6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) +4(255) +5.5(253) +11(342)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
6/24 Hershey

Good morning, y'all!!!

Hershey's cycle last night was nothing to write home about, but I've seen lots worse.

AMPS (342) +12.25 - Shot .5u at 8:10am

Planning an increase (to .6, unless Hershey says something different) but wondered if the 10 cycle count resets with a fur shot. This is is his 10th cycle on .5u, but if we say the fur shot 6/21AM resets the counter, then it's only his 8th cycle. I can see it both ways and just wanted to make sure I was understanding. THANKS for any clarification you give!!

My eyes and brain are pretty foggy this morning, so I think I'll catch a nap while the house is calm.

Have a great day!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

+4 (274)
+6 (233)
+10 (322)

PMPS (359) +12 - Shot .5u at 8:15pm
+4 (255)
+5.5 (253) - fed
+11 (342)
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) Q about the 10 cycles

I am pretty sure it resets, but we'll see what others have to say. Hope you have a great day Libby!
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) Q about the 10 cycles

Hi guys .. I wonder if hershey is going to say anything today about taking up his dose .. you know the kitties read their condos' right? :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) +4(274)

Started reading condos, ended up reading older notes and now I find that it's lunchtime. Amazing how much time you can spend reading here! Wish I could keep hanging around, but need to grab brunch and answer that age-old question - What's for supper???

+4 (274) - Not showing much, yet...
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) +4(274)

Actually, that is a nice drop from the AMPS, IMHO. Hershey is not bouncing all over the place. :smile: You might need to increase the dose in the future to bring down the overall cycle but flat is good. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) +4(274) +6(233)

You're right, Liz. Not a bad drop and flat yellow is WAY better than flat pink! :smile:

Thought I had posted his +6 (almost 2 hours ago). I sat down with the laptop and obviously did something else... :YMSIGH:

+6 (233)
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) +4(274) +6(233) +10(322)

+10 (322)

I think Hershey has forgotten how to play this game.... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) +4(274) +6(233) +10(322)

When you increase, I actually think you should try a .25u increase instead of just fattening. That increase is the guideline in the protocol.
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey AMPS(342) +4(274) +6(233) +10(322)

copy and paste of dosing advice sent in reply to PM:

you could go ahead and take the dose up any time now. protocol suggests holding for 6 - 10 cycles, but you don't have to wait a full 10 cycles. hershey's lows are in the upper 100s. i'd go ahead with an increase whenever you want.

re: dose
you could go up to 0.7u, but i think you'll find it's easier to measure halfway between the 0.5u mark and the 1u mark for a 0.75u dose. do whatever works for you.


good luck with the increase! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) Figuring out Calipers

PMPS (359) +12 - Shot .5u at 8:15pm

Oh, my goodness! What a hoot!! Have y'all ever had a discussion with someone and you each are sure of what you're saying, but have NO idea what the other one is saying??? Well, that's what just went on at my house trying to figure out how to use the calipers!!! :lol: :lol: It appeared to be great entertainment for Jessica!!!!

I think we came to agreement that you measure from the 0 to the 1 and divide it accordingly. So, being math whizzes that we are...what seemed like :30 later finally agreed that it came to 1.5 on the caliper. I was thinking we needed to calculate for each syringe, but Doug said not and his explanation made sense to me. If you read something wrong, clarification would be appreciated.

It occurred to me that it would be peachy if we could move shot times to 7/7 while Doug is on light duty, because he doesn't have my history of fur shots. Wish I could get us there by tomorrow morning, but I'm afraid moving an hour at one time might be too much.

Thanks, Marje and Jill, for the clarification on increasing. And, going with the .75 half-way between the two numbers would be easier. Kind of anxious to get him in better numbers.
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) Figuring out Calipers

sorry, i can't help with calipers. i'm old-fashioned. all i've ever done is eyeball the dose.
a long time ago i told marje she'd probably cringe if she saw me draw a dose. the whole process takes me all of about 1.5 seconds... if that! :lol:
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) Calipers & Moving Shot

Jill - You sound like Doug, but I won't stick my tongue out at you! :lol: Sometimes it takes me close to :10 to feel comfortable with what I eyeballed. :roll:

Wondering now how much I can move shot time at once since moving is like an increase...thinking out loud here, but would appreciate any thoughts y'all have...moving an hour would be like an increase, right? And, we're planning to increase as soon as possible, so what if we move tomorrow morning's shot time by 1 hour, then increase at PM shot time???
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) Calipers & Moving Shot

You can increase by an hour but it really depends on where the numbers are. I would definitely get a +10 and a +11 unless the numbers have been high and flat all day. Getting those late tests will let you know if Hershey's numbers are dropping at the end of the cycle.

Sorry about the wrong link. I must have thought I copied the counting cycles URL. I'm glad you found it on your own.
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) Calipers & Moving Shot

No problem, Sienne. Thank you for letting me know it was out there!

Doug will be getting up at +10 (which would be the new +11), so I know we can get that one. THANKS!!!
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) Calipers & Moving Shot

I think we came to agreement that you measure from the 0 to the 1 and divide it accordingly. So, being math whizzes that we are...what seemed like :30 later finally agreed that it came to 1.5 on the caliper. I was thinking we needed to calculate for each syringe, but Doug said not and his explanation made sense to me. If you read something wrong, clarification would be appreciated.

That logic is correct, Libby. Take what you get between 0 and 1 and divide it accordingly. I understand you thinking you needed to calibrate it for each syringe. You'd think that the scale on the syringes is pretty exact, but you're talking about plastic parts with lines etched in them. Having worked for years in a precision machine shop, the tolerances on plastic aren't overly precise, so the syringes won't ever be 100% perfect matches. BUT, what you are going for is consistency in dose. So if you measure once, set your calipers, and duplicate that measurement in every syringe you use, you could basically do that with no lines at all on the syringe and still get the same dose. Those calipers are a lot more accurate than the syringes can be.

Carl
 
Re: 6/25 Hershey PMPS(359) Moving Shot

Jill is so right....I would cringe but I'm also REALLY jealous!!!

I found the most accurate syringe I could. Then I measured between the zero line and the 1u with the calipers (be sure and zero them out first). Because Gracie is so sensitive to changes, instead of the typical 5 drops per .5u that most people get, I get 7 drops. So I divided the measurement I got by 14 and it just so happened it turned out that each of my drops is about .07 mm. So when I reduce, I dial down .07mm on the calipers. For example, my chubby .75u dose was 1.23 mm; she earned a reduction to .75u today so that dose is 1.16 mm. Like Carl said, I never look at the markings on the syringe any more. I just zero out my calipers before every dose to be sure the are calibrated, then I put them on the distance for the dose, draw the insulin, eek it out until I get close to my dose (I'm getting good at eyeballing an approximate amount of insulin per dose), and then fine tune it with the calipers. I always make sure I measure the distance from where the zero line "should" be to the top (needle side) of the plunger.

I should do a movie..... :lol: :lol:

Good luck with the dosecrease!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top