6/24 Doogle +8 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
So after giving Doogle a 1unit shot at 2am and tested him an hour later he was 252. This morning we tested him at +8 and he was 200....good or bad??

Donna
 
It's not bad!!

To respond to your question from your condo from Saturday about shot time....

First, whatever time you shoot, if it's a late shot or an early shot, that is your AM/PMPS number. The clock starts when you give your shot. So, you are an hour off today due to shooting at 2:00 vs. your usual 1:00 time. Your next shot would be 12 hours later, at 2:00 PM. When you stall, even though what you were describing as your +1 makes sense, it's really your +13 test. Since you hadn't yet shot, the test was 13 hours from your AM shot. (I hope this makes sense.)

With Lantus, because there is an insulin depot, an early or late shot has a peculiar effect. A late shot acts like a dose reduction whereas an early shot acts like a dose increase. As a result, we try to keep shot time consistent whenever possible. To minimize the effect of changing the shot time, you have three options. You can move the shot time by 15 minutes with each shot, you can move the shot by 30 min. once each day, or you can skip a shot and make the adjustment in your schedule when the subsequent shot is due. There is one other possibility -- shooting early. However, that depends on what the numbers look like and given that you want to move your shot by 3 hours, I would not suggest shooting that early without knowing a lot more about Doogle.

No worries about things being confused. They really aren't. Some of what we're explaining are less than obvious conventions that we use on this Board or on FDMB. You've got a lot of new info you're juggling. It takes a while to get the hang of it.
 
To minimize the effect of changing the shot time, you have three options. You can move the shot time by 15 minutes with each shot, you can move the shot by 30 min. once each day

So if I want to adjust the time to a better and easier time, you are saying I should move the shot time by 30 mins once each day...is that past the time? Like we are supposed to shot at 2 pm....I can wait till 2:30 pm and then shot at 2:30 am, then shot at 3:00 pm and then 3:00 am...then so on and so on till I get to the time I want? I really want to get to a 11am /11pm time or even 10/10 so that its easier on me with working during the day now. When we started doing this in Sept. we did 1am and 1pm because that was our schedule (working late at night at home and sleeping late). Now that I am starting to teach and do other stuff I want to adjust it so its easier on me and I can get some sleep (plus if I need to get up and help test if the hubby has trouble I can do that without being sleep deprived). Or should I wait and see what his number is at preshot and decide from there. If I decide to skip the shot and say give it to him closer to the time I want, will that hurt him? I hate asking all these questions but I am so nervous about hurting my baby.

Donna
 
Asking questions is fine!!

You can move the time in either direction. So, if your last shot was at 2:00, you could shoot at 1:30 AM tonight, 1:00 tomorrow night, etc. That will take far fewer days to move the time backwards vs. forwards.

As far as skipping a shot, is it ideal? No. However, we have all given fur shots, overslept, etc. Life happens. It is the quickest way to make a big shift in shot time.

What you can do is look at what Doogle's numbers are at +10. If his numbers are in the pinks and yellows, it may be possible to shoot 1 - 2 hours early which will get you closer to your goal of a shot time that's better for your schedule. However, given that you're best time is a 10:00 shot, that would be a 4 hour time change. It may be easiest for you to skip unless you're OK with moving the time by 30 min. over 8 days.
 
Hi Donna, Doogle is looking good. I hope Sienne's gotten you straightened out on changing your shot time.

One of the conventions to get used to is that we have one condo (thread here every day.) It keep all the posts together for quick reference. We also just change the subject line to show any additional tests, so helpers can tell at a glance what is going on. Go to the first post of the day, click 'edit', click in the subject box and add the new test results. So for today your subject line would now read something like "6/24 Doogle AMPS~ +1~252 +8~200 +11~189". Don't take the earlier tests out, it's a good reference. You probably won't be able to fit all day in, usually the first cycle tests are removed and the PMPS tests replace them.
 
