Mazi's Mom
Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...shot-4-200-8-110-pmps-95.291172/#post-3187028
Morning! Mazi & I have been missing in action over the past couple weeks.
I graduated nursing school in December & earned my WI state license in March about 2 weeks before Mazi was diagnosed with DKA, DM, & then 12 hours after bringing him home a severe episode of Hypoglycemia. Needless to say, I was traumatized & terrified to leave him home alone until he was regulated, on a safe dose, and till the boyfriend & I had a good regimen down to keep him safe while gone at work. So I stalled on my job search.
Fast forward to now & I just got offered a RN position on my dream unit, Cardiac and Neurology. I'll be working 12.5 hr days 7:00 am till 7:30pm, luckily the hospital is close to home & just a 12 min ride. I start on 7/15/24.
Mazi and I have come a long way since we joined the group thanks to @Wendy&Neko and @Diane Tyler's Mom for holding my hand thru this journey. And I am forever grateful.
We have gotten Mazi regulated, on a safe dose (range), and have developed a game plan that I can now feel safe leaving Mazi home alone so I can start my new career.
However, since our short absence, Mazi was on 0.5U of Lantus & he developed this new pattern where he likes to take a steep drop from his preshot to about +3, & because of that Wendy and I thought he possibly could be bouncing, as evidence by him hitting a green nadir and then right after the green nadir increasing back up to blues right after, instead of surfing in greens most of the day, as he used to do. Plus a cycle or 2 where he was having a bounce clearing cycle.
I've tried giving LC snacks at +1/2 to slow the drop, didn't work. Then I tried MC, wasn't really working. Plus I was conflicted on when to give the snacks, bc some days his insulin wouldn't kick in till +2/2.5, and other days it would seem to kick in immediately and by +2, he dropped by 80 points already.
I made the decision to try lowering his dose to 0.25U (against the TR rules) a few days ago to try to see if could see a difference in onset & how steep he drops. Its a little too soon to make any judgements. However, what I have noticed thus far, is his drops have only been 40 some points or less, he hits a green nadir, but goes back up to blue soon after just like on the 0.5U dose. Preshots have been in the upper 100s on both 0.5 & 0.25U doses.
Yesterday I did a curve. It was the first day in a few weeks that I was able to give him a full day of checks.
For the past 2 months I haven't been able to get him on a consistent dose. It seems to me his sweet spot is somewhere between 0.1U to 0.5U. He is regulated, and stays in safe numbers which I am thankful for.
At this point, I dont know if he needs an increase, decrease, or what? But I'm willing to wear my patience pants and really buckle down & figure this out.
My goal is to get him on a consistent dose that works for him by the time I go to work. That way maybe ill be able to identify some consistent patterns with that set dose, and hopefully predict his cycles better, which in turn will help me better plan for my days at work and feel better leaving him alone.
My schedule is pretty open now till July 15th, where I can really work on finding a good dose for Mazi and can really put in the time doing lots of testing and curves.
@Wendy&Neko im in need of your expert guidance!
Morning! Mazi & I have been missing in action over the past couple weeks.
I graduated nursing school in December & earned my WI state license in March about 2 weeks before Mazi was diagnosed with DKA, DM, & then 12 hours after bringing him home a severe episode of Hypoglycemia. Needless to say, I was traumatized & terrified to leave him home alone until he was regulated, on a safe dose, and till the boyfriend & I had a good regimen down to keep him safe while gone at work. So I stalled on my job search.
Fast forward to now & I just got offered a RN position on my dream unit, Cardiac and Neurology. I'll be working 12.5 hr days 7:00 am till 7:30pm, luckily the hospital is close to home & just a 12 min ride. I start on 7/15/24.
Mazi and I have come a long way since we joined the group thanks to @Wendy&Neko and @Diane Tyler's Mom for holding my hand thru this journey. And I am forever grateful.
We have gotten Mazi regulated, on a safe dose (range), and have developed a game plan that I can now feel safe leaving Mazi home alone so I can start my new career.
However, since our short absence, Mazi was on 0.5U of Lantus & he developed this new pattern where he likes to take a steep drop from his preshot to about +3, & because of that Wendy and I thought he possibly could be bouncing, as evidence by him hitting a green nadir and then right after the green nadir increasing back up to blues right after, instead of surfing in greens most of the day, as he used to do. Plus a cycle or 2 where he was having a bounce clearing cycle.
I've tried giving LC snacks at +1/2 to slow the drop, didn't work. Then I tried MC, wasn't really working. Plus I was conflicted on when to give the snacks, bc some days his insulin wouldn't kick in till +2/2.5, and other days it would seem to kick in immediately and by +2, he dropped by 80 points already.
I made the decision to try lowering his dose to 0.25U (against the TR rules) a few days ago to try to see if could see a difference in onset & how steep he drops. Its a little too soon to make any judgements. However, what I have noticed thus far, is his drops have only been 40 some points or less, he hits a green nadir, but goes back up to blue soon after just like on the 0.5U dose. Preshots have been in the upper 100s on both 0.5 & 0.25U doses.
Yesterday I did a curve. It was the first day in a few weeks that I was able to give him a full day of checks.
For the past 2 months I haven't been able to get him on a consistent dose. It seems to me his sweet spot is somewhere between 0.1U to 0.5U. He is regulated, and stays in safe numbers which I am thankful for.
At this point, I dont know if he needs an increase, decrease, or what? But I'm willing to wear my patience pants and really buckle down & figure this out.
My goal is to get him on a consistent dose that works for him by the time I go to work. That way maybe ill be able to identify some consistent patterns with that set dose, and hopefully predict his cycles better, which in turn will help me better plan for my days at work and feel better leaving him alone.
My schedule is pretty open now till July 15th, where I can really work on finding a good dose for Mazi and can really put in the time doing lots of testing and curves.
@Wendy&Neko im in need of your expert guidance!
Last edited:
