6/25 Boo PMPS 186, +1 259, +2 386, +4 430

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
Rise n Shine LLand!

Well, we had an unevenful night, thankfully. We'll see if today is going to make up for yesterday's calm by completely throwing a wrench in Boo's dosage reaction. With this cat, I'm not ruling anything out. Even though her numbers have been pretty flat (and high), she has still be acting "off" a little. I see glimpses of my old Boo, but basically she's tired and mad. I get the tired part! ~O)

Hope everyone has a great day. It's my dad's 80th birthday and I would REALLY like to spend some time with him. I hope Miss Boo cooperates for me to get out of here for a while today.

Later on, sweet Beans!
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329

Just wanted to stop in and say Good Morning....

I see by the SS you are starting to transition to wet food....Good luck on that and know there's lots of peeps around to help with suggestions to accomplish that goal!
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329

Thank you, Blue. She is not going to make it easy. And while doing this, I also am learning things about myself and my sometimes unhealhy relationship with food. Funny the things our animals can teach us.

Thanks for stopping in. I value your opinion and I love it when you guys look at Boo's numbers and share your observations!! It helps me learn!

xo

Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329

Don't we just love those uneventful nights?

Junior seems off for a couple of days when I reduce his dose. He becomes zombie cat. Kind of there but not quite the same. I had asked the board about it and they said it's normal to be off because their bodies getting used to the new dose.

Happy birthday to your dad! In the Chinese culture, 8 is a number for good fortune. Anything with 8's is good!
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251

MG, your description of Junior is exactly what Boo does. I was starting to worry that she had suffered some sort of brain damage from her hypo episode (or that she had indeed had many before I started home testing). And I'll for sure tell my dad that this should be a year of good fortune (and as such he should probably pay for our lunch. :lol: ).

Boo's back in the yellow numbers. I can live with that! Fingers crossed that there will be no crazy yellow to green slide!!


xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251

I did a quick search and found my thread that folks had responded to. Feel free to check out other folks' experiences. Interesting how a little bit of insulin can throw our kitties off!

Wait till your dad turns 88! Then he should be taking you guys out every night! LOL!
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251

Just keeping an eye on you two before heading out to go get my new girl.

Wish your dad a Happy Birthday from a bunch of crazy cat people...lol

Mel, & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251

Mel, I woke up thinking about you and your upcoming weekend. I hope all goes splendidly!!!!

Good(ish) news on the food front! One of my non-diabetic cats apparently LOVES boiled chicken! And when I put it on top of Boo's dried food, she ate a little piece and didn't run away squawling! Progress!!!

I have found one thing that Boo LOVES during this process... She loves so few things, I was encouraged that I at least have something I can use for bait... It's the Natural
Balance Perfect Bites Chicken Treats. I know it's not the best thing made, but it is at least "no corn, soy or wheat." And if I can use them in moderation to treat and/or bribe her in the food transition, then I'm good with it.

YAY!
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251

Good morning, guys!! Nice +3 action for Miss Boo, there!! Hope you have a wonderful afternoon with your Dad!! Love your theory on who should pay! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251, +6 121

+6 is 121. Getting a little uneasy about the next 6 hours, but hoping for the best. Last time her number was close to that low, she slid all the way to +12 and got way low.

I'll add it to my SS... if anyone feels so inclined, I would love to know your opinion about how she is handling the new dosing amount of 1 unit.

EDITED TO ADD: She has not eaten as much today because I have been taking her dry food up at intervals. Then when I put it back down it might have chicken on it or something she's not used to and she gets mad. FYI Could be influencing her numbers.

Thanks!!!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251, +6 121

Looks to me like Boo is settling, but I'm no expert, and it's still early days. A very good looking cycle so far.

In case you haven't been there catinfo.org is a great source of info; I copied this bit here;
if Boo is going to be a slow switcher to wet food you might want to get a small bag of one of these.
I still have some of the Instinct, which Justice & Logan occasionally nibble on as treats. Simon won't jump on
a high table anymore, so we just put a small bowl out for the youngsters.

There are three grain-free/low carbohydrate dry foods currently on the market. Natura/Innova's EVO, Wellness CORE, and Nature's Variety Instinct.

The low-carb dry foods are very high in fat and therefore are very calorie dense. These foods must be portion-controlled otherwise, your cat may end up gaining weight. The low-carb dry foods are also very high in phosphorus. This is especially detrimental for cats with compromised kidney function.