However, given that you're best time is a 10:00 shot, that would be a 4 hour time change. It may be easiest for you to skip
Ok now I am getting confused. Should I skip the AM shot (which is in 30 mins) and give it to him at 10 or what. His +11 number was 189 and I dont feel confortable giving him a shot at 2 pm today. I am getting nervous, anxious and a little upset. I am afraid of doing something wrong. :sad:
 
Ann & Tess said:
Hi Donna, Doogle is looking good. I hope Sienne's gotten you straightened out on changing your shot time.

One of the conventions to get used to is that we have one condo (thread here every day.) It keep all the posts together for quick reference. We also just change the subject line to show any additional tests, so helpers can tell at a glance what is going on. Go to the first post of the day, click 'edit', click in the subject box and add the new test results. So for today your subject line would now read something like "6/24 Doogle AMPS~ +1~252 +8~200 +11~189". Don't take the earlier tests out, it's a good reference. You probably won't be able to fit all day in, usually the first cycle tests are removed and the PMPS tests replace them.

Ok Ann, thank you for letting me know. I wasnt sure how to post but now I know. Didnt want to over do it.

Donna
 
Sorry. I was out!

It looks like you skipped the AM shot. Just give your PM shot at whatever time you want. You're good to go. If you're going to shoot at 10:00 PM tonight, that will be your PMPS.

Just to confuse you a bit more (well, hopefully not)... We start every day with the AMPS of that day. So, your AMPS (or actually your AMBG -- AM Blood Glucose since you didn't shoot) was 168. Thus, your subject line for today would read:
6/24 Doogle AMBG-168​
All of the tests from your PM shot until your AM shot are still considered 6/23 regardless of whether it's after midnight. Remember, we don't use conventional time. The 24 hour clock starts with your AMPS and doesn't end until your next AM shot. The reason I'm pointing this out is that in your subject line, you have your +8 of 200 for today's date. That PM +8 is actually from 6/23 (even though in "real" time vs. Lantus Land time it was past midnight and therefore, 6/24).

I hope that made sense!
Donna & Doogle said:
Decided to start over and do this right.
6/24 Doogle AMPS~ +1~252 +8~200 +11~189 +12 168 NS +1 157
Why are his numbers going down? He did a little bit of a Fancy Feast Appetizer that was out for another cat 30 mins before the test, so I am guessing that is why? We didnt give him his shot worried it may drop him to far. When do I need to really worry though.
So, just to illustrate, what your subject line should read is below. All of that info may not fit but it may help you to have a better idea of how we put together the subject line.
  • 6/23 Doogle AMPS-385, +3~348, +6-273, +10-315, PMPS-280, +1-283, +2-252, +8-200, +11-189
  • 6/24 Doogle AMGB-168, +1-157
What we typically suggest is, since you're new to Lantus, if you get a pre-shot test that lower than 150 or lower than you're comfortable with, you post and ask for help. Many of us are comfortable with shooting low numbers and do so routinely -- we'll shoot pretty much anything above 50. However, we don't expect anyone to do that the first time they see lower numbers. We'll walk you through the process. There is information on this topic in the sticky note, Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. It's a post you may want to print out. Any time you are shooting low, you want to get a +1 and +2 test so you have a sense of where the numbers are heading. You didn't need to worry today since you didn't give a shot.
 
Here is your question from the other condo you started for today that I asked you to delete :-D

darksoulvv said:
Decided to start over and do this right.
6/24 Doogle AMPS~ +1~252 +8~200 +11~189 +12 168 NS +1 157
Why are his numbers going down? He did a little bit of a Fancy Feast Appetizer that was out for another cat 30 mins before the test, so I am guessing that is why? We didnt give him his shot worried it may drop him to far. When do I need to really worry though.

Donna

It looks like he's clearing a bounce.

On your SS, you have two lines for each day....we don't do it like that. Could you please take a look at Gracie's SS and you'll see how we enter it. It's one line per day. I know you shoot at odd times but it doesn't matter because you still will get two cycles to one day. If you shoot at 1 or 2 am, put that in the AMPS section or the first half for that day and then when you shoot in the afternoon, put it in your PMPS section.

If you get a number like today that you aren't comfortable shooting, then don't feed, and then post and ask for help. This was a very safe number to shoot and we would have helped you through it. You have to shoot consistently as long as it is safe to do so. I'm not sure why you only shot 1u last night???

