6/24 Zeus AMPS 227 PMPS 325 sick again

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
6/23 Condo

Good morning,

It is hot and humid here already, and they were just saying on the news that its going to be in the high 90's with this humidity. Yuck :!:

Zeus had some more BF before bed last night, it doesn't look like he ate any of the food that I left out for him though. He is still going poo, I think he went three times yesterday, plus once the night before and again sometime last night. Five times in the last day and a half... That's not normal for him. I wonder if all the extra fluids are just getting things moving?

He is eating FF chunky turkey this morning. That, BF and FF appetizers seems to be his favorite lately. He doesn't eat a lot, but at least he tries them. He has sniffed and walked away from Every other brand and/or flavor that I have tried. Looks like he had about a half of the can. Will try again in a bit to see if he will eat more.

Hope you all have a great day. Hugs and prayers to all kitties not feeling well today, and also for their beans as it can be stressful when they don't feel well.

Kathie
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227

I hope Zeus will eat more for you this morning. That's good he is showing interest in food and eating some. Still sending prayers for you and Zeus.

We are going to be hot and humid today too. The forecast is 90 again. It looks the same for the rest of the week. I agree. Yuck.
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227

Morning Kathie,

Glad that Zeus is eating certain foods on his own. Hope that just keeps improving. Sending appy/healing vines to you guys! Guess the extra fluids help keep things moving?

Jane
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227

Morning Kathie,
I'm glad Zeus has a couple favorite foods and i hope he will eat a little more of them! Don't you wish they had a little "turn on the appy" button. Paws and fingers crossed and prayers for Zeus to feel better and better and munch and munch.
We're supposed to be hot and humid also. Let's ask for not too warm, not too cool and low humidity.
Have a great day. xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227

Hi Kathie, wow that is hot so early in the morning there. Glad you found a couple foods Zeus likes. Is BF the "Best Friends" brand? I go thru stages with Mags, too. Lately she is a sucker leaving the bulk! :? I hope Zeus has a nice slide today. Wishing you both a nice day.
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227

Hi guys .. wow, lots of LB activity for zeus! I hope he eats up some of his fuddies today and enjoys them .. I hear ya on the high temps .. ugh, we have them too ... I'm ready for fall :lol: have a great day!
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227

Ga Day to ya's, come on Zeus get with the program, Poo's are good in this world. come down some for momma :smile:
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227

ecurie said:
Morning Don't you wish they had a little "turn on the appy" button. Paws and fingers crossed and prayers for Zeus to feel better and better and munch and munch.

I sure do Mary... I was hoping that the Mirtazapine would be that magic button... But it's not consistent. Zeus will eat well one night and not much for the next couple of meals. Drives me crazy.

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Is BF the "Best Friends" brand? I go thru stages with Mags, too.

No, BF is baby food. I haven't tried that Best Friends kind... Is that the one that is mostly fish based? Zeus used to eat really well, so this not eating is awful. I feel terrible. He always has some kind of buffet down, I keep joking, how many bowls does it take to feed one kitty? I just washed the 5 from this morning, plus one for Smokey. Of course she is free to eat from any of the bowls as well, but she doesn't usually sample (unless its people tuna. She also likes the FF appetizers).

It has cooled off here, we had wicked rains and wind, and HAIL, it's the end of June, where did THAT come from? Supposed to be just as bad for the remainder of the week though. Time to test, will bbl.
 
Re: 6/24 Zeus AMPS 227 PMPS 325 failed reduction?

Zeus hit 39 over the weekend, so I reduced his dose.... Tonight is the 4th cycle, and the first time we've seen a pink for several days. I'm wondering if I should take him back up in the morning. I guess I should see how this cycle goes first, but how long do you generally hold the reduction? With that said, I wonder if this pink number is due to the FF medley this morning, it is higher carb then Zeus normally gets... He ate probably 3/4 of the can.

Zeus did not eat all that great tonight. He had 1/2 of a FF appetizer. I'm trying to tease him with some baked chicken now. He didn't want the friskies chicken & tuna or the FF chunky chicken. I gave Zeus his Leukeran, and now he is coughing a bit so he really doesn't want to eat.... And I got some of it on my arm :o
 
I knew Zeus wasn't feeling well tonight after the Leukeran... He just used the LB, another little poo and a pee, and then came into the living room and vomited what looks like all of his dinner. :cry: I need to get some more anti-nausea meds for him, poor little guy, I feel so bad. I've been trying to comfort him and he just wants to lay on the floor and be left alone. He looks so sad.
 
Sending healing vines for Zeus along with prayers that he just feels better. Hope you are able to get something for the nausea. Is that a side effect from the Leukeran? Hope you and he are able to get some rest tonight, Kathie cat_pet_icon
 
{{Kathie}}
I am sorry Zeus threw up the food you tried so hard for him to eat.
I really do know how frustrating it is trying to feed a cat who doesn't want to eat.
Lucy has had several occasions like that, and every time it made me just so sad I couldn't even sit and read or watch TV.
I really hope Zeus will start eating and feeling better soon...
 
Thanks Jane and Mariko, from what I have read nausea, vomiting, diarrhea and lack of appetite can be side effects of Leukeran. Just what Zeus doesn't need... Poor little guy.
 
Hi Kathie

I am so sorry you are having appy/nausea issue with Zeus. How unfortunate that the Leukeran can contribute to that. Poor guy. I hope that there is something that you can do to help with these side effects. This is not quite related, but when Mannie was sick once with a UTI and had some really bad nausea, and diarrhea from the AB's, I fed him some greek yogurt through out the day it seemed to help his tummy and the LB issue. too. I'm just not too sure how effective that would be in your situation.

I will send major appy feel better vines for Zeus. I hope you will find something that he wants to eat. I can so remember the line up of cans on my kitchen counter. I'd go through so many looking for the one he wanted at that meal. Not easy, but we got through it. I will hope the same for you. Eat up Zeus! Feel better too.

I hope your day has been a good one.
 
((((Kathie))))

I'm so sorry Zeus is feeling bed again. Just when he seemed to start eating. I'd call the vet tomorrow and discuss his rxn to the leukeran. I'd also get some ondansetron/zofran if you don't already have it.
 
I'm sure this has already been discussed, but when J.D. was on mirtz he would eat well the first day or maybe for the first day and a half, and then we had to wait until the third day to give him more. Have you tried cypro which he can take everyday? Also, I would recommend the Ondansetron for nausea if you are not already using it. Ondansetron is used for people with nauseu who are undergoing chemo.

I am sending feel better and eat better vines to Zeus.
 
Hi Michelle, Greek yogurt... I will try it, thanks. I'm willing to try anything to make Zeus feel better.

Thanks Marje, I am going to ask for the ondansetron. We had cerenia, but I could only give that for 4 days. Zeus obviously needs something else.

Dyana, Zeus seems to eat pretty good a day and a half to two days after the mirtz, and then not again for a couple days until it kicks in again. We have not tried the Cypro, his vet said the mirtz that the ER vet gave us was a "good drug" and he wanted to keep using it. I'm definitely going to ask for the cypro though, I don't think the mirtz is working well for Zeus. Thank you for the info and the vines. Zeus can use them :smile:
 
Zener takes ondansetron for nausea and cypro for appy stimulant. We give the cypro as needed and maybe only 1/32 of a pill. It takes about an hour and then the appy kicks in. We also give Cerenia in pill form, 1 mg, 3 times a week. Sending tons of vines for Zeus and big hugs to you.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top