And, of course, these low-carb dry foods are water-depleted just like all dry foods are and are cooked at very high temperatures in order to dry them out.

I do not recommend these dry foods for long-term feeding for all of the reasons stated above. Please use them only as transition diets.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251, +6 121

Thank you, Bruce! I got a small bag of the EVO dry and Boo looked insulted. What the heck does Purina do to their food that makes it so yummy to this stubborn cat?! I got some Forti Flora and she seems a little indifferent to it. I will keep at it. Thank you so much for sharing the info with me. I haveen't tried the Wellness Core Dry, but the Wellness Core Wet is one of the ones she has been the least insulted by. :-D She didn't eat it, but she didn't growl either... and she sniffed for a while. Baby steps!

I hope you are having a great Saturday so far!!!
xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251, +6 121 She ate WET!

I'm SO HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For the first time in her 13 years, Boo just ate a large portion of canned cat food!!!!!!!!

Mo has been helping me and others have been sending me helpful tips, and she just ate a 1/4 of a large can of Wellness CORE Whitefish!!!!!! I crushed up some of faorite new treat and sprinkled it on top, and then I put a whole treat on the side of the dish. I walked away and acted like I was watchng TV ( ;-) )

She went for the treat and it rolled into the center of the dish with the other food. She contemplated, then she smelled the crushed treat dust on top and launched IN! She ate nearly the entire amount of wet food on the plate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I will not lie... I cried.
:!:

xoxoox
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251, +6 121 She ate WET!

Good morning Carla, and of course Boo!
I'm so glad you had an uneventful night, aren't those the best! Sounds as if things are going well, especially her eating some other stuff, and you are right, baby steps .....

We are all keeping our fingers crossed that Musette makes it safely to Mel today! fingers and paws crossed!
Have a great day, happy birthday to your Father!
Nancy and Payne
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251, +6 121 She ate WET!

Nancy and Payne said:
Good morning Carla, and of course Boo!
I'm so glad you had an uneventful night, aren't those the best! Sounds as if things are going well, especially her eating some other stuff, and you are right, baby steps .....

We are all keeping our fingers crossed that Musette makes it safely to Mel today! fingers and paws crossed!
Have a great day, happy birthday to your Father!
Nancy and Payne

Thank you, sweet Nancy!

It's a good day. And I, too, am awaiting good news from Mel. Very exciting. I hope you and Payne have a wonderful day!! I always love hearing from you!!!
xoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+3 251,+6 121 Ate WET! +7 132

Thank you, Carolyn!!!!! I just can't believe it. She just came up to me and meowed (for more?) so I put a little more down... gobbled it UP! I know I can't just feed her willy nilly, but I sure want her to decide she loves wet food! And she has not eaten a whole lot today, so I think it's ok. Also... her +7 number is good. I'm so happy and relieved (and glad I stayed home deterrmined to out-stubborn her) today.

Now, I have to look into whether the Wellness Core is one of the high, high calorie foods. If it is, I suppose I will have to mix a better wet choice in and try to phase her out of it over time.

It's a good day. I hope all's well with you and yours.

xoxoxoxoox
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS 329, +3 251, +6 121 She ate WET!

Hi Carla,
This is super news that Boo ate wet food! Maybe she'll decide it's not so bad after all!! Yes, it is important that kitties eat when they are getting insulin because the insulin needs something to work on. So it's good that she enjoyed her wet food. I hope that Boo will "surf" in the blue numbers for a while. You are at +6 and in a "normal" curve she would not drop much further. But Boo's body is still not sure what it is doing with the dose, the shed, the drops and bounces, etc, so do keep an eye on her.

Good girl, Boo!!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. just read your latest post. Nice +7. It looks like Boo is surfing. I believe that the Wellness Core varieties are medium-carb, but fish flavors are usually pretty low in carbs. (Note that we are concerned about carbohydrates, not particularly about calories, which can be controlled by adjusting the size of the portion.) I'm not sure if Wellness Core is on Janet's and Binky's list (see the "Stickies"--I think the lists are in the "New to the Group" sticky). Perhaps someone will be able to tell you.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+3 251,+6 121 Ate WET! +7 132

Thank you, Ella. I will investigate the food. I was just so excited she ate any! I have all the FF Classic varieties. I will try to transition to them if the Wellness is too high in calories or carbs.

