ISIL&TIFIL
Member Since 2011
After 2 hours I have to shoot
look at my last number.... 




:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:Hi Isil,
it's not exactly high above the sky--just a nice bounce into pink. It shows that Tifil's liver is working. Did you shoot the .75? Let's see what Tifil can do on your new dose. I hope that you will have a good day today. You are doing just fine. Remember that it will take a few days for the new dose to settle.
Ella & Rusty
Be sure that you will!think I will be more knowledgeable after few mounths
Natalia & Enana said:I cannot help you with dosing. Change your subject line (please help to dose help).
You should not shoot those low numbers anyway.
1) You can skip, or
2) You can stall until you see numbers that are at a safe range (do not feed until then), or
3)You can shoot a reduced dose.
Wait for someone with experience to help you with dosing
But it is time to give antibiotics nowI am giving it in ff
![]()
Ann & Tess said:I really don't think you have enough data to shoot at this number, You could continue to stall to look for a rise, but these last several numbers are so close it is basically the same level. The abs complicate matters. How would delaying them effect things? Is it as critical to give them at an exact time?
Unless you see a much bigger rise at preshot I would skip or at the most give a very reduced dose, but then you need to stay up to monitor her. Yes she will bounce up, but skipping will also allow you to reset her shot time to when you want it.
Ann & Tess said:Yes this is a better rise. Check again in another 30 minutes and see if she is still coming up. If she is you can shoot, but i would still monitor. Don't give food though! How do you feel about half an hour late on the abs?
Ann & Tess said:Sorry, abs is short for antibiotics.
Tess actually gives me no choice! :lol:
Ann & Tess said:How long before this test did you give the abs? Did you give food with it?
Ann & Tess said:That means that the +12.5 ~91 was probably effected by the food, so not a natural rise in BG. If that is all she went up 20 minutes after food she may not come up enough to shoot. Usually we stall OR reduce the shot not both.
Now that she has had food you will need to get a test in 20 minutes and again 20 minutes after that and see a good rise in both if you are going to shoot. Otherwise you could just decide to skip and give her any extra food that she normally gets now. How much food and what % carbs?
Libby and Lucy said:it's great, it means Tifil is responding well to this dose!
She is no longer dropping, just surfing. Here is where you need to decide - you're an hour and a half later than your usual shot time. Is that ok (will you be able to shoot 12 hours after this for the next dose?). Are you able to monitor and have high carb food and plenty of test strips?
You have shot 117 before and this isn't much lower than that. You can shoot if you feel prepared and have a good stock of supplies, or you can wait another 1/2 hour to see if she goes up a little more, or you can skip it. What do you think?
If you shoot, then our rule is that when you shoot your lowest ever preshot reading, you have to get a +1 and +2. Those numbers will tell you how the cycle will probably go, and will give you plenty of time to intervene with food if she decides to drop.
Libby and Lucy said:personally I don't like to shoot a reduced shot if I have delayed the shot, because then usually the cat goes way high (the insulin depot is depleted somewhat by delaying, then you deplete it even further by giving a reduced shot). It's up to you, though. Do whatever feels comfortable, then if he bounces high you'll know to do something next time (and if he doesn't bounce high, then that's good!).
You can move shot times up usually by about 1/2 hour a day (15 minutes each cycle, or 30 minutes in one cycle). Sometimes you can shoot even earlier than that, if the cat bounces. What I would suggest would be to get a test at +11 - if he is high 300s then go ahead and shoot, or if not then you can get a +11.5 and possibly shoot then. If he is low in one of those cycles, of course, then you wouldn't want to give a shot early.
I'm not trying to pressure you, though. Whatever you do, we'll learn something that can help next time. It only took him one cycle to get back on track last time you skipped, though he did go pretty high by that morning.
Libby and Lucy said:sounds good to me.
What do you teach? I have a Masters degree in clarinet performance, though I rarely play anymore.
Ann & Tess said:Isil, if you skip the shot tonight you can reset the shot time to whenever you need it to be, since it will be more than 12 hours since her last shot. Then you next shot will be 12 hours whatever time you shoot tomorrow.