6/25 Jinx PMPS 212... +3.25 48, +4 45, +4.5 66, +5.5 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe and Jinx

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73759

Jinx didn't touch the baby food or his regular NV canned this morning but did eat some chopped up chicken breast I boiled last night. He also hasn't thrown up since last night when he started eating the baby food so that's good news. Still very concerned about the overall lack of appetite and all the pukus recently. So I'm bringing him in to the vets for an ultrasound today and will probably get blood work as well to try to figure out what's going on with him. I feel terrible bringing him in because he gets so scared and aggressive at the vets but I don't really have a choice at this point. Thanks to everyone for all the advice and help ranging from the baby food to the Spec fPL test. Will get a +2 test in before I bring him in and will update you all when I get the results this afternoon. Hope you all have a good day.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

Hi guys .. I'm so sorry to hear that Jinx is not feeling well .. I know most kitties here do not enjoy going to the vets but sometimes it just has to happen .. :YMHUG: I hope the vet visit goes well!
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

I wrote this in your yesterday's condo:
Dyana said:
I don't know the whole story with Jinx. I just wanted you to be aware that you don't want to give appetite stimulants (cyproheptadine or mirtazapine) unless you also address nausea at the same time with something like ondansetron.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

Peter & Devon, thank-you for the message. I hate bringing him in but I know all of us feel the same way. Sometimes, you just have to. Hope you have a great day.

Thanks for the info, Dyana. I will ask about ondansetron and will keep in mind what you wrote regarding J.D.'s experience with the pain meds. Thanks again for making me aware of the Spec fPL test. Hope you have a great day.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

Looks like it's going to be a very active day and I'm wondering if I should postpone the visit to the vets. Just gave him some more chicken breast so I'm hoping that helps. Will probably bring him in and check his BG when I get him to the vets and hope he goes up or tapers off.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342, +2 137

That is one big ole drop :shock: .
I would still go to the vet, just with meter in pocket, and depending upon the numbers some HC or karo. Test him before you go.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

Thanks, Dyana. Actually tested at +2.25 and leaving in 10min so I'll test when I get there at +3. Fingers crossed.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

Get a +3. He may be working on another reduction. Has he eaten his normal amount, today?
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

Oops, cross posted with you.

Good vet visit vines being sent.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

I've given him a decent amount of boiled chicken breast and he's eaten all of it along with a little bit of baby food.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342

Sometimes vet stress can make them go down, rather than up. Can you take some HC with you, for just in case?
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3 41, +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5

Sorry Jinx went down so much at the vets, but I think it was important that he be seen.
He did earn a dose reduction :mrgreen:

Hope all is well..
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3 41, +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5

Dyana, I checked him when I got to the vets and he was a 41. I did bring karo with me and it helped keep him up for the hour and a half I was there. Thank-you very much for recommending that!

Found out for the first time that Jinx has a heart murmur so the vet took some blood and is going to check for hyperthyroidism in addition to the Spec fPL. For that reason, I rescheduled the ultrasound for tomorrow. If he tests positive for hyperthyroidism, we'll treat for that and see if the murmur improves. If not, he'll get an echocardiogram before the ultrasound to take a look at his heart.

Was glad to see his +5.5 at 76. Hopefully he won't dive so low tomorrow. Which brings me to a question... The internist I spoke to today said that their radiologist spends about an hour doing the ultrasound so due to that length of time, Jinx would have to be sedated and I couldn't be in the room because in her experience, animals are calmer when their guardian aren't there with them. For sedatives, they typically use valium and butorphanol in tandem. Does anyone have any knowledge or experience with animals under either of those sedatives that could bolster my argument for why I don't want them given to him?

Update: I just called and spoke to one of their techs and he said he understands my concern about the sedation and they will do what they can to accommodate the request. From what I gauged, if they feel that after the bloodwork and echocardiogram results, that there is too much of a risk in giving him a sedative, they won't. Either way, I will be very persistent when I go in tomorrow to forgo the sedatives and to be in the room with him.

Sienne, I give Jinx Pepcid 15 min before his pred every other night. Based on his symptoms, do you think I should give him some more regularly?
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3 41, +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5

I'm glad you got the tests done. Did the vet say anything about the Spec fPL being a fasting test?
I'm also glad you grabbed your meter and karo. I've had J.D. go down at the vets before. I wasn't sure how long of a drive you had to make either.
Sorry I can't answer your questions about the sedatives, I have no experience. J.D. would probably just lay there for them, without sedatives.
I try to give J.D. Pepcid twice a day, as if I don't he will throw up clear bile around 1 to 2 hours before PS time (when his tummy is most empty).
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3 41, +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5

Dyana, the vet made no mention about it being a fasting test and I honestly forgot to ask. I remember you said you were told that it was but did you confirm that? Sorry if you've already told me. I'll look at your message again after I send this.

