6/24 Max AMPS 192 +2 272 +6 304

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Today makes 2 years since Max was diagnosed with diabetes. Acromegaly diagnosis came a couple of months later. We went through 3 vets until I found a wonderful vet recommended by someone I met in the Feline Diabetes FB group who actually lives in the same city as me. Max’s vet has treated a couple of cats before him with acromegaly. Max has been to NC State vet where he was seen by Internal Medicine, Cardiology, and then had SRT almost 2 years ago. He came down to about half the amount of insulin he was on at its highest peak. He’s had a few times when I thought he may be having some luck from the SRT because he was coming down pretty quickly. I got my hopes up once again recently when he was coming down and I thought wow, this is too good to be true. And it was.

At the last reduction, I noticed his numbers were trending a little higher with each cycle, so I decided to go back a notch. Nothing has helped. Trying my best to be patient but it’s hard to see Max feeling so bad from these numbers. I don’t think the numbers would bother me as much if only he felt better. I know he’s a very complicated cat, but I don’t know what happened over the last couple of weeks. I feel just as lost right now as day one.
I know I haven’t held the last two increases quite long enough, but I was trying to get him back on his last good dose before some toxicity set in. Max’s history shows toxicity happens quickly with him, then he gets pancreatitis. Oh how I hate pancreatitis.

I’m emotionally drained, and have no clue what to do other than just wait it out now. If anyone knows what could have happened? I get it if nobody knows, like I said, he’s very complicated. It could be the tumor, his pancreas or some other inflammation related issue maybe?


Added previous post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-20-max-amps-340-2-353.278748/#post-3082039
 
Last edited:
Hi Lori, I'm so sorry to hear Max seems to have lost momentum :(. I know he has a lot going on. My best advice (and it's what I say to myself all the time) is keep the faith. He saw better days and he will see them again ❤️.
 
Hi Lori, I'm so sorry to hear Max seems to have lost momentum :(. I know he has a lot going on. My best advice (and it's what I say to myself all the time) is keep the faith. He saw better days and he will see them again ❤️.

Thanks Angela, I say that all the time to myself too. I’m hoping things will get better soon for Max. I can’t seem to figure out what happened this time, but I should know by now, it’s a rollercoaster in more ways than one.
 
Hi Lori,
I'm sending you and Max love and hugs :bighug:
I can relate to dealing with multiple issues in conjunction with diabetes. I hope you can get to the bottom of what's going on, I'm sure there's a reason, but it can be frustrating getting there.
 
Hi Lori,
I'm sending you and Max love and hugs :bighug:
I can relate to dealing with multiple issues in conjunction with diabetes. I hope you can get to the bottom of what's going on, I'm sure there's a reason, but it can be frustrating getting there.

Thanks Deb, he’s finally coming down. I guess he’s just back to bouncing and diving and repeat again. He’s so hard to predict, but I think we may have taken his reductions too close together maybe. Or it had even crossed my mind that the Lev pen might be bad. It’s the one we took on vacation with us and our refrigerator temp was a little off. I don’t know. I’m grasping at straws trying to see what happened but I think it’s just one of those times without any specific reason other than dose changes, bouncing and the way the cycle plays out. Who knows. He’s finally coming down…and we are sitting in the dark. Our power has gone off, hopefully it will come back on soon. It’s so hot and humid. Anyway thanks for the love and concern.:bighug: Sly is doing great, I know you are proud of him!
 
There are those greens you wanted. :D I only once had a cartridge go bad, and it was one we took to CSU. The numbers drifted higher, it wasn't a night and day change.

You should add IAA to the list of why his numbers might have gone up.

I hope you show a little more patience with this dose. You saw greens on 4 units (not sure how much more 4f was) and we need to have a little more patience when a dose is giving us greens. You increased after 5 cycles, whereas TR would have you hold longer. TR is an aggressive (but safe) protocol, if you follow what it says on holding doses.
 
Thank you Wendy. You are right, I agree that I’ve not held the doses long enough. I knew that and did it anyway out of fear that he’d get worse. He just got over pancreatitis before we left on vacation and I was afraid he’d get sick again. High numbers for too long will do that to him. I thought about IAA also. I don’t know as much about that. I thought when it faded out it would be gone, not come and go. I haven’t been able to find much research on that so I don’t know a lot about it.

I expect Max will bounce badly from tonight, but I will give it time and try harder to be patient. I really was so worried about him this time. Something just wasn’t right.
 
Back
Top