6.24 Elvis AMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda & Elvis

Member Since 2018
I haven't been able to make spreadsheet (I posted in the Health forum about it) so the short version is:
Elvis was diagnosed 6/16 with 525 bg at the vet & prescribed 2U of Lantus 2x daily.

Yesterday I did my second successful bg test about 8 hours after the morning shot and she was at 94.
3 hours later she was at 86. Didn't give her a shot, couldn't get another reading last night.
This morning at 8, just over 24 hours after her last shot, she was at 155 (I did not give her a shot.)

The only other bg measure I was able to get was on 6/21 in the morning, when she was at 310.

She only eats a small amount at a time, so she eats many times in the day and night - she had a small amount of low carb wet food about two hours before this morning's test.

Any feed back would be helpful! Even though I know this isn't a lot of information to work with. I feel bad for poor Elvis, who let me stick her ears 11 times this morning before I got enough blood for a reading.
 
Hiya Linda!

My buddy Lou is a grazer as well, so we also feed him smaller meals multiple times a day. The only hard and fast rule is to pick up the food within 2 hours of your preshot time so you can guarantee the BG number isn't influenced by food (falsely increased).

As far as issues testing, it is definitely harder in the beginning until your kitty's ears learn to bleed. I found warming the ear helped in the beginning. I put some rice in a sock and warmed that up (10-15 seconds) in the microwave (test in on your wrist first, like a baby bottle to ensure it's not too hot) and held it against the ear prior to poking. One thing that was my biggest downfall in the beginning was I was never able to get a successful drop of blood if I didn't have something behind the ear where I was poking. I get these circular makeup pads from Walmart and I use that behind the ear to give stability (and to protect my finger in case I poke right through the ear), and then I use the pad to stop the bleeding afterwards. Overall though, it's definitely helpful to have a patient kitty who lets you try! :joyful:

Unfortunately, I can't really help with any dosing advice, but hopefully someone will be by to address that.

Best of luck!
 
Hi Linda and Elvis and welcome to Lantus Land! You've definitely come to the right place; there are all kinds of knowledgable people on his board who are more than happy to help you on your feline diabetes journey.

The testing can be very frustrating but it does get better! I cried the first few times I did it. Are you free-handing it with a lancet or are you using one of the devices that humans use? If one isn't working for you, try the other :) Also, if you take a sock and fill it with rice and tie the top in a knot you can microwave it (I do 20 seconds) and hold it on her ear for a few seconds; it will help bring the blood to the surface. And, after you get the drop of blood for the test, press a cloth to her ear to stop the bleeding and minimize bruising. You can also use a topical antibiotic/pain relief like neosporin.

On the main page of this forum there are some "stickies" that you can read. One of them is about TR (Tight Regulation) and the other is about SLGS (Start Low Go Slow). These are protocols that most of us follow and if you take a read through them you can decide which protocol suits you and Elvis better.
 
Hiya Linda!

My buddy Lou is a grazer as well, so we also feed him smaller meals multiple times a day. The only hard and fast rule is to pick up the food within 2 hours of your preshot time so you can guarantee the BG number isn't influenced by food (falsely increased).

As far as issues testing, it is definitely harder in the beginning until your kitty's ears learn to bleed. I found warming the ear helped in the beginning. I put some rice in a sock and warmed that up (10-15 seconds) in the microwave (test in on your wrist first, like a baby bottle to ensure it's not too hot) and held it against the ear prior to poking. One thing that was my biggest downfall in the beginning was I was never able to get a successful drop of blood if I didn't have something behind the ear where I was poking. I get these circular makeup pads from Walmart and I use that behind the ear to give stability (and to protect my finger in case I poke right through the ear), and then I use the pad to stop the bleeding afterwards. Overall though, it's definitely helpful to have a patient kitty who lets you try! :joyful:

Unfortunately, I can't really help with any dosing advice, but hopefully someone will be by to address that.

Best of luck!
Lou looks like a real cutie! And thanks for the tips - I'll try those. I didn't even think of putting something behind her ear
 
Hi Linda and Elvis and welcome to Lantus Land! You've definitely come to the right place; there are all kinds of knowledgable people on his board who are more than happy to help you on your feline diabetes journey.

The testing can be very frustrating but it does get better! I cried the first few times I did it. Are you free-handing it with a lancet or are you using one of the devices that humans use? If one isn't working for you, try the other :) Also, if you take a sock and fill it with rice and tie the top in a knot you can microwave it (I do 20 seconds) and hold it on her ear for a few seconds; it will help bring the blood to the surface. And, after you get the drop of blood for the test, press a cloth to her ear to stop the bleeding and minimize bruising. You can also use a topical antibiotic/pain relief like neosporin.

On the main page of this forum there are some "stickies" that you can read. One of them is about TR (Tight Regulation) and the other is about SLGS (Start Low Go Slow). These are protocols that most of us follow and if you take a read through them you can decide which protocol suits you and Elvis better.
I was using the Lancet device that came with the Alphatrak but it didn't seem to work. I got a bunch of single-use travel lancet s & that's what's worked better, although it really did take 11 tries this morning!
 
Even now I will not get any blood if I don't stabilize the poke site. That was probably my biggest triumph when I figured that out, haha. It really is a bit of a learning curve in the beginning, but you'll get there! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top