6/24 Lucy PMPS=158;+2=103;+3=106;+5=101

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's

Lucy's appetite is much better, and she has twincles in her eyes this morning.
She had huge prezzies last night, and I gave her Pepcid about an hour before the breakfast/shot to help her tummy.
Lucy is so good at spitting a pill....I hid it in a small ball of food, but she spitted only the pill, but swallowed it at the 2nd try.

I started on this fat 0.25 unit yesterday morning (reduced from fat 0.5u), and I think yesterday was a bounce day.
But it concerned me a little when she gave me 202, an yellow number, in the PM cycle @ +8.
I don't think this morning's AMPS is too bad, so I'm hoping she'll have a better cycle today.

My question is, how and when would I know if she is holding the reduction?
If she gives me an yellow number again in this cycle, should I increase the dose from today's PM?
Or is this also where I need a pair of patience pants? And wait at least 6 cycles?
I realized last night I wasn't sure how many cycles I should give Lucy to settle before determining if this reduction is holding or failing, so I wanted to ask now rather than later, so I'll know what to shoot her tonight.....

Your advice will be very much appreciated!
 
Re: 6/14 Lucy AMPS=167 :: Holding/Failing reduction?

Hi Mariko...I'm glad Lucy is feeling better today!

Yep, this is another patience pants situation. There are SOOOO many of those when dealing with FD :roll: :lol: ! It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, and it can take a while for a kitty to settle into a new dose. For Trix, whether I take her dose up or down, it usually does take her a little longer than most kitties to decide whether or not she likes it.

Since you just reduced Lucy yesterday, plus she was feeling icky from all the "yummy" foods from her "reduction-earning" cycle, her slightly higher numbers right now aren't a huge surprise. I would definitely wait at least the 6 cycles from the initial reduction shot, and then re-evaluate.

Kitties do have a special skill when it comes to eating around pills, don't they :lol: ?

Have a great day, Mariko!
 
Re: 6/14 Lucy AMPS=167 :: Holding/Failing reduction?

There is no guideline about giving six cycles to determine if a reduction is holding and cats don't settle into a reduction as they do an increase.

You may have seen references to waiting up to six cycles to see if a reduction has held. That would either refer to clearing a bounce or making sure the depot from the higher dose has drained. For example, if Gracie goes I to the 30s and doesn't bounce, I might see lower green numbers for up to six cycles as a result of the depot of the larger dose. So I hold the reduction until she gets past those six cycles. But sometimes, it is apparent long before six cycles that she isn't holding.

I'd see what she does today. Like Amy, I have found that if I am getting some blue and green numbers mixed in with the yellow, after a reduction, it sometimes pays off to wait a little bit until the dose stabilizes.
 
Re: 6/14 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=112

Thank you, Amy & Marje!
I'm pulling up my patience pants :-D
I'll wait & see what Lucy does today - this cycle and the PM cycle at least.
I'm sure I'll be asking for your opinion/advice again soon, so could you please please please keep an eye on Lucy's numbers until she settles?

Her +2 is 112 - Not bad! Maybe the reduction is working better than I though....
I'm guessing it's unlikely that she'd go dangerously low at this tiny dose, but since she dropped quite a bit at this early in the cycle, I'll stay another hour to get +3 before I leave for work.

I though I wouldn't have to be late at this dose :smile:
Looks like I was wrong... Oh well, sending an e-mail to the office now.....
 
Re: 6/14 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=112

HI guys .. I almost missed your condo, the date is off :-D Glad to hear you got your questions answered ..the numbers are looking really nice! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=112

:o :o :o :o
Thank you, Peter, for pointing out about the date!
Just corrected it!
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=112;+3=110

Yay, she is surfing!
+3 is 110 !

I'm going to work now, and will try to get back as soon as possible.
The Saturday's PM cycle traumatized me a bit.
I almost went out on that day after +2.....
I can't trust myself to determine if it's safe to leave or not.....
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy AMPS=167;+2=112;+3=110

I'm glad Lucy's appetite is better today. I hope she surfs safely while you're at work.
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy PMPS=158

PMSP is 158.

No green so far yet today, but Lucy is feeling SUPER!
She ate the first dinner all by herself (I usually finger-feed her), and I can't even remember the last time she licked the bowl clean by herself.
I don't know why she is feeling so well today.... Is it the Pepcid???
I hope this continues without the pill because I don't think I should give her Pepcid everyday without symptoms such as vomiting or decreased appetite....
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy PMPS=158

Mariko, that is great. It's funny, Dusty licked his plate clean tonight too. Must be that Super Moon that's out.
I hope it continues and you never have to give another pepsid. :-D
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy PMPS=158

Hooray for eating well and feeling great! Pretty blue numbers for Miss Lucy too. Hope she continues to surf. Have a Greg night Mariko. :smile:

Kathie
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy PMPS=158

Very pretty blues tonight! I'm so happy she licked her bowl clean, that's a very good sign she is feeling good. :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/24 Lucy PMPS=158;+2=103

+2 is 103.
We are so close to green....
That's good, but a little bit nervous how much she dropped from PMPS in 2 hrs....

She ate her 2nd & 3rd dinner well, not by herself, but she was enthusiastic enough about it, so I'm happy :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top