6/24 Shooter +6 64 looks like I'm staying up...

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
6/20 Shooter PMPS 349 but a good last 24 hrs! :) | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

In previous posts someone mentioned to move by .25 not skinny or fat... and someone mentioned Shooter's first drop doesn't really count and that he needed to "earn" his reduction. I guess one time could be a fluke? Well I went back to 2f a few times because I was chicken. Tonight I "manned up" and gave him 2.25. Well here we go again... he's 64 at +6 and he usually hits nadir at +7 - +9. :nailbiting:
 
And test again in half an hour. Do you have some LC that's higher carb? 6-8%?

I only have FF pate and Weruva pouches that my CKD cat SHOULD eat but won't. I'm not sure what those pouches are carb wise, but when he would get some in the past (many weeks ago) his BG's seemed to go up.

Oh, and I have a few old tempation treats in the cupboard. lol
 
Last edited:
I only have FF pate and Weruva pouches that my CKD cat SHOULD eat but won't. I'm not sure what those pouches are carb wise, but when he would get some in the past (many weeks ago) his BG's seemed to go up.
FF Pate is very low in carb. Which Weruva flavours do you have?
 
One thing I don't think anybody has noticed in the advice they've been giving you is that you're feeding some YAZ.....TR is only for cats on a canned or raw diet only.

As long as the dry is in the picture, you'll need to follow the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method. On SLGS, you would reduce the dose by .25 if he drops below 90.

It would also help if you'd add SLGS to your signature (you don't need to do it right now of course....keeping Shooter safe is much more important!)
 
One thing I don't think anybody has noticed in the advice they've been giving you is that you're feeding some YAZ.....TR is only for cats on a canned or raw diet only.

As long as the dry is in the picture, you'll need to follow the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method. On SLGS, you would reduce the dose by .25 if he drops below 90.

It would also help if you'd add SLGS to your signature (you don't need to do it right now of course....keeping Shooter safe is much more important!)

No, I'm not feeding him YAZ. He gets FF beef or chicken pate only.
 
I didn't pay attention to it but your SS comments says he was fed Dr.Elsey's and Young Again earlier in the month.

69 @ +7 I think we're good but I should check again in 30 or 60min?

Ya, I tried a very small amount of those foods a couple times just to see how much his bg's would change. I thought I could give those as a "carb" food when he went low then I read it takes too long to get into the system in those low times.
 
FF Pate is very low in carb. Which Weruva flavours do you have?

Looks like he might be in the clear now, but for future... it's a variety box of "The Showcase Chowdown" They are all pates. I can probably call Weruva in the morning and ask them for each flavor. Then I need to see what FF's are MC and which are HC and start labeling things like I've seen others do.
 
I thought I could give those as a "carb" food when he went low then I read it takes too long to get into the system in those low times.

They're actually low carb...they're two of the only three kibble's that is considered low carb but due to the difference in the way canned and kibble break down and get into the bloodstream, the rule is "if they're eating kibble, they can't do TR". TR is an aggressive dosing method so we need to make sure when we need them to go up, they do it ASAP!

69 @ +7 I think we're good but I should check again in 30 or 60min?

What I usually tell people is to use the "2 hour rule".....If the cat goes low enough that you have to intervene with HC food, you test every 30 minutes for 1 hour and then 1 more test an hour later (for a total of at least 3 tests). As long as on each of those tests, the cat is maintaining a safe level or going up, you can relax after those 2 hours but IF the cat drops down again and you have to intervene again, that 2 hour clock starts over.

So you want him to be stable or rising for at least 2 hours from the last time you had to give anything medium or high carb. If he's stable/rising and he gets a little low carb food, you don't have to start that clock again.
 
95 @ +8
When did he last eat and what? LC at +6.5?

He ate at +6.5 a 1/3 can FF. He is now 95 at +8 so I think we're all clear. I'm going to try to get a couple hours of sleep before having to be up at 6:15. Do you think I should go back to 2f or stay with 2.25? I'm just afraid that without food at +6.5 he would have continued to drop.
 
I'm just afraid that without food at +6.5 he would have continued to drop.

We don't base it on what we think might have happened. We wait for it. If he's really ready for a reduction, he'll earn it.

I'd stay at the 2.25....and save the fat and skinny doses for when you're really close to an "ideal" dose and you just want to dial it in. For now, increases and decreases should be in .25 unit increments
 
One thing I don't think anybody has noticed in the advice they've been giving you is that you're feeding some YAZ.....TR is only for cats on a canned or raw diet only.

As long as the dry is in the picture, you'll need to follow the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method. On SLGS, you would reduce the dose by .25 if he drops below 90.

It would also help if you'd add SLGS to your signature (you don't need to do it right now of course....keeping Shooter safe is much more important!)
Thanks for making TR vs. SLGS clear. I thought it was simply a choice. Based on this info, Sister is SLGS because of Zero and ProPlan DM dry.
 
Back
Top