? 6/24 SHEBA AMPS 463 what is going on? +3.5 423+8 391

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-still-bouncing-3-5-355-5-5-284-9-175.139859/

AMPS 463
This is the eighth cycle of high numbers. Sheba did have a blue nadir the last two cycles but they had gone back up by preshot. Wouldn't a bounce be over by now?
She has had 10 days on her new reduced dose and had green in five cycles before all these high numbers came after a 41. Any thoughts on the matters appreciated, thanks.

Vines to all kitties and beans in need
 
I think you have room to increase as it's been long enough and no green.. Of course the usual caveats apply, as long as you can monitor and have supplies. See what others say.
 
I'm with Elise I would increase tonight if you don't have any joy today, the bounce does seem to be over. I notice she vomited yesterday - any chance she might have a furball? That can send some kitties up.
 
I think you have room to increase as it's been long enough and no green.. Of course the usual caveats apply, as long as you can monitor and have supplies. See what others say.
I'm with Elise I would increase tonight if you don't have any joy today, the bounce does seem to be over. I notice she vomited yesterday - any chance she might have a furball? That can send some kitties up.
She has never had a hairball before so I doubt it would be that. I don't know why she vomited yesterday. Her appetite seems fine. She's a little bit quiet but there's nothing I can put my finger on. Last week she did vomit and had some loose poops but that seems to have passed.
I wondered about increasing, but I hesitated as she almost got a reduction 4 nights ago when she went down to 41.
 
Bron, still learning, so excuse my ignorance. Almost got a reduction? Wouldn't the 41 earn a reduction?
She has had diabetes since 2011 then went into remission until November 2013 and when they have been diabetic more than a year, they have to go under 40 to get a reduction or go under 50 three times
 
well, hmmm. it does look like she cleared the bounce, but only got to high blue numbers.

It's not obvious to me that you should clearly increase or not. On the one hand, all the numbers in the past 3 days would say to increase. But you've had a lot of green on this dose and you had a 41 on it 4 days ago. It doesn't say in the comments that there was anything unusual going on that day, like maybe she wasn't eating, that could've caused the low numbers.

I think you could go either way - you could wait a little longer and see if she's going to get to green again on it, or you could increase, knowing that it might send her into low numbers. You're experienced, so i think that's a risk you could reasonably take if you want to lower her overall. If you decide to increase, I'd probably just go with 0.25u and see what it does.

You're probably leaning one way or the other - what do you think, Bron?
 
Gotcha. I didn't even look at the timeline in your signature, was looking at the date it says you joined.
Looking at the joining date would be the natural thing to do!:)
When cats come out of remission, it is much harder to get them back into remission and we have to be more aggressive. So they like you to go under 40 to get reduction.
It looks like you are doing really well with Shiloh so if you are lucky enough to go into remission make sure you stick strictly to the diet and test so if something happens you are on top of it quickly. Sheba got bad diarrhoea and that and the treatment of same tipped her out of remission. I was taking her bsl every day and saw the first time it rose and got onto it straight away ......but we are still battling it. It can be very disheartening and frustrating at times. But we live in hope:)
 
Last edited:
Thanks Bron. Haven't shared my numbers with the vet in a couple of weeks. He would freak! I think he just wanted her regulated (between 150 and 160), but if I can get her off, or at the very least keep her at a low dose (which she seems to like), that is my goal!
 
well, hmmm. it does look like she cleared the bounce, but only got to high blue numbers.

It's not obvious to me that you should clearly increase or not. On the one hand, all the numbers in the past 3 days would say to increase. But you've had a lot of green on this dose and you had a 41 on it 4 days ago. It doesn't say in the comments that there was anything unusual going on that day, like maybe she wasn't eating, that could've caused the low numbers.

I think you could go either way - you could wait a little longer and see if she's going to get to green again on it, or you could increase, knowing that it might send her into low numbers. You're experienced, so i think that's a risk you could reasonably take if you want to lower her overall. If you decide to increase, I'd probably just go with 0.25u and see what it does.

