6/24 Snuggie: PMPS 342 ((AMPS 336; +7 320; new acro Dx

Jay Dee

Member Since 2021
I think he may be breaking that bounce but I’m thinking unless we see consistently better numbers today, he’s due for a dose increase tonight or tomorrow?

And a question - a new friend (couple) invited us to a get together this weekend and we would really like to go. We need friends here lol! The timing is such that we can’t walk the evening dose back enough to give early with such short notice. How late could we give the shot that evening, and then how would we get back on our usual schedule?

If this is so-able, we would be giving the shot 2.5 hours after our usual shot time.

Yesterday - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-23-snuggie-pmps-418-amps-463-8-396.248965/
 
You could have increased this morning. Definitely make those dinner plans. Shooting late is not a problem. What about shooting a half hour late tonight and tomorrow night. Then you would be only 1 1/2 hours off. Then depending n how high he is you might be able to move back more quickly. If numbers are better it would be moving 30 minutes every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle.
 
You could have increased this morning. Definitely make those dinner plans. Shooting late is not a problem. What about shooting a half hour late tonight and tomorrow night. Then you would be only 1 1/2 hours off. Then depending n how high he is you might be able to move back more quickly. If numbers are better it would be moving 30 minutes every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle.
Haha yea looking back I see I could have! Ah well. Next increase - LOL!

good idea moving him a little later as we approach the event, then walking him back. Thank you!! I knew there had to be a way to make it work. (my hug emoji isn’t showing up, but here’s a (((hug))) for you!)
 
Have a great time! And, contrary to what was implied in the Facebook group, the advice you got here was pretty much the exact same as that one person gave you.
Y’all here know my kitty better :bighug: I like the idea of going a little later leading up to the event then backing off. Makes it seem less of a shock to his system.
 
**BREAKING NEWS**

Vet just called - Snuggie is positive for acro, negative for IAA. I’ll gather my thoughts and post in the appropriate group tonight or over the weekend and ask questions etc. Should I stick here for dosing etc advice or switch to that board for that going forward?

thanks all! :bighug:
 
I'm so sorry, Jay Dee. A lot of folks on this site have kitties with acro and are able to safely navigate the diabetes and the acro. Hang in. We are here for you, Jay Dee.
 
Jill :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: So sorry about the diagnosis, but it does provide some answers, and some options for a path forward for you and Snuggie. Make sure and give him a little kiss on his head from me, he doesn't know the difference and still the same sweet cat as before. I am glad you don't have to deal with IAA as well - one less thing to worry about.

Should I stick here for dosing etc advice or switch to that board for that going forward?
My suggestion is to stick here for dosing advice. Other topics, like treatment, symptoms etc. might better on the acro/iaa/cushings forum. Though we do have a number of acros here, so posting here is OK too. By the way, did you get an IGF-1 and IAA number. Just me being curious.

Regarding the late shots, I had a monthly meeting that required me to move Neko's shot time. I used to start three days before and move the schedule gradually. it didn't seem to impact the numbers.
 
Welcome to the acro club :bighug: I've been mostly stalking your posts without ever really commenting, don't mind me lol

I know you need time to process, but as far as treatment options Dasha put together a comparison that was really helpful for me here. I opted to start Cabergoline, that was supposed to be here this week.....

Wendy's really the expert here, but there's a handful of us with acro kitties so ask away!
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko and @FrostD thank you both! Vet is already looking into cabergoline for us. Local pharmacy can do it for $160/month but we are looking into Wedgwood prices too. Also I heard they have a fun selection of flavors from @Chris & China (GA) like bacon marshmallow- whaaa!

there’s lots to read and absorb - I’m starting with the stickies on the acro page. I was in the middle of a conf call when the vet called so I didn’t think to ask for numbers, but I’m curious too so I will.

I’m glad there are ways to adjust dose times safely - otherwise we may not have social lives at all! Lol!

thanks everyone! More to come ... I need a nap lol!!!
 
Those sticky's are seriously out of date. On my "to revise" list. :oops: I do remember how I was full of questions when in your shoes - fire away!! Awesome that your vet is on board with cabergoline. I thought it was @Olive & Paula who got bacon/marshmallow.
 
@Wendy&Neko and @FrostD thank you both! Vet is already looking into cabergoline for us. Local pharmacy can do it for $160/month but we are looking into Wedgwood prices too. Also I heard they have a fun selection of flavors from @Chris & China (GA) like bacon marshmallow- whaaa!

there’s lots to read and absorb - I’m starting with the stickies on the acro page. I was in the middle of a conf call when the vet called so I didn’t think to ask for numbers, but I’m curious too so I will.

I’m glad there are ways to adjust dose times safely - otherwise we may not have social lives at all! Lol!

thanks everyone! More to come ... I need a nap lol!!!
Get some sleep!

I believe Suzanne (Suzanne and Darcy, don't want to actually tag her because she's got a lot going on) gets it from Wedgwood possibly, I know a lot of people do. When I had asked about cost, she said she pays about $150 and that last her 5 months at his current dose?