Thanks again for eyeballing her numbers. It is so reassuring to have you guys looking at her curves and highs and lows.

THANKS EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+3 251,+6 121 Ate WET! +7 132

I just went to Wellness Core's website and they list everything BUT carbs! I'll keep digging. It has potatoes in the ingredients, so I can't imagine it would be considered LOW carb.

More news at 10. I'm going to get out and breathe some real air and not test my cat for a few hours.
:-D

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+3 251,+6 121 Ate WET! +7 132

wellness core is a midcarb (http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 06,1363133)

but it is a very fishy smell and since boo is really into tuna- i recommended it to carla to help get boo interested in wet as well as some of the fish ff classic flavors.

when we first transitioned from dry to wet, we used mid and low carb to help get d'arts interest perked in wet food and distract from dry. once wet food started to actually look like food to d'art rather than "what-is-this-mush-i-want-kibble" we were able to ditch the mid carb and totally switch to low carb without issue- it was just flavor testing then.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+3 251,+6 121 Ate WET! +7 132

What's so strange about her liking the Wellness Core wet is that most cats who like wet don't like Wellness Core wet!! :lol: :lol: I don't know if you've tried the FF classic flavors yet, but I have a funny feeling she will LOVE them!!! Good job!!!
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+3 251,+6 121 Ate WET! +7 132

Mo, it worked like a charm. You're a genius. And I feel a tiny bit better even knowing it's a mid carb so that I won't panick thinking that the transition is going too fast and sending her numbers down too quickly. Information is power. Thank you!

And Patty, I have tried the FF flavors on her, but not since she actually tasted wet for the first time today. I will see how it goes and hopefully sneak in some FF to her mid carb food soon.

Ok, now I really AM going outside to run some errands. For the first time in my adult life, I have no toilet paper or bread in my house. Think I'm a little distracted?! :o

xxoxoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+3 251,+6 121 +7 132, +10 153

Thanks MG!!

Ok, question. I am at +10 right now. Boo is at 152. Her Drop Per Unit from AMPS to Nadir is 208.

What if she does not rise a lot between now and +12? I feel very strange about giving her a whole unit.

Also... KEEP IN MIND.... She has had VERY little dry food today. She has eaten wet food (mid carb) several times, but it has not been left out for grazing.

She just ate a small bit (maybe a heaping tablespoon?) of mid carb wet food at +10 and then it was taken up.

SO............... what should my magic number be at +12 to still shoot 1 unit??

THANKS SO MUCH!!!
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 Request Eyes

As long as her number is still rising, you're good to go with her current dose.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 Request Eyes

Thank you, Patty... for my own peace of mind (and fingernails), I hope it comes up quite a bit between now and then.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 Request Eyes

I hear ya!!! And it just might. Champ once went from 140 at +10 to 395 at PMPS (bouncing off a green number from the AM cycle). I was NOT happy!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153

Carla: Congrats that Boo is eating the Wellness Core canned!!! Yes the one you are using (seafood) has 13% calories from carbs but that is probably less than the dry food and is also probably a good way to transition her slowly from dry to canned without dropping the carbs too quickly.

I think any time that you are changing from dry to wet, you need to really be vigilant. I am not comfortable offering suggestions on tonight's dose if she has not had any dry food today. If you decide to shoot 1u, please be sure you get a +1 and +2 and see where she is going.

Happy Birthday to your dear dad!!! Hope you enjoy the time with him.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153

Marje, I have some reservations as well about tonight. I am at +12. She is at 186. So it is going up... but not quickly. I put some dry food down just now and some wet. She ate a little of the dry and all of the wet ( maybe 1/4 of a large can).

I'm nervous!!!

xoxoxoxox
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153

Carla: are you stalling? Remember not to feed between +10 and PMPS or if you are stalling????? ;-) ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

I hadn't considered stalling. I just wanted to see if she would eat any dry. She did. I need to shoot now or not.....

What would you do?
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

Carla....breathe :lol: :lol: :lol:

I wasn't suggesting that you stall :-D I was just trying to find out what you got going there....
1. so you fed at +12?
2. is the 186 a number before you fed?
3. if you got the 186 and then you fed, then you can shoot if you are comfy with it. I'm around again tonight...poor you!! eta: because I'm around if you need help :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

Yay Boo!!! That is very exciting for the wet food. We had a hard time transitioning too.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

Crap.

