6/24 Phoenix BG is low

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
I just gave Phoenix 2 chicken hearts with honey on them. His bg at + 10 was 107. I checked again at + 11 and it was 75. At + 11.5 it was is 28. Please help, he has never gone this low.
 
Hi Susan, did you get a second test to see if the strip was bad? If not, it's okay. Something to remember for next time.
Test in 20 mins after the honey.
 
Last edited:
Hi Susan, did you get a second test to see if the strip was bad? If not, it's okay. Something to remember for next time.
Test in 20 mins after the honey.
No, I didn't check to see if the strip was bad. I should have, but I freaked out.

I just checked him again after 15 minutes and his BG is 91. What should I do about feeding him? He hasn't eaten his breakfast because he was at + 11. I believe that this resets his shot time with me giving him honey and chicken hearts. Do I need to move his shot back by 2 hours from 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ?

Thank you, Bhooma
 
No, I didn't check to see if the strip was bad. I should have, but I freaked out.

I just checked him again after 15 minutes and his BG is 91. What should I do about feeding him? He hasn't eaten his breakfast because he was at + 11. I believe that this resets his shot time with me giving him honey and chicken hearts. Do I need to move his shot back by 2 hours from 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ?

Thank you, Bhooma
We are close to AMPS now, right? Let him have his breakfast. He tends to zoom after food. Test 30 mins or an hour after food and if he get his usual bump, it should be safe to shoot - if you can monitor.

This could still be the previous depot at play, but like Wendy suggested it might be better to drop his dose to 10U.
 
We are close to AMPS now, right? Let him have his breakfast. He tends to zoom after food. Test 30 mins or an hour after food and if he get his usual bump, it should be safe to shoot - if you can monitor.

This could still be the previous depot at play, but like Wendy suggested it might be better to drop his dose to 10U.
I just checked again and he has dropped to 45 BG. I fed him half a can of fancy feast gravy lovers hc. I will go ahead and feed him his usual breakfast which is a cup of cornish hen and a chicken liver. I will check him again in 15 minutes.
 
Hi Susan, you can take off the 911. I am watching out for your next test.

Just to confirm:
+11.5 28
+11.75 91
+12 45
 
Hi Susan, you can take off the 911. I am watching out for your next test.

Just to confirm:
+11.5 28
+11.75 91
+12 45
Yes, I will take the 911 off. Your numbers are correct. I just took another reading before I fed him his breakfast. His BG is 88.
I looks like he probably did drop to 28 since all the honey and f.f. gravy lovers didn't bring his BG up very high. Thanks for staying with me both Wendy and Bhooma.
 
Yes, I will take the 911 off. Your numbers are correct. I just took another reading before I fed him his breakfast. His BG is 88.
I looks like he probably did drop to 28 since all the honey and f.f. gravy lovers didn't bring his BG up very high. Thanks for staying with me both Wendy and Bhooma.
Yes, it does look like the 28 was correct. Since he keeps dipping, test him every half an hour?
Let's take a call on his shot once he starts comfortably moving higher. Do you have flexibility to delay his shot by an hour or even two?
 
Yes, it does look like the 28 was correct. Since he keeps dipping, test him every half an hour?
Let's take a call on his shot once he starts comfortably moving higher. Do you have flexibility to delay his shot by an hour or even two?
Yes, I can delay his shot by even 2 hours if necessary. I am retired.

I had a handyman scheduled to come out later this morning to show me how to use the portable generator I purchased. They have been threatening us with blackouts. We have never had blackouts in Texas before until this year. I can't have Phoenix in 100 degree heat and no air conditioning. I have canceled my handyman until another day. Phoenix is my number 1 priority.

Thank you all for your help.
 
Yes, it does look like the 28 was correct. Since he keeps dipping, test him every half an hour?
Let's take a call on his shot once he starts comfortably moving higher. Do you have flexibility to delay his shot by an hour or even two?
I just checked Phoenix's BG again. It has been 45 minutes since I gave him his regular breakfast. His BG is only 90. He usually goes up to 150 - 200 or higher after he eats.
 
