6/25- Max PMPS 516; 385 +4, 375 +8.75

Rebecca & Max (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning all! Just checking in but have a few non-urgent questions.
It’s still bumpy but I’m doing my best to get more ear sticks. Max is still being ‘difficult’ but he’s at least more tolerant at times ...and I suit up for battle too .
Max’s vet wanted me to bump him up from 0.5U to 1U as he was just staying high (looking over his Libre results at 0.25 and my AT info I emailed him while Max was at 0.5U- which was limited). I asked about going to 0.75U, but the vet didn’t think I could consistently dose him at that. Oh well! I have my magnifying glass and take my time, and we’re heading into his 5th cycle at 0.75. Finally getting a few reads in the high 300s, but he’s still hanging in the 4-500s. This brings me to my questions...
1) If I can only get an extra test or two between each cycle, what time(s) should I aim for to get the most information? Nadir? Two times close to nadir, but on both sides of it (so like + 5 & +7)? Nadir and before or after? Daytime (for us it’s 12 pm to 12 am) cycles I can set a reminder alarm to test whenever, but ‘nighttime’ (12am to 12 pm) is now falling in with his feeds at 4-5AM (+4) and 8-8:30AM (+8-8.5). Sleep is already too little for me, so waking up at other times probably just isn’t going to happen during that cycle.
2) If your cat is sleeping, do you wake them to test them at a specific time, or do you wait for them to wake up and then just test whenever that is? Are any extra tests always better than no tests, or are there times that just won’t tell me much?
3) If after 6 cycles, Max isn’t dropping lower, can I make a second dose adjustment to 1U without having a ton of data, or is it best to wait the full week because I don’t have a ton of data?
Sorry for yet another novel...‍
**correction +4 was 384...not 385- not a huge deal but wanted to make that known.
 
If I can only get an extra test or two between each cycle, what time(s) should I aim for to get the most information?

Get tests at different points in the cycle....maybe one cycle get a +3 and +7, another cycle get a +2 and +6 (and maybe even a +9 if Max is in a really good mood). If you look at your spreadsheet like it's a puzzle, the more pieces you have sprinkled around, the easier it is to figure out what the picture is.

If your cat is sleeping, do you wake them to test them at a specific time, or do you wait for them to wake up and then just test whenever that is? Are any extra tests always better than no tests, or are there times that just won’t tell me much?

ANY test at any point in the cycle adds to your knowledge of how Max is responding. Even tests like +1 and +11 are important occasionally! It really doesn't matter if he's sleeping or not....just try to get tests when you can. If he's easier to poke when he's asleep, go for it.

If after 6 cycles, Max isn’t dropping lower, can I make a second dose adjustment to 1U without having a ton of data, or is it best to wait the full week because I don’t have a ton of data?

On SLGS, you're supposed to hold the dose for 7 days so until you and Max work out who's the boss, best stick to the 7 day schedule ;)
 
If your cat is sleeping, do you wake them to test them at a specific time, or do you wait for them to wake up and then just test whenever that is?
I used to test while Neko was sleeping. Sometimes she didn't wake up, unless she realized she was missing a treat. :p
 
Back
Top