Yes, the 186 was before food and I have not shot her yet. She ate after the reading. I'm not comfortable shooting her (1 unit) because she is rising so slowly. Is there an option of reducing the dose?
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

Yay Boo!!! That is very exciting for the wet food. We had a hard time transitioning too.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

Yes, of course. If the 186 makes you nervous, then you can shoot a lower dose. What would make you comfortable shooting...perhaps .25u less?
Keep in mind, though, that you will still have to be vigilant tonight. Because doses can carryover, you may still see her going down tonight.

eta: don't worry.....she is fine whichever way you go. And there will be people around (inc me).
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

The thing that makes me nervous is, she dropped from 329 (amps) to 121 (nadir) today with 1 unit.

I am not comfy at all giving her 1 unit right now, even though she just ate some dry and mid-carb wet food.

Would it mess up things if I only gave her .5?
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

No it won't mess anything up. She had a beautiful curve today....had a nice nadir, came back up and gave you a lovely PMPS. If she was on low carb, canned food, I would probably try to get you comfy with shooting lower. But because you are trying to transition her, then I 150% understand your concern.

She will be fine with .5u. Her numbers may go up tomorrow, but they'll come back down. You can see how she does tonight but, as I said, you still need to watch her and see what she does because it may not be reflective of the .5u. Hard to say.

So you are shooting .5u now? Good!!! Might want to get a +1 just in case.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

Yes. Shooting .5 now.
nailbite_smile
Thank you.
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

You're welcome. I'll be watching :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Don't forget to take "Eek" out of your subject line :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/25 Boo AMPS329,+7 132, +10 153 PMPS 186 Eek!!

Marje, may I ask you a question before I need to know it? :-D

Should I keep her dry food out tonight? I have been taking it up and feeding her wet at certain times of the day. Should I keep it out now, or take it up?

THANKS FOR STAYING WITH ME!
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo PMPS 186

Carla: There are probably alot of different answers to that question. So there may be someone else with more experience in transitioning to wet while on lantus than I am.

IMHO, IF you are up for doing close monitoring, you could try it and see how she does with just the wet food but I would suggest you feed her at +1, +2, +3 to start with so she has food on board as the insulin kicks in. You shot a reduced dose...she "might" just keep coming up. It might be a good time to see how she does as long as you are prepared with the supplies you need if she does go down. It's unpredictable what she'll do but if she does come back down and you have supplies, then you also have (1) experience in dealing with low numbers and (2) US :lol: :lol:

What do you think?
 
Re: 6/25 Boo PMPS 186

I will see what happens at +1. I suppose this is a good thing? I had no idea she would transition over to wet food in ONE DAY!

I'm trying to relax and just wait till +1. Thanks for your help. The more info I have the better decisions I will make in the future.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo PMPS 186

It's a very good thing....you just have to watch her closely until you get her switched over and see her "real" numbers and adjust her dose accordingly.

You are doing ggrrrreeeaattt!! I'll be back at your +1 (about 40 minutes).
 
Re: 6/25 Boo PMPS 186

If it were me, I would have shot the 1.0u provided you had strips and HC food should they be needed. I know it can be scary but at some point you'll need to get used to shooting lower numbers.

Re. the Wellness Core, the poultry flavor is 218 calories and the fishy flavor is 192 calories for the 5.5 oz can.
 
Re: 6/25 Boo PMPS 186

Thanks, Sienne. I'm still figuring things out, obviously. I had such a bad first night (and scary 3rd night). I think I'm a bit gun shy.

Starting July 5, I will be holding down 2 jobs and on most days, I will have exactly 1 hour between them (which will be shot time). I guess I'm already starting to think that way. Tonight I had the luxury of canceling my plans. After the 5th, I will have to shoot and walk out. :cry:

Not a great sitch.... but hopefully with her new love for wet food, I'll get this stuff figured out soon with fewer variables. ETA: And everything I have read says that even the first day on wet food (which is today), a smaller amount of insulin might be needed.

Thanks again!! I value and appreciate everyone's help!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/25 Boo PMPS 186, +1 259

Ok... so she is going up, which makes me happy. She is eating a bit of wet food right now.

Thoughts?
Carla
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top