6/24 Kiwi, AMPS -374, Tripping, dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiwi F

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98330

Hi guys.

Kiwi didn't drop today as much as yesterday. I'm worried it could have been a partial fur shot. How long does it take for his shed to fill up? Should I be testing at +3, +6, +9, as the protocol says, even if I tested an hour earlier? I am blessed that he comes running for his ear poke every time (or comes running for the kitty crack, more like it). But I feel bad for his ears. (When I have a chance, I'll post where I got the #10 can of freeze dried chicken! I'm not joking ...restaurant size for much less than those little pouches were costing us).

I've been told I should raise his dose quicker than last time. I'm a little hesitant because he bounced at .5 units last time, and yesterday he responded better than today. My only other thought is that I'm still trying to settle on the best injection site (none of them feel right now that he's heavier), and I'm not sure if I'm tenting right (does anyone know of a video? I want to make sure I'm being more consistent with that before I waste more time.

I feel like the least funny/witty person on here right now. I hope you guys rub off on me.

Thank you, Sienne and Gabby, for visiting our condo regularly.

Kiwi and Kim
 
Re: 6/24 Kiwi, AMPS -374, +2 -249, +3 -258

Hi guys .. Not everyone can test at 3, 6 or 9 .. some only test twice a day, some can test every hour .. as long as you are getting as much data as you can that's the best thing :-D I have no dosing advice for you, but I am sure others will be along soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/24 Kiwi, AMPS -374, +2 -249 (tripping)

This might not be related, but for the first time ever, Kiwi tripped on my IV line as he jumped out of bed (needed to be untangled)...and then did it again less than 20 minutes later. His bg is NOT low (278 after second incident, in case it was a sign of a hypo). The vet said there was no neuropathy on Thursday (how accurate would her assessment be? Or how fast can it start? Obviously this makes me worry about his hind legs). It was strange the first time, but a bit concerning the second time. My three cats have been successfully dodging these things draped over the bed for two years now.

AMPS 374, +2 -249, +3 258, +5 264, +8 278

I'm also hoping to get some dosing advice. Should I be raising his dose in the morning or is it too soon?

Thanks for your help.
Kiwi and Kim
 
Hi Kim, I haven't stopped by since you returned. You first started about the same time as me. I'm still here. :YMSIGH:

Marje made a great post on testing and shooting tips. Hopefully it'll help answer some or your questions.

As far as testing, people here recommend PS and a +2 or +3 (if the cat onsets later) and then based on that you can decide when next to test. If that +2 is the same or lower than the PS, then it'll likely be a typical Lantus cycle so a mid cycle if you can get it is good. If it's significantly lower, then you'll have to test more often as Kiwi will be working the juice. The +3, +6 and +9 are for curve days if you want but we also recommend mixing it up and getting a few other tests instead to round out the spreadsheet. A +10 or +11 test along with the following PS will tell you if kitty is rising or falling at PS. Depending on how much he's falling, you might delay PS a bit when you are newer.

I've read before that kitty's returning from the falls often end up needing a higher dose than the first time they were on insulin.
 
At this point, you're still needing to get the insulin depot to form. (We stopped calling it a "shed" since that was a Lantus Land term and no veterinary professional knew what folks from LL were talking about. Depot is the correct terminology.) I would begin to think about a dose increase around 4 - 5 days from starting shots. For some cats, the initial couple of shots can have a marked effect and then things level off.

If your vet thinks neuropathy is an issue, you may want to start Zobaline (methylcobalamin/methyl B-12). It is available through Amazon or LifeLink -- the latter is the manufacturer. It takes a month or so to start working but it can have a very positive effect on clearing up neuropathy. It's a type of methyl B-12 that's formulated specifically for diabetic cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top