If local vet does it just make sure they don't use sweetener, I had to remind mine that my cat is diabetic
 
Those sticky's are seriously out of date. On my "to revise" list. :oops: I do remember how I was full of questions when in your shoes - fire away!! Awesome that your vet is on board with cabergoline. I thought it was @Olive & Paula who got bacon/marshmallow.
Hahah oh I get that! The one just about acro and how the GH competes with insulin was super informative and answered a lot of what I was wondering right off the bat. (I am now glad he’s IAA negative!) But I am wondering how long to hold a dose for now that we know he’s acro and what his week-long patterns have looked like. I’m increasing to 8u tonight.

yea I told Chris I want bacon s’mores now!
 
Get some sleep!

I believe Suzanne (Suzanne and Darcy, don't want to actually tag her because she's got a lot going on) gets it from Wedgwood possibly, I know a lot of people do. When I had asked about cost, she said she pays about $150 and that last her 5 months at his current dose?

If local vet does it just make sure they don't use sweetener, I had to remind mine that my cat is diabetic
Oh sounds like the cost is comparable. So it’s a suspension / liquid right? He didn’t seem to like the chicken flavor (or maybe it was the med) from my local pharmacy so maybe I’ll try beef or ask what else they have. Good call on the sweetener; they remembered for his other med but always good to point it out for new stuff and refills!

ok. Gonna go relax now. Thanks for being there!
 
But I am wondering how long to hold a dose for now that we know he’s acro and what his week-long patterns have looked like. I’m increasing to 8u tonight.
Good for you on increasing. If people can do 4 tests a day, 2 per cycle, I strongly recommend trying for Tight Regulation, at least until you start getting closer to a dose that's giving you some greens. Your goal is not so much tight regulation per se (athough we do have some really well regulated acros here), but rather getting him to a place where he's mostly under renal threshold. That would mean increasing every six cycles if not seeing blue, maybe a bit longer for blues, depending on how low the blues. You do want to be a bit more aggressive on increases with acro in the picture as the insulin resistance get ahead of you. I know TR requires no dry, but if you can work on the transition and as long as he's not getting to lower numbers, and the dry is close to zero carb, I think we can temporarily be OK with that. Note to any lurkers, this suggestion is for Jill and Snuggie only. TR otherwise requires all low carb wet or raw diet.

The old form of the message board used to have icons of adult beverages. I think you deserve one tonight. :bighug:
 
I used bacon marshmallow flavor. Marshmallow helps with the bitterness and bacon was for flavor. It cost me $125, if auto refilled no shipping cost. Vet ordered at higher than given dose so I got more in quantity. It lasted 45 days when at her highest dose. Suspension in oil base so do not refridge.

Once you know it's called in, you can double check the flavor, no sugar or sweetener but they know it's for diabetics. Also let them know if cat is allergic to anything.
 
@Wendy&Neko you answered my next questions!! We can do 4 tests per day. His dry is btwn 12am and 6a only and he really eats maybe 1/4c. It’s Young Again Mature Zero LID. Let’s see how things go - I’m willing to work on a transition to all wet but want to get used to the little bit of new stuff first.

as for testing TIMES - since over the next several days we are temporarily moving our PM shot times to like an hike before bed, when should i try for a PM mid cycle, or should I wait til we get back to closer to our normal shot time to start the “modified TR”?

(example- normal time is 8:15. We are going to be moving incremetally to 10:30ish for sunday pm, then back to normal time)
 
I used bacon marshmallow flavor. Marshmallow helps with the bitterness and bacon was for flavor. It cost me $125, if auto refilled no shipping cost. Vet ordered at higher than given dose so I got more in quantity. It lasted 45 days when at her highest dose. Suspension in oil base so do not refridge.

Once you know it's called in, you can double check the flavor, no sugar or sweetener but they know it's for diabetics. Also let them know if cat is allergic to anything.
Oh wow great advice!! THANK YOU!!
 
My civvie gets a marshmallow flavored med and she doesn't mind it at all.
I never thought of marshmallow for pets. The bitterness makes so much sense tho! Wish I had thought of that for his enrofloxacin that he won’t touch now - but at least I know now it’s the acro driving up BG and not the Orbax that we are back on. Thanks for the pointers! I’m sure I’ll have more questions!
 
I never thought of marshmallow for pets. The bitterness makes so much sense tho! Wish I had thought of that for his enrofloxacin that he won’t touch now - but at least I know now it’s the acro driving up BG and not the Orbax that we are back on. Thanks for the pointers! I’m sure I’ll have more questions!

Ollie was orbax a few times. It was the only ab she didn't throw up. She was on it 3-4 weeks each time. Her bg was not affected by it. I read diabetics needed longer course of abs. Her previous vet didn't agree, her new vet (had to switch to get cabergoline) agreed longer course of abs. I don't have an opinion either way.
 