How much Pepcid do you give J.D.?
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5 76, +7

It's best if it is fasted but doesn't have to be. Pepcid AC (only).....1/4 of a 10 mg tablet.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5 76, +7

Joe, I'm glad Jinx got in to see the vet today. Did they say what level of heart murmur it is? It's usually on a scale of 1-5 with 1 being low level. My Buster (GA) had a low level heart murmur for years. The number is somewhat subjective and the number would vary up and down at different visits at the clinic. He did have X-ray and ultrasound for them, and they didn't need to sedate him, but ECID. You might also want to ask the vet what they think about morning dose for Jinx when he goes in tomorrow. But I guess if you reduce after today he'll likely be higher tomorrow.

I'm glad Jinx is coming up.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5 76, +7

Marje - based on what Dyana said, I take it there's no harm in giving Jinx Pepcid AC twice a day?

Wendy - they didn't give me a number but I will ask the vet tomorrow. I'm going to give him a dose reduction to 2.25u so I'm also thinking there's a good chance he could be lower tomorrow.

But just in case, does anyone think reducing a little bit more tomorrow morning would be wise?
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5 76, +7

Yes...you can give it twice a day but remember that pepcid is for acid tummy. So unless you think he has an acid tummy, I'm not sure I'd give it bid.

Signs of an acid tummy: throwing up clear, foamy liquid; meat loafing but it's not a relaxed meat loaf; lip licking

If he's just nauseous, ondansetron is a better solution.

I wouldn't reduce his dose below the 2.25u that he earned a reduction to today. The reason: I want to be sure he has plenty of insulin on board if he does have any type of infection. You can always take him down if he
earns a reduction again. Let's see what he does. Ok?? :-D

Sending him healing vines and KTSS is on the WAYYYY!!!
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx AMPS 342... +3.5 47, +4.5 68 (AT), +5.5 76, +7

Thanks, Marje. I'll give him the 2.25u and we'll see how he does with that.

I don't think what he has is acid tummy so I'll ask about the ondansetron tomorrow. And it figures he hasn't thrown up since yesterday morning. Ever since I started feeding him the baby food and the boiled chicken breast he's been fine. And he was really hungry when I got him home from the vets today. I'll see if he'll eat his NV canned chicken tonight.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212

Good luck....I hope he eats. Not a bad number considering all he's been through today.

Hope you get some rest, Joe. You are a great dad!!!
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212

Thanks, Marje. The only thing he'll eat right now is boiled chicken breast and he's a 106 at +2. Just tried to give him a tsp of HC (FF Gravy) but he won't eat it. I need a drink.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212, +2 106

Just gave him about 1TB of his old IAMS kibble and he scoffed it right up. I hope that wasn't the wrong decision but he won't eat anything with carbs, and I'm not in the right state of mind to be shooting karo syrup into his mouth all night. Sorry for the negativity everyone. This is just getting a little overwhelming.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212, +2 106, +2.75 55

Just went in to attack mode when I tried to give him some karo. going to have to bring him in to the emergency clinic if this continues.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212, +2 106, +2.75 55

Joe...don't worry...it's ok. It usually takes a while for their numbers to come up with dry so you might not see an immediate rise. But once it kicks in, it might hang around for a bit.

I just remembered what someone said once when their kitty wouldnt eat...they just got a small amount of dry, crumbled it up really fine, and sprinkled it on the canned food and the kitty ate it.

A drink is a good idea.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212, +2 106, +2.75 55

You may have to give him some karo if he won't eat any food with the dry crumbled on it.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212, +2 106, +2.75 55, +3.25 48

He was acting rabid when I gave him the karo earlier but I aimed towards his mouth and I think I got some in there. Between that and the kibble, he appears to have slowed down but I'll check in 30 to see where he's at.

Marje, I crumbled up the kibble and put some on his NV canned chicken but he just licked the kibble off. If he isn't up in 30, I'll give him some more karo. I grabbed a drink, took a shower and I've calmed down. I try not to get like that but it's been a lot lately. Based on what he's done today, are you still confident shooting 2.25u in the morning is the right call? Thanks for the message and for all your help.
 
Re: 6/25 Jinx PMPS 212, +2 106, +2.75 55, +3.25 48

Joe

Well....FD pushes us all to our limits some times and it's hard doing it alone. You've been doing fantastic so it's ok to have some frustration.

I think you should see where he is tomorrow. This cycle could just be shed....it wouldn't be unusual. The thing I find interesting about him as opposed to other cats that get pancreatitis (if he has it), is that their numbers trend upwards. So I'm wondering if there is any chance it can just be that he is tired of the food. That doesn't make it any easier when you have insulin on board and he has to eat.

Until his numbers start up, I'd try more honey or karo on his gums. He's not unsafe at 48/49 but you just don't have much margin for him to go any lower.

If there is a chance they will anesthetize him tomorrow and he is still not eating, you should probably skip tomorrow morning's shot. If he's over 200, you could give him 1u. Then you could go back to 2.25u if he's doing ok after tomorrow.

I hope he comes up soon for you. And you get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top