6/24 Sampson AMPS 411 +3 295 +7 298 PMPS 550!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jenn, I have a feeling that Sampson may have gone quite a bit lower last night and that set him up to bounce today. He dropped quite a bit from PMPS to +2 last night, so that would have been a good night to plan on setting an alarm to get another test or two in.

Have you heard of our +2 "rules"? It's a pretty good test for predicting where they might be going later in the cycle....kind of like an "early warning system"

If the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, that's a "heads up" that Sampson may be on a mission that cycle, so those are the cycles you'd want to get later tests in (for sure)

If the +2 is about the same as the PS, then it's usually going to be a more "normal" cycle...where they slowly go down to nadir, then slowly climb back up to the next PS

If the +2 is higher than the PS, that can signal the beginning of a bounce, and those are the cycles where it's probably going to be fine to take a "pokey break"

Since Sampson dropped from 366 to 275 in only 2 hours, that's a pretty significant drop....almost 100 points! A quick drop like that can cause a bounce, as can dropping too low or lower than the cat is used to being can start a bounce

Hopefully he'll clear this bounce quickly and head on back down soon!
 
I have heard of the +2 rule but it seems like he always goes lower than the PS!
 
Ok, now that I've updated his SS take a look. I did take a +4 last night. What are the best numbers to spot check at? I've started doing +2 since I learned of the rule and have been trying to get a +11 as well. Any other times that are important indicators?
 
Sometimes when Furball bounces, she starts the clear the bounce but then bounces back up again. +2 and +11 are good tests to get. If it seems like he's dropping a lot at +2, a +3 test is a good idea if you can get one.
 
Yeah I'd say he's definitely bouncing due to last night's cycle...he dropped almost 50 points an hour for the first two hours and the next two he dropped a whopping 65 points an hour! If I'd seen his spreadsheet last night, I would have told you to make sure to get at least a +5 (and probably a +6) because he was dropping fast

They don't always bounce up and then come back down...sometimes they "wobble" a bit
 
+3. 5 pm is 228, had a bad storm, power is out all over the county so womt be able to do anymore checks tonight. Lantus will be okay in the fridge because we arent opening it. More worried thst we will all melt overnight
 
If there's any way possible (which is why I keep 2 flashlights right near my "testing spot") I'd try to get at least 1 more test in...maybe around +5.....he's dropping pretty fast again
 
I'm not sure that I agree with Chris. A drop of over 200 points within 3.5 hours is enough all by itself to trigger a bounce especially since Sampson appears to be a pretty bouncy kitty.

Also, just to be technical, there is no "+2 rule." FWIW, it depends on the insulin, the data from your cat, etc. With Lev, for example, you may not see even early onset until +4.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top