Wedgwood has apple, orange creamsickle, vanilla, and so many more. If you call right after it's ordered, you can find out the flavor. And if you want to, you can change flavor for next refill.
 
as for testing TIMES - since over the next several days we are temporarily moving our PM shot times to like an hike before bed, when should i try for a PM mid cycle, or should I wait til we get back to closer to our normal shot time to start the “modified TR”?
The next few days after an increase, you are just building the depot anyway, so I'd just pick some random times late/mid cycle to grab a test if you can. It'll get easier to spot patterns as he gets into better numbers, but seems like he's nadiring in and around the +8 range. Anytime then to +10 would probably work.

We have a set of good friends who live about 20 minutes away (depending on traffic). We'd often go over there for dinner, have appies and main course. Then they'd take a pause, brew coffee and I'd take off for home and test,feed,shoot, load the autofeeder, then back for dessert. If they were having a party, main course was later and I'd zoom home after appies and DH would save a plate of main for me. Friend's boss had a diabetic cat so he totally got it and would ask me what time they should have dinner ready. Thankfully that late onset (+5 for Neko) gave me plenty of time to socialize. :) A life and a diabetic cat is entirely possible.
 
I thought it was @Olive & Paula who got bacon/marshmallow.

It was. She's also in the Facebook group and we chat in messages now and then so I heard about the Acro diagnosis early and I told her that we had several members on Cabergoline that used Wedgewood so she should check their price after hearing the $160 her local place quoted...then we got to talking about flavors and I told her they had the usual things you'd think a cat would like, but I remembered Olive liked the bacon/marshmallow and somebody else (don't remember who right now) who's cat like their meds flavored banana (for some reason I think that was you Wendy, but it was a long time ago)

I don't give advice in messages except to post on the board....but I figured we could talk about crazy flavors of cat medications....Now we're both thinking we should try making S'mores with bacon! (it actually sounds like it'd be really good! Bacon, chocolate, marshmallow and graham cracker...what's not to love??)
 
The next few days after an increase, you are just building the depot anyway, so I'd just pick some random times late/mid cycle to grab a test if you can. It'll get easier to spot patterns as he gets into better numbers, but seems like he's nadiring in and around the +8 range. Anytime then to +10 would probably work.

We have a set of good friends who live about 20 minutes away (depending on traffic). We'd often go over there for dinner, have appies and main course. Then they'd take a pause, brew coffee and I'd take off for home and test,feed,shoot, load the autofeeder, then back for dessert. If they were having a party, main course was later and I'd zoom home after appies and DH would save a plate of main for me. Friend's boss had a diabetic cat so he totally got it and would ask me what time they should have dinner ready. Thankfully that late onset (+5 for Neko) gave me plenty of time to socialize. :) A life and a diabetic cat is entirely possible.

@Wendy&Neko regarding the bit about testing times - so that’s where I get a little “lost” with TR… and maybe a little is getting lost due to method of communication and not chatting live but - if the depot takes a few days to build (thinking few days = 3
days = 6 cycles) and TR is saying increase dose after 6 cycles if not enough blues, how is there any time to develop a “routine”? Feel free to direct me back to the TR stickies; I really only skimmed them when I joined bc the dry food dictated I went SLGS.

Regarding the socializing plans - LOVE this! I do have friends close by that understand the needs and I could make this work- not sure why i never thought of it before - just like “let me go home and let the dog out real quick” ha!. This weekends plans are over an hour away tho so we had to do the dose time adjustment. But this is great for future reference!
 
Hi Jill I'm sorry about the diagnosis but you have a lot of experienced members to help you out. I hope you enjoy your visit with your friends and can relax a bit ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Jill I see Snuggie is on Levimer , just trying to save you some money
I see in the supply closet Alan has it for sale just in case you wanted to check it out :cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/levemir-pens-fresh-low-cost.246931/


I did a search and found this that Alan is a reliable source
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...rom-jeffreyroy-ymail-com.167538/#post-1906123
Per Tuxedo's mom and Kathy and TiTi
 
Last edited:
Hi Jill I'm sorry about the diagnosis but you have a lot of experienced members to help you out. I hope you enjoy your visit with your friends and can relax a bit ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Jill I see Snuggie is on Levimer , just trying to save you some money
I see in the supply closet Alan has it for sale just in case you wanted to check it out :cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/levemir-pens-fresh-low-cost.246931/


I did a search and found this that Alan is a reliable source
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...rom-jeffreyroy-ymail-com.167538/#post-1906123
Per Tuxedo's mom and Kathy and TiTi

Alan is reliable, I purchased from him a few times. His price was very close to Marks Marine. No cold packs were used, you might have to ask for them.
 
Neko was never on cabergoline. Her compounded meds were buprenorphine (chicken soup flavour please!), and budesonide.

No, I knew Neko was never on cabergoline...would have been overkill considering she had SRT twice?

I just remember somebody who had some kind of medication banana flavored because it was what they're cat liked best!
 
Back
Top