6/25 Jessica AMPS 453 (Surprise)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous Condo

AMPS 453, higher than I expected. May be due to injection site (this time at the right flank)
I noticed that the absorption of insulin around the flank is not that good. Can someone tell me the correct way to make injection?
I have difficulty in selection the site.
Do I need to wait for 10 seconds before I withdraw the needle?
What is proper pinch-up technique so that the needle goes into the fat layer below the skin - not into skin or muscle?
"Rotate injection site" How long should I wait before I reinject the same site again?

Thanks
 
Frankie

Here is a post I wrote on Testing and shooting Tips. It discusses injection technique. I've been meaning to do a video....need to try and do that soon.

I will shoot in the scruff sometimes and will rotate every shot so that I shoot:
Center left scruff in a.m.
Outer right scruff in PM
Outer left scruff in am
Center left scruff in PM

For a while now, I have been rotating so that I shoot
Left chest a.m.
Right chest p.m.
Left side a.m.
Right side p.m.
Left flank a.m.
Right flank p.m.

I have not noticed any change in absorption ...I just try to keep rotating sites and not get within 2-3 inches of the last site. You don't need to hold the syringe in ten seconds but keep the plunger pressed in as you withdraw the syringe so the insulin is not sucked back up into it.
 
Thank you, Marje.

These are very useful information. I do hope that you can make some video so that "Newbie" can learn from it.

Really appreciate it.

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top