6/25 - Darwin, AMPS 225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
Hey guys!

I am beyond amazed at how well Darwin is reacting to the home testing and shots! He's very resistant to oral medication, but apparently he's going to be perfectly behaved for ear pokes and shots - making this a whole lot easier for both of us!

He only just started on Lantus yesterday morning, and this will be my first full day of home monitoring. I'm wondering if it's worth testing him several times today since he just started on insulin yesterday, or if it would be prudent to check throughout the day BECAUSE he just started?
 
Welcome! That is fantastic that Darwin is cooperative right off the start!!
Yes monitoring and getting all that data is so important. We test feed and give insulin at AM &PM on the TR protocol you need to test at least +3,+6 +9 on each cycle.
Diabetic kitties do better on smaller more frequent meals.
What canned food will you be transitioning to? It is important to feed low carbs. Also it is extremely important to monitor while making the food switch kitties on kibble higher carbs can drop drastically and sometimes not even require insulin.
Do you have a hypo kit on hand? Low Calorie food, Medium calorie and High calorie food, honey, syrup or karo syrup and plenty 200 or more test strips. The number of the ER vet and your vet's phone number.
Under the form Lantus and Levemir you'll see stickys tons of great info......
Will you be following one of the protocols TR or SLGS?
 
Welcome! That is fantastic that Darwin is cooperative right off the start!!
Yes monitoring and getting all that data is so important. We test feed and give insulin at AM &PM on the TR protocol you need to test at least +3,+6 +9 on each cycle.

Thanks!! I'm so proud of him!! I am probably going to start with the SLGS protocol, as I think that makes me more comfortable, and works best with my work schedule.

Diabetic kitties do better on smaller more frequent meals.
What canned food will you be transitioning to? It is important to feed low carbs. Also it is extremely important to monitor while making the food switch kitties on kibble higher carbs can drop drastically and sometimes not even require insulin.

Well, Darwin is extremely kibble-addicted. He refuses canned food, all treats, real food - pretty much everything except kibble. He doesn't seem to even consider any of this to be food! He's been this way since I found him at under a year of age (our other two kitties are already primarily can-fed). It is going to take a while to get him to canned. I am first going to transition him to Young Again dry, and then work fastidiously to get him over to canned (or raw! - I am a big fan, and my dog is 100% raw fed).

I know they should be fed many small meals, but I have also read that getting stubborn kitties over to canned is easier done if they are fed twice daily to make sure they are hungry enough to try something new. I am struggling with what is best as far as the transition goes, because I obviously want him eating enough calories to avoid further problems. (I have calculated this, and he is eating enough, but still no interest in ANY canned or raw foods I have tried).

Do you have a hypo kit on hand? Low Calorie food, Medium calorie and High calorie food, honey, syrup or karo syrup and plenty 200 or more test strips. The number of the ER vet and your vet's phone number.

I do. I have Karo syrup and honey, and MANY types of cat food available. I am also (as is my partner) a vet tech; so I've helped with many a Hypo crisis. I am actually thinking of having some extra IV catheters and IV Dextrose at home - just in case (for stabilization prior to e-vet - if absolutely necessary). My boss/veterinarian is available to me at any time, and I have several emergency vets near me. So I am not so worried about what to do in a crisis - thankfully!
 
I hope you never need to resort to IV dextrose! Since you're not queasy about testing, there's a very high likelihood that should there be any "surprises" with regard to low numbers you'll be able to steer the numbers with high carb food do Karo.

Dr. Lisa's website has a great section on transitioning cats who are kibble addicts to canned/raw diets. I've linked her feline nutrition website in case you're not already familiar with it.

If Darwin doesn't like pills but tolerates shots, should he need some other med, a compounding pharmacy can usually make up chews, transdermal gels, or shots (if the latter aren't already available).

 
I hope you never need to resort to IV dextrose!
I should seriously hope not! Lol, it's more of a vet tech karma thing - if you have it, you'll NEVER need it ;)

Dr. Lisa's website has a great section on transitioning cats who are kibble addicts to canned/raw diets. I've linked her feline nutrition website in case you're not already familiar with it.

This is the protocol I am following - I have read that she has worked with some STUBBORN cats; it gives me hope that I can convince Darwin that he's been missing out.

If Darwin doesn't like pills but tolerates shots, should he need some other med, a compounding pharmacy can usually make up chews, transdermal gels, or shots (if the latter aren't already available).

We work quite closely with one. Unfortunately, he's also on oral Doxycycline right now for a bad URI from a Herpes flare up - which is really what tipped me off that something wasn't right with him, as he has had Herpes forever, and never a flare up this bad. The bummer is, the liquid was really the only option for Doxy - transdermal would have been so much easier for him. Ironically, he is being extremely well-behaved for BG checks and shots, and then fights me on the oral meds.
 
I think a lot of us have experienced the surprise of having our kitties adjust to shots and ear pokes with relatively no problem. I think they make the association between the shots and feeling better. Well, that and most of us give our cats lots of treats for enduring the pokes and they get fed after a shot. (I had a very food motivated cat which helped.)

Will Darwin eat freeze dried chicken treats? If so, that may aid in transitioning him to non-kibble food. Chicken "dust" from the crumbled treats can work wonders.
 
I think a lot of us have experienced the surprise of having our kitties adjust to shots and ear pokes with relatively no problem. I think they make the association between the shots and feeling better. Well, that and most of us give our cats lots of treats for enduring the pokes and they get fed after a shot. (I had a very food motivated cat which helped.)

That's what I was most worried about, since Darwin is not a foodie. He LOVES brushing though, and has received more brushing in the past 2 days than he ever has - I think it's helped A LOT :cat:

Will Darwin eat freeze dried chicken treats? If so, that may aid in transitioning him to non-kibble food. Chicken "dust" from the crumbled treats can work wonders.
Hmm, I haven't tried him on the freeze-dried. I may pick some up today and give it a whirl - maybe even the "dust" on his kibble, and then on it's own if he takes to it. He's so peculiar.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top