6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
OMG I was doing half a dozen things at the same time when it was time to shoot Elian and I drew up his insulin but totally forgot to shoot out some to get to his dose. I realized it the second I shot him. His dose is 2.5 right now but his numbers have been very high - possibly becauseoif expired insulin. But I switched to another vial yesterday that I got from another FD mom who's kitty recently went to the bridge right after she opened it. Expiration isn't until August. Anyway - I believe I gave him 3 units or possibly a tiny bit more. I can't believe I was so careless and stupid. I will be testing him thru-out the night. Any other suggestions? I'm so mad at myself and am a nervous wreck - hoping I don't have to make an ER visit because the closest one is 20-30 minutes away. :-(

PS I am going to make an appt with his vet tomorrow for a checkup and blood work to make sure nothing is going on.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

Oh my.
I've had days like that.

bumping you up...


sounds like you'd better have karo syrup or honey sitting out for later, just in case.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

Make sure you have HC in the house. If then numbers drop and you can't seem to get them to come up, do not hesitate to take Elian to the ER. They can put him on a dextrose drip if it's necessary. Alternatively, it could be a non-event.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

I have Karo, HC food and test strips ready and my alarm set for every hour. I hope it's a non-event. But I'm so mad at myself. Gonna google to see if there's another ER that's closer just in case. I only know of the one my vet works with. But I will be prepared for it all tonight.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

Don't forget to breathe, Susie. You can handle this, because you know how to test and have carbs to give him. Do you use calipers? That can help make sure the dose is correct.
Liz
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

I have nearest 24 hr emergency vet number and location in my phone just in case. The closest is the one I'm familiar with. Can probably get there in 15-20 minutes if necessary. Going in to do a +1 now. I'm guessing it won't tell me much but I'll post to his SS.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

I do use calipers. The problem was that I was so distracted I went straight from drawing up to testing and shooting (with reading my daughter the riot act in between!) I totally forgot to shoot some out and check with caliper - I went straight into my bedroom to test and shoot and as soon as I did I remembered.... and panicked.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

I could almost justify a 0.5u increase anyway, so I think he will be fine. That's really hard when there are other things going on and I'm trying to draw up the dose and give the shot. I had to learn to just sit in my chair and let Anne do the evening shot without getting in the way. :roll: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

I hope that his super high numbers will work in his favor tonight! Just worried about it being because of expired Lantus before and this shot is a new vial and more potent.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

I know what you mean about the new vial. You are monitoring so you will catch any problem. I LOVE the profile picture of you sleeping with your guys - that is SOOOO cute! :lol: :lol: What is the picture of you and all of the dogs?
Liz
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

I have a pet sitting business and I have dogs stay at my house as well as care for all types of pets in their own homes. This was one day when I had a houseful!
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

:-( Looks like we'll be seeing all of the colors of the rainbow tonight - 466 pmps; 425 +1; 345 +2; 274 +3.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

Actually, those are getting to be nice numbers. :-D And he's only a tad lower than last night. Could you update the subject line of the first post with the test values? That would be helpful for everyone keeping an eye on you and Elian. :-D You're doing a great job, Susie.

The dogs are very attentive! :lol: They must have liked what you were telling them. And, wow, that was a houseful. :shock:
Liz
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

Hi Susie

Try not to be so hard on yourself. You are not the first person to do this and it's typically been more like 2 or 3u over and not just .5u. I agree with Liz that it looks like he could use an increase anyway ;-)

Just keep monitoring him. IF its going to affect numbers, it's likely to be a subsequent cycle but you never know.

Hang in there! He's doing fine so far.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

Thanks - tomorrow is gonna be lotsa fun after getting up hourly. I didn't think about it affecting future cycles. Ugh! Kist glad he's dropping slowly since Eluan is known for plunging 100's all in a normal day.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

So far; so good. And I changed topic line to his numbers. Gonna grab 45 minutes of sleep.
 
Re: 6/25 ELIAN - I'm a nervous wreck - gave too much insulin

It looks like this was a non-event. I agree with Liz and Marje -- this may be a better dose. It's your call if you want to hold the 3.0u dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top