? 6/25 AMPS 291 Confused on dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
    Why would you be wanting to reduce? Muffin's nadairs are above 200 closer to 300 and the last green was on 6/22.
  • With the flat yellow cycle last night you might see a drop this cycle.
  • You are on cycle 6 of .50 If you don't see green today I'd increase .025 for PMPS if you can monitor.
 
Hi, Julie.

With dose reductions, the change in dose is based on whether your cat's numbers fall below 50 (since you're following TR). The drop in numbers tells you that you're giving more insulin than Muffin needs. That's why you needed to reduce the dose on 6/21.

You increase the dose after 3 days/6 cycles if you're not seeing numbers that are consistently below 200.

I sees like you were applying the dose increase guideline to dose reductions. For lack of a better way to describe it, dose reductions need to be "earned."

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top