I know it's scary....you have no idea what to expect. That's why we're here. I switched insulins after a year and even though I felt pretty experienced with lantus and we were just switching to levemir, I still had a little anxiety...I didn't know what to expect in a cycle. I know it's harder for you moving from a short/mid duration insulin to a long duration one but we'll help.
 
Here is your question from the other condo you started for today that I asked you to delete
How do I delete a message? I was going to delete them all and start over but couldnt find where.

On your SS, you have two lines for each day....we don't do it like that. Could you please take a look at Gracie's SS and you'll see how we enter it. It's one line per day. I know you shoot at odd times but it doesn't matter because you still will get two cycles to one day. If you shoot at 1 or 2 am, put that in the AMPS section or the first half for that day and then when you shoot in the afternoon, put it in your PMPS section.
Should I go back and change all these? Since I skipped his am shot (I am trying to change times to a more sensible time like 10am and 10pm).

I'm not sure why you only shot 1u last night???
I only shot 1u last night because I was afraid of him dropping to low. I am so used to the Humilin N and how fast it would drop his BG.

All of the tests from your PM shot until your AM shot are still considered 6/23 regardless of whether it's after midnight. Remember, we don't use conventional time. The 24 hour clock starts with your AMPS and doesn't end until your next AM shot. The reason I'm pointing this out is that in your subject line, you have your +8 of 200 for today's date. That PM +8 is actually from 6/23 (even though in "real" time vs. Lantus Land time it was past midnight and therefore, 6/24).

Ok that I didnt either know or clearly understand. I thought it was the time you shot and it was after midnight so I figured it was AM. Sorry :sad:

It looks like you skipped the AM shot. Just give your PM shot at whatever time you want. You're good to go. If you're going to shoot at 10:00 PM tonight, that will be your PMPS.

Yeah I did skip it and he has been good actually. Took a BG test at 4:30 CDT and he was only 201. So do I just stick to 2u when we do give it to him at 10pm?

Thank you everyone for being so patient with me. I was so upset earlier my stomach was in knots. I was afraid I had done something wrong with him and on here. I dont want to irritate anyone here since yall are my only saving grace at the moment. Please just let me know if I should go back and fix the sheet to reflect the correct way of doing it.

Donna
 
The front end of this learning curve is overwhelming. I was more concerned that we were slamming you with so much information that you'd be in a puddle from information overload. If you'll be patient with us, we'll certainly be patient with you. We've all been in your shoes and really do understand how much information there is to absorb.

If possible, one suggestion re. dosing is if you are able to get a +11 or even a +11.5, if you are unsure what to do, having a bit of time before you have to shoot will help us out. For example, if you do get a +11 number you're worried about, it gives us a bit of time to keep an eye on your condo (that's what we call your daily thread) and have an exchange about what the possibilities are. Right now, because your instincts are based on N, we can help you put the numbers and dose in perspective for Lantus.

And yes, you should shoot your usual dose tonight.
 
I just read Doogles profile...WOW, I'm exhausted just seeing all that you do! I can relate on the civvie issues, but I only have 5 civvies (all of whom have varying medical/dietary needs) in addition to my Trixie, not 11. Add in all of your other duties, and when do you actually sleep :lol: ??

As Sienne said, we've all been in your shoes. It's a lot of info, but this place is the absolute greatest for both technical and emotional support. Post as many questions as you need...you will never be alone as long as you're here!

Welcome to LantusLand!

Amy
 
Yeah I stay pretty busy but I love what I do. At least all my cats now eat the same thing so I am hoping I am preventing this from happening to them. To be honest, I will be glad when a new day starts so I can do a thread correctly.........lol.
Thanks for the encouragement!! I really needed it today!.......... :-D

Donna
 
Thank you for the profile!!!! Doogle is just one year older than my Gracie.

You're doing just fine!!! You'll get it all quickly and we are always here to answer questions and help.

If you are shooting at 10 tonight, that is 8 my time so I'll be watching for you
images
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top