6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +11.5 74 PLEASE HELP TO DOSE

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/24 Tifil AMPS 368

Hi Isil,
it's not exactly high above the sky--just a nice bounce into pink. It shows that Tifil's liver is working. Did you shoot the .75? Let's see what Tifil can do on your new dose. I hope that you will have a good day today. You are doing just fine. Remember that it will take a few days for the new dose to settle.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil AMPS 368

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Isil,
it's not exactly high above the sky--just a nice bounce into pink. It shows that Tifil's liver is working. Did you shoot the .75? Let's see what Tifil can do on your new dose. I hope that you will have a good day today. You are doing just fine. Remember that it will take a few days for the new dose to settle.

Ella & Rusty

To tell the truth, I am not sure if it is 0.75 or not. It seems to me it is more like a 0.85 :)
Can't be sure because of my syringes.
Today I've tried something, because she is not drinking, I crushed the spirulina tablet untill it became a powder. then I mixed it with hot water.after it cooled down I gave it to her, You can't imagine how she drank. I don't want her to be dehydrated again, I am trying everything :cry:
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil AMPS 368, +1 348, +9.5 291, +11 273

another unstable day :(
we are going down after 11 hours from the shot...what about my shot after 20 minutes :(
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil AMPS 368, +1 348, +9.5 291, +11 273

Do Lou and I are just stopping in to say Hello this friday morning I am sure others of experience will be on soon to help
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +9.5 68 PLEASE HELP

what am I going to do after 2 hours....should I give her some dry food to go up for me to shoot?
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +9.5 68 PLEASE HELP

There is still time for her to come up before shot time. Get a +11 and post the number right away. Read the sticky on Dealing w/ low preshots

If her BG hasn't gone up by preshot, stall the shot , without feeding, and retest in 15 minutes
Then if she is still low you basically have a few choices:

  • -- stall again and retest in 15 minutes, we usually don't stall longer than 2 hours, at this point it would be best to skip
    -- or you can skip the shot
    -- or shoot a reduced dose
    -- or shoot the regular dose if you will be there to monitor closely
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +9.5 68 PLEASE HELP

You dont have any Fancy feast with gravy? Any Karo or molasses?

68 is not that dangerously low.
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +9.5 68 PLEASE HELP

Looks to me like the shot will be delayed or reduced if you give it at all.
The dry food would only wear off later after you shoot.
68 isn't a dangerously plummeting number considering she was at 85 a few hours earlier, but check again in a half hour or so (do not feed) and see where she's headed before deciding on the next step.
Certainly seems like she's back on track after the skipped shot.

MJ&Donovan

edit to add: yeah, listen to what the others said :cool:
darn slow computer...
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +10 68 PLEASE HELP :

Unless she drops down into the 40s I wouldn't feed this close to preshot, because you wouldn't know then if the preshot number is food influenced or a natural rise. As Natalia said this is not a dangerous number, you just need to monitor so that it doesn't go too much lower.
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +10 68 PLEASE HELP :

Just be sure to get the +11 and +12 shots and don't feed. Tarragon sometimes shoots up right before his shot.
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +10 68 PLEASE HELP :

I have gravy can food and Royal Canin Diabetic dry food...I don't know what to do, +10 68....Don't know if I should give some food to rise the level or not do anything to see what's going on....waiting for my cat to have a U Curve one day :(
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +10 68 PLEASE HELP :

68 is not that low. I would wait it out and see if she is on her way up or down, but don't feed yet!
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +1 261, +7 85, +10 68 PLEASE HELP :

Ok, I will not feed and I will test every half hour and post. thank you verryyyy much... I know you will say that these are normal but I feel terrible, I am in a country with no vet to help :( Today I talked with a vet saying that I should give the insulin in a serum!!!! I think I will be more knowledgeable after few mounths :?
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +7 85, +10 68, +10.5 71 PLEASE HEL

Nice :-D Those numbers are the numbers that help the pancreas heal.


think I will be more knowledgeable after few mounths
Be sure that you will! :-D
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +7 85, +10 68, +10.5 71 PLEASE HEL

after 15 minutes I will test +11.5.... It seems that the preshot number will be low.. I don't want to skip the shot because after the numbers will be very high. İt's Midnight here, İf I shot, the night will be very sleepless, but I prefer for it to be sleepless rather then seeing high numbers.. should I shot something like 0.15 or something?
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +7 85, +10 68, +10.5 71 PLEASE HEL

I cannot help you with dosing. Change your subject line (please help to dose help).

You should not shoot those low numbers anyway.

1) You can skip, or

2) You can stall until you see numbers that are at a safe range (do not feed until then), or

3)You can shoot a reduced dose.

Wait for someone with experience to help you with dosing
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +7 85, +10 68, +10.5 71 PLEASE HEL

Natalia & Enana said:
I cannot help you with dosing. Change your subject line (please help to dose help).

You should not shoot those low numbers anyway.

