests come up low for him. I feed then shoot; I hope that's correct. If not please let me know. So if I'm not shooting do I feed? It may be that someone thought I may have shot so I should feed. Then there was mention to wait 20 minutes and get a test before feeding. I think it's my problem due to lack of experience and knowledge not the people helping me.
 
Re: 6/25 Purrcee AMPS 157 +1 262 +3 275

I think someone might have thought you shot.

I will give you the Cliff Notes because I've already piled alot on you today. But, if you look in my signature block, there is a post entitled "How to Deal with Low Preshots". You could perhaps print it off and read it when things are a little clearer but it does have lots of important info.

When you are a new member, we encourage you to shoot any number over 150 as long as you have supplies and will be home to test. If the number is 50-150 and you have not shot in that range before (or if its a number 150-200 and you are worried about shooting), then do not feed him and post for help before you shoot.

Just as today, we are going to see if it looks like a dropping number. If so, we will ask you to continue to withhold food and test in 20 minutes. The food will raise the BG and we don't want you to shoot a food spike number because it can come back down. We want to see if he is going up, down, or is flat. Usually, you would want to test every 20-30 minutes without feeding, and as soon as the number goes up, then shoot and feed.

Most of us feed while shooting as it gets the kitty distracted. Because Lantus does not actually onset for two hours, there is no hurry to feed right then when you shoot but you want to be sure there is food on board when the insulin kicks in. If the number is dropping and you shoot (once you become data ready), you will definitely want to feed when you shoot to stop the drop. If you know you are going to shoot within a few minutes, you can feed right before if you prefer.

When it comes to testing, remember that food may affect the BG you get. So you want to test before you feed. For example, I feed Gracie at PS, +2, +3, +5, +6 (she is on levemir, not Lantus so her onset is later). If I am going to test at any of those feed times, I test first, then feed. It takes about 30 mins after feeding to see any effect on the BG.

Does that help? Please let me know your questions. We always want to be sure it's clear.
 
Re: ?? 6/25 Purrcee AMPS +10.5 382 shoot now?

Thanks for spending so much time on my issues...I'm sure you must be overloaded. Purrcee +10.5 was 382; he ate dinner 2.5 hours before test. It looks like I should shot early to get back on schedule so will do that now?
 
Re: ?? 6/25 Purrcee AMPS +10.5 382 shoot now?

How early did you shoot? +10.5 or +11?

I would get an early test or two. An early shot acts like a dose increase. Given that Purrcee's numbers are high, it shouldn't be a problem to have shot early. I just don't want you caught off guard.
 
Re: ?? 6/25 Purrcee AMPS +10.5 382 shoot now?

10.5
Did I misinterpret Marje's statement below: Was it too early to shoot at +10.5? What is an early test...+1 +2 ??? Thanks

To get back on schedule, you have options:
1. If he zooms up above 300 by +10.5, shoot early and you'll be back on schedule. You MUST monitor especially grab some spot checks tonight and tomorrow because shooting early like that can act as an increase and you might see numbers come down in a subsequent cycle.
 
Re: ?? 6/25 Purrcee AMPS +10.5 382 shoot now?

You did fine, Julie. Sorry I missed you. I checked back before we sat down for dinner but just missed you.

Because shooting early can act like a dose increase, we just watch it as I indicated. You may or may not see an effect. But when they shoot up like that, there is no reason to make them wait to have insulin.

Great job :-D
 
Re: ?? 6/25 Purrcee AMPS +10.5 382 shoot now?

Okay thanks. If the term "early test" is used a lot, can you tell me what it means? Thanks.
 
Re: ?? 6/25 Purrcee AMPS +10.5 382 shoot now?

It means +1/+2. You should be fine with a +2 tonight. If it is the same/similar to or much lower then the PMPS, you need to grab a +4. If its higher, just grab a before bed test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top