You're probably leaning one way or the other - what do you think, Bron?

I am not sure. I really want to get her back to green numbers but I don't want to send her too low. She can be really hard to keep up when she wants to go lower. There was nothing going on the day she went down to 41. She was eating normally. It was a good day.
I am not sleeping well and am really tired and my thinking is "thick". It is hard to make a decision.
I think I will see how the day pans out and make a decision later today. Do you think that is a good idea? I am not worried about staying up tonight. I don't find it hard to stay awake.
+3.5 423 so not much movement. Looking like an increase
Thanks Julie
 
I don`t have enough experience to offer an opinion, but I do have :bighug:. It can be such a worry and lack of sleep makes it hard to think clearly.
I also wanted to say thank you...Lulu likes the chicken broth cubes, thanks for the suggestion.
 
Carla, Marilyn and. Elise, thank you for your support. It means a lot.

@Vyktors Mum I went to Coles this morning to get the SEB powder. The store manager found it for me but it only had 3 months left on the expiry date and none at a later date so I will try Woolies and then the local health food store.
.
 
I don`t have enough experience to offer an opinion, but I do have :bighug:. It can be such a worry and lack of sleep makes it hard to think clearly.
I also wanted to say thank you...Lulu likes the chicken broth cubes, thanks for the suggestion.
I am so pleased Lulu likes the chicken cubes...that is great news.
Thanks for the hug!
 
Thanks Bron. Haven't shared my numbers with the vet in a couple of weeks. He would freak! I think he just wanted her regulated (between 150 and 160), but if I can get her off, or at the very least keep her at a low dose (which she seems to like), that is my goal!
@Shiloh & Rhonda
Not many of us share the numbers with our vets. Just say she is in normal numbers. And nod your head. You will get a much better outcome if you follow the forum. I think you have to live with FD to truly understand it. I can understand vets wanting the numbers a bit higher if the caregiver is not testing the blood sugars. Good luck with Shiloh.
 
sounds like you've got good input....
lately I'm trying to balance my own needs and fd...
@rhiannon and shadow
It is jolly hard to balance our own needs and FD. I find if Sheba is having a good day...I am having a good day. I do try and do other things not related to FD but so much depends on how the numbers are running and how the kitties are feeling. I feel much better if I can get away from it all sometimes. The first time around I don't remember it being hard at all and it didn't really stop me doing anything but that could have been ignorance, although I was testing.
 
I agree... i've been fortunate with the fd part. I have a surfer with no drama. I can run off quite a bit.
but this ibd/lymphoma thing has been harder since she won't eat any of the things that would make her better.
 
Hope the decision becomes clear for you Bron as the day progresses, sorry to hear you are suffering from the FD curse of sleep deprivation, try and get a few catnaps in today.
 
Paws crossed the day tells you what dose Sheba needs. If she's feeling a little off (hence vomiting), it could affect the numbers.

Sometimes I've held a dose a little longer than I should, just because I needed to catch up on sleep and be ready for the potential dives. School holidays - yikes!
 
Paws crossed the day tells you what dose Sheba needs. If she's feeling a little off (hence vomiting), it could affect the numbers.

Sometimes I've held a dose a little longer than I should, just because I needed to catch up on sleep and be ready for the potential dives. School holidays - yikes!

Thanks Wendy. I am tempted to hold the dose and then I am tempted to increase it to get back some good numbers.
I have had several nights where I could have slept. Some of the nights I did sleep and some nights sleep eluded me. I usually sleep well so it is annoying when I can't.
Sheba did have that vomiting yesterday....not sure why ........but she was asking for food soon afterwards.

+8 391 so not going anywhere much......these numbers are really strange.

Yes 4 weeks of school holidays. One of the schools breaks up a week before the others and goes back a week earlier. So that makes 4 weeks. I usually enjoy the holidays. Very noisy but fun.
Thanks Wendy for your thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top