1) You can skip, or

2) You can stall until you see numbers that are at a safe range (do not feed until then), or

3)You can shoot a reduced dose.

Wait for someone with experience to help you with dosing


But it is time to give antibiotics now :( I am giving it in ff :(
 
Re: 6/24 Tifil PMPS 284, +7 85, +10 68, +10.5 71 PLEASE HEL

But it is time to give antibiotics now :( I am giving it in ff :(

Can you move giving the antibiotic until after shooting time or you are supposed to give it before?
 
It has to be every 12 hours at the same time... Because she had blood in her urine I don't want to miss it or give it later on ...
now it is 00:30, my shoting time :(
By the way, I gave her antibiotics in a small amount of ff
 
I really don't think you have enough data to shoot at this number, You could continue to stall to look for a rise, but these last several numbers are so close it is basically the same level. The abs complicate matters. How would delaying them effect things? Is it as critical to give them at an exact time?

Unless you see a much bigger rise at preshot I would skip or at the most give a very reduced dose, but then you need to stay up to monitor her. Yes she will bounce up, but skipping will also allow you to reset her shot time to when you want it.
 
Ann & Tess said:
I really don't think you have enough data to shoot at this number, You could continue to stall to look for a rise, but these last several numbers are so close it is basically the same level. The abs complicate matters. How would delaying them effect things? Is it as critical to give them at an exact time?

Unless you see a much bigger rise at preshot I would skip or at the most give a very reduced dose, but then you need to stay up to monitor her. Yes she will bounce up, but skipping will also allow you to reset her shot time to when you want it.

AMPS 86... I am very scared of high numbers because she was DKA and she is prone to ketons. Do you think I should shoot after one hour if she comes up?
 
Yes this is a better rise. Check again in another 30 minutes and see if she is still coming up. If she is you can shoot, but i would still monitor. Don't give food though! How do you feel about half an hour late on the abs?
 
Ann & Tess said:
Yes this is a better rise. Check again in another 30 minutes and see if she is still coming up. If she is you can shoot, but i would still monitor. Don't give food though! How do you feel about half an hour late on the abs?

what does abs mean? absent shot?
It's strange to see strange numbers but when I Iooked at your spreadsheet I said to my self "god this women has patience" : :o :shock: :-D
 
Ann & Tess said:
Sorry, abs is short for antibiotics.

Tess actually gives me no choice! :lol:

I think Tifil is going to be just like her sister tess :)
+12.5 91
Actually I gave the antibiotics :( couldn't wait...I am a Little obsessive :)
 
Ann & Tess said:
How long before this test did you give the abs? Did you give food with it?

yes I gave the antibiotics in fancy feast at 12:10 (1/4 fancy feast with lots of water) I tested at 12:30
 
That means that the +12.5 ~91 was probably effected by the food, so not a natural rise in BG. If that is all she went up 20 minutes after food she may not come up enough to shoot. Usually we stall OR reduce the shot not both.

Now that she has had food you will need to get a test in 20 minutes and again 20 minutes after that and see a good rise in both if you are going to shoot. Otherwise you could just decide to skip and give her any extra food that she normally gets now. How much food and what % carbs?
 
I'm just checking in to see how you're doing. Tifil is looking great! If you are interested in shooting tonight, I would check at +13 and see where she is, and you can make a decision then.
 
Ann & Tess said:
That means that the +12.5 ~91 was probably effected by the food, so not a natural rise in BG. If that is all she went up 20 minutes after food she may not come up enough to shoot. Usually we stall OR reduce the shot not both.

Now that she has had food you will need to get a test in 20 minutes and again 20 minutes after that and see a good rise in both if you are going to shoot. Otherwise you could just decide to skip and give her any extra food that she normally gets now. How much food and what % carbs?

I give her Fancy feast classic version.. during the day I give her boiled chicken...Nothing else...Oh, B12 tablets, spirulina, sometimes fish oil, antibiotics are the extras...I will test her again after 10 minutes..ıt will be +13.5
 
Oh, I'm glad Libby has checked in! :-D

On the food, I meant how much did she get at +12:10 when you gave her the antibiotics?
 
Hi Libby, thanks for checking in :)

I gave 1/4 of fancy feast can...not much...

+13.5 tatatata 92

should I be unhappy or happy...
 
it's great, it means Tifil is responding well to this dose!

She is no longer dropping, just surfing. Here is where you need to decide - you're an hour and a half later than your usual shot time. Is that ok (will you be able to shoot 12 hours after this for the next dose?). Are you able to monitor and have high carb food and plenty of test strips?

You have shot 117 before and this isn't much lower than that. You can shoot if you feel prepared and have a good stock of supplies, or you can wait another 1/2 hour to see if she goes up a little more, or you can skip it. What do you think?

If you shoot, then our rule is that when you shoot your lowest ever preshot reading, you have to get a +1 and +2. Those numbers will tell you how the cycle will probably go, and will give you plenty of time to intervene with food if she decides to drop.
 