It has been 45 minutes since I gave him his regular breakfast.
How long since the gravy lovers?

Let's see where he is in another hour? I think you're already an hour past your shot time? One option is to skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.
 
Last edited:
How long since the gravy lovers?

Let's see where he is in another hour? I think you're already an hour past your shot time? One option is too skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.
It has been an hour since gravy lovers. You are correct, it is exactly an hour since his shot time.
 
How long since the gravy lovers?

Let's see where he is in another hour? I think you're already an hour past your shot time? One option is to skip and shoot at your usual time tonight.
It is now +2 and Phoenix's BG is 100. I will continue to monitor every 20 minutes.

I think I should probably skip his shot this morning. Do you agree? I am concerned because his BG didn't increase a lot after eating his breakfast the way it usually does.
 
I think I should probably skip his shot this morning. Do you agree? I am concerned because his BG didn't increase a lot after eating his breakfast the way it usually does.
Yes, I think a skip would be fine. You can shoot at your normal time tonight. Go down to 10U.

Since you are skipping, stick to LC. Testing every hour would be fine.
 
Yes, I think a skip would be fine. You can shoot at your normal time tonight. Go down to 10U.

Since you are skipping, stick to LC. Testing every hour would be fine.
Thank you, Bhooma. I am going to skip this morning. This really gave me a scare. This is why I only increase his insulin by .25 units at a time.

I have had Phoenix at 10.25 units for quite a few weeks. He was doing fine but he was beginning to get mostly yellow numbers. I increased to 10.50 for just 2 days and then he dropped to 46 BG. I decreased his dose back to 10.25 and he was doing okay. I don't understand why this happened.

I have been moving his injections earlier by 20 minutes twice a week to try to get his shots back to an earlier time. Could this have caused his BG to drop to 28 ?
 
If possible, can you update with the most recent number so we don't panic when we see that 28 in the title? I'm glad Bhooma was able to help you!
Done ! It scared me more than it pani
A cat's insulin needs keeps going up and down. We just have to take the dose up or down according to the numbers. It does not have anything to do with moving shots to an earlier time. 30 mins a day or 15 mins per cycle is totally fine. Incidentally, you can shoot at your desired shot time tonight since you've skipped.

Forgot to link your previous condo:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-22-phoenix-bg-is-46.248930/
Thank you, Bhooma, I just checked again at +3. Phoenix is now at 151. I am still trying to calm down. I didn't panic this morning, but now I can't stop watching him. He is just sleeping but I keep getting up to check on him even though he is okay.
 
Thank you, Bhooma, I just checked again at +3. Phoenix is now at 151. I am still trying to calm down. I didn't panic this morning, but now I can't stop watching him. He is just sleeping but I keep getting up to check on him even though he is okay.
He should keep going up without insulin. 28 is a scary number. You did great!
 
With as large a dose as Phoenix is on, please reduce his dose by a larger amount tonight. With that 28, I would reduce him down to at least 9.5 units, if not less. At your last post, I said to reduce by 0.5 units, not 0.25 units like you did. The reason is that with higher doses you need to be more cautious. Today's lows were the results of not lowering the dose enough. I'm glad you caught that 28 and he's safe now.
 
He should keep going up without insulin. 28 is a scary number. You did great!
You are correct, his + 4 with a skipped shot is
198. Wendy is saying that I should reduce his next insulin injection down to 9.5 tonight from the 10.25 that has been his usual dose for many months. I guess I would rather have him high than low.
 
Wendy is saying that I should reduce his next insulin injection down to 9.5 tonight from the 10.25 that has been his usual dose for many months. I guess I would rather have him high than low.
The good thing about TR is that you can re-evaluate doses every 6-10 cycles. So he won't be high for long - if he is at all. Let's be safe and reduce and we can always take him up if needed.
 
Back
Top