6/25 Harry AMPS 40 - and I missed it argh! +6=151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harrycat

Member Since 2012
So annoyed with myself. I should have done a reducie to 1 this morning as his reading was 2.2 (40) but I didn't do the maths this morning for the conversion and thought I was OK at 2.2, but actually a 50 is 2.9 in UK figures. I am just sooo tired this morning as the kids had me up most of the night. It's not good to make excuses but I just wasn't thinking at 0630 this morning after about 2 hrs sleep all night :? Lesson learned.
H hasn't helped things by disappearing off after brekkie. It's a lovely day here and he just did one and hasn't come home until lunchtime. He sure knows how to make me panic.

He seems to be coming down the scale very fast... normal or just ECID?

I am out all day with work tomorrow. Leave out HC?? :? :? :?:
 
Ummmm.....

It's really not such a great idea to shoot numbers in the 40s. Many of us shoot low but that translates to shooting numbers that are above 50. Shooting as low as you did gives you no margin for safety. I understand you didn't realize you were shooting this low. Please make sure you know what the cut offs are.

Shooting low is good BUT it is absolutely necessary to get a +1 and a +2. It is dangerous to shoot low and then let Harry out of the house and not test for 6 hours. He could easily drop into the 20s (or lower) and become severely hypoglycemic. I don't mean to chastise or scare you but shooting low numbers and then not testing until mid-cycle could put Harry in a very risky situation.

Just to recap:
  • Stall if you have a pre-shot number that is below 50 (2.8 mmol/L). You may need to give a small amount of food to bring numbers up and then wait to insure that numbers aren't dropping back to a too low to shoot range.
  • If you're unsure what to do, refer to this post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers.
  • Always get early tests (e.g., +1 and +2) if shooting low.
  • Dose reductions are given if numbers drop below 50 (2.8 mmol/L).
  • If numbers are dropping into or close to a dose reduction range, refer to this post on dealing with low numbers.
I would suggest printing out the materials in the links so you have them handy.
 
Hi guys .. oh yes, that was a pretty low number to shoot this morning .. I hope you can grab a few early spot checks! Have a great day!
 
I can only imagine how difficult it must be to do this with two young children and a job not to mention all the other responsibilities you have for your family.

I would suggest you put a sticky note with the syringes that tells you what number to not shoot below in international numbers and US numbers OR there are Conversion Charts that you can print and have by the syringes.

I also agree on not letting Harry out. I know he is used to going outdoors but it always makes me nervous when a member lets their diabetic cat outside. The potential for something to happen is too great. I get concerned when Gracie is running low and I know she is in the house but can't find her.

We know you are doing the best you can. Stuff happens...we learn. :-D

Have a good evening.
 
I, too, have to agree with Marje and Sienne with regards to not letting Harry out, especially when he's that low. My own cat, Blackie, was hypoglycemic, but that was in the beginning, and was in an entirely different situation than what Harry is. Try and get some testing in as soon as you are able to do so, and if at all possible, if you can't test during the day (I think you mentioned having a job, which is definitely a necessary thing these days), leave him some medium or high carb food to help bring him up. If you do this, be warned that his #s will probably rise, and you may have some bouncing issues because of it. Don't be alarmed as that'll be perfectly normal. Simply go about your daily routine, and eventually those #s will level out and come down. You'll get used to all of this. It takes time, and please don't discouraged.
 
I know guys, I know I screwed it up today :sad: I can't tell you how annoyed I am at myself but OMG you wouldn't believe the chaos in my house trying to get 2 kids up and dressed by yourself in between looking for a cat. Generally we do OK, but today was not my finest moment. I had about 2 hrs sleep last night. I have got the 2.9 figure in my head now ( I just didn't translate properly this morning). Normally kitty comes in when I call him but when the kids are being rowdy I don't blame him for thinking it's not worth it!!

Ahh well at least you know I 'fess up to it when I have messed it up.

He is bouncing massively today but then I expected that.
 
We really aren't trying to beat up on you. We do understand about life .....so it's ok.

Hope you get some rest tonight. When Harry is high, grab a before bed test to be sure he's still safe, and get some sleep.
 
I know, and thanks. Can you have a word with my kids though please?? Some sleep would be welcome but I need to go out and sort the horse out now (who at the moment has an injury on her leg that I am having to treat twice a day too - nothing is ever simple!!)

It's better to fess up and deal with it than squirrel it away. He has just had a PMPS of 21.7 (368.9) so I have dosed at the reduction to 1, and hoping that the depot drains OK overnight and we have a reasonable reading in the morning.

tomorrow is another day.

DO NOT SHOOT under 2.9. Shut cat in (proving the kids don't let him out, which they often do).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top