Ok, in an hour and a half since you gave her food she has only gone up 6 points. That is less than 10% with food and no insulin. Check again at +14 , if there is no big rise I would skip the shot. Especially since she has been given food we want to se 2 clearly rising tests before we shoot. I do not think the tests so far show a rise really, they are very flat numbers and that concerns me for what will happen if she gets insulin now.

…..OK, I just saw Libby's post. Listen to her!!! :-D
 
Libby and Lucy said:
it's great, it means Tifil is responding well to this dose!

She is no longer dropping, just surfing. Here is where you need to decide - you're an hour and a half later than your usual shot time. Is that ok (will you be able to shoot 12 hours after this for the next dose?). Are you able to monitor and have high carb food and plenty of test strips?

You have shot 117 before and this isn't much lower than that. You can shoot if you feel prepared and have a good stock of supplies, or you can wait another 1/2 hour to see if she goes up a little more, or you can skip it. What do you think?

If you shoot, then our rule is that when you shoot your lowest ever preshot reading, you have to get a +1 and +2. Those numbers will tell you how the cycle will probably go, and will give you plenty of time to intervene with food if she decides to drop.


I have plenty of strips and some high carb food..But should I shoot a reduced shot? tomorrow I am able to shoot at this time but will be very bad after 24 hours. İt's 02.20 am now, and as a worker it may be hard to shoot at 2.30 pms and 2.40 ams...If you say it's possible to change the shooting time 15 minutes earlier everyday to come back to my original time, then it will be fantastic. But if not, it will be impossible to shoot at 2.30s
 
personally I don't like to shoot a reduced shot if I have delayed the shot, because then usually the cat goes way high (the insulin depot is depleted somewhat by delaying, then you deplete it even further by giving a reduced shot). It's up to you, though. Do whatever feels comfortable, then if he bounces high you'll know to do something next time (and if he doesn't bounce high, then that's good!).

You can move shot times up usually by about 1/2 hour a day (15 minutes each cycle, or 30 minutes in one cycle). Sometimes you can shoot even earlier than that, if the cat bounces. What I would suggest would be to get a test at +11 - if he is high 300s then go ahead and shoot, or if not then you can get a +11.5 and possibly shoot then. If he is low in one of those cycles, of course, then you wouldn't want to give a shot early.

I'm not trying to pressure you, though. Whatever you do, we'll learn something that can help next time. It only took him one cycle to get back on track last time you skipped, though he did go pretty high by that morning.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
personally I don't like to shoot a reduced shot if I have delayed the shot, because then usually the cat goes way high (the insulin depot is depleted somewhat by delaying, then you deplete it even further by giving a reduced shot). It's up to you, though. Do whatever feels comfortable, then if he bounces high you'll know to do something next time (and if he doesn't bounce high, then that's good!).

You can move shot times up usually by about 1/2 hour a day (15 minutes each cycle, or 30 minutes in one cycle). Sometimes you can shoot even earlier than that, if the cat bounces. What I would suggest would be to get a test at +11 - if he is high 300s then go ahead and shoot, or if not then you can get a +11.5 and possibly shoot then. If he is low in one of those cycles, of course, then you wouldn't want to give a shot early.

I'm not trying to pressure you, though. Whatever you do, we'll learn something that can help next time. It only took him one cycle to get back on track last time you skipped, though he did go pretty high by that morning.

Yes unfortunately it did very high :(
I think I will skip this shot. Tomorrow morning I will not be at home until 12:00 pm. So at +11 I can't shoot. I wish it could be possible if I shoot at +8.5 before I go out of the house. But I guess this is not an option for the protocol. BG started to rise now but if I shoot whole dose than I must be up all night which means I may not be able to perform tomarrow (I am a musician, teacher at the conservatory). so maybe it will be good if I can take my sleep tonight and see what will happen tomorrow morning :(
 
Libby and Lucy said:
sounds good to me.

What do you teach? I have a Masters degree in clarinet performance, though I rarely play anymore.


Really!! so nice to meet a colleague in a diabetic fenin board :) I am a flutist. Why don't you play anymore? You got a Masters degree and you stopped playing?
 
Isil, if you skip the shot tonight you can reset the shot time to whenever you need it to be, since it will be more than 12 hours since her last shot. Then you next shot will be 12 hours whatever time you shoot tomorrow.
 
Ann & Tess said:
Isil, if you skip the shot tonight you can reset the shot time to whenever you need it to be, since it will be more than 12 hours since her last shot. Then you next shot will be 12 hours whatever time you shoot tomorrow.


This is fantastic news!! then I will shoot tomorrow before going out of the house (of course if the numbers are high)
During the day Tifil looks healthy while awake, but while she's sleeping I really see a unhealthy cat, her face looks like she is really in a pane, not like a cat face which is really resting. This makes me really sad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top