6/24 Harley PMPS 212

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Harley stayed in the 200's most of the night - yeah! Now, if he would get into the blues I would be thankful. The new dose of a fat 4.25 seems to be a bit better.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46107
 
So, I posted about my concerns with Harley's dose and wouldn't ya know it - he throws me a low number. 212 tonight and I would bet he could even earn a dose decrease if he stays on track. He just does not like to play buy the rules.

Pattie
 
Harley and Pattie said:
I need some expert opinions here. As you know, Harley is IAA positive. A quote from High Dose ISG: “When insulin is injected into a diabetic cat, the body views it as a foreign substance and the immune system sets out to destroy the "invader" insulin, just as it would destroy cold and flu viruses. When this happens to injected insulin - most of it never reaches the bloodstream thus being unable to control blood glucose. Insulin doses may be increased but the immune system only goes into higher gear and continues to effectively destroy any additional injected insulin. Over time this becomes officially known as insulin resistance.” and “IAA is supposed to be self-limiting, meaning it goes away at some point. “We have a couple of anecdotal reports of kitties who, by continuing to raise the insulin doses, were able to overwhelm the antibodies, eventually lower the insulin doses and gain control of the BG’s.”

Here is my question on Harley. Looking at his ss, he did better (achieved lower number, more often) on a higher dose on insulin. It makes sense to me that if after 6 cycles, he has not gone into acceptable numbers (100’s for me), I should be raising his insulin needs to counteract the anti-bodies. I do not want the anti-bodies to become accustom (or take over) to a lower dose that will increase his bg.

Does anyone have any thoughts on my thoughts (does that even make sense?)

Now, I don't want to make any changes until after vacation which is 7/16. I take Harley to the U of MN for a medical boarding for the week I am gone. I hate to leave him alone with only someone stopping in twice a day to shoot and feed. At the U there is 24/7 care and I can vacation with peace of mind.

Thanks

Pattie
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46186
I think you are on track. I think that once you are sure Harley's bounce has cleared (for Harley, at least 6 cycles), if he's still not getting green then you can go back up. For any diabetic cat, IAA or not, sometimes once you get close to a good dose you have to go up and down a few times to teach his body what to do with the dose. It looks to me like you have room to go back to 4.5, if you can monitor.

I don't like seeing him in the 20s and 30s, though, so I don't necessarily agree that he was doing "better" on higher doses. He just hasn't learned how to stop bouncing yet and probably needs a dose increase to restart his "liver training school" program.
 
Thanks Libby. That does make sense. I know that he was decreasing in dose fast for a while and am frustrated that it has leveled off. Maybe this is his "dose" and it will be an up and down thing until he gets over the bouncy stuff.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top