6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276 +6.25 330, +11 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
Good Morning All.

Well, a semi long/bad night again last night with Boo deciding do DUMP around +10. With her numbers so low at PMPS, we decided not to shoot last night at all.

She slept all night but got up to eat around 1:20 a.m. and 3:20 a.m.

After much discussion in LL last night, we decided 1 unit might be the best choice for today, since 2 was obviously too much yesterday.... so 1 unit it is. :smile:

I am going to give it to her now and then decide about going to work in a bit.

Hope everyone is having a great morning!
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322

Good Morning Boo I do not think I have had the chance to visit your condo yet I have been so busy lately seems like time gets away from me, just love the picture of your Boo :mrgreen:
Come on down gently from the pink floor today Boo for your Mama Bean cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322

Good Morning, Lisa. I have been so wrapped up in what's going on in my house that I haven't visited many other condos, I'm afraid. I hope all is well with you and your sweet baby. Thanks for dropping in to say hi!

Boo is really tired from yesterday. I suppose such a rapid drop was exhausting for her. I'm so ready for her to get leveled out!!! And I'm sure she's ready for me to stop sticking her!!

Much love to everyone!
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322

Hi Carla-

Boo certainly has kept you busy, hasn't she? Talk about getting thrown into the thick of things! Starting over with 1 unit sounds like the best, safest plan for your little girl. I hope you both get a bit of a breather today!

Amy
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322

Thank you, Amy. As always, the folks here last night took great care of us.... even when i was a panicky wreck. nailbite_smile

I hope you have a fantastic Friday!

xo
Carla (and BOO)
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322

G'Morning Carla ~O)

1u looks good I think. It's better to start at what might be less than Boo needs, and increase in small
increments so you don't miss the right dose. If you start too high, the bounces can lead you
to believe kitty needs more, when actually they need less. The hardest part (or one of them ;-) ),
is being patient on any particular dose... The tendency is of course "Let's Get This Thing DONE!!"

You're doing great, Boo's a lucky kitty cat_pet_icon

Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322

Bruce & Simon said:
The hardest part (or one of them ;-) ),
is being patient on any particular dose... The tendency is of course "Let's Get This Thing DONE!!"

Ha! Bruce, have you been readin my mail?! ;-) I'm a fixit person if there ever was one. Boo has decided to push me out of my comfort zone. Little stinker!!

Have a great day, and thanks for dropping in!
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322

Good morning Carla! Boo did it to you again. Poor kitty. 1U might be the best solution right now and just start from scratch. Hope you get some rest and have a relaxing evening. Ya hear that Boo??? :lol:

You are doing so great. Hang in there. It will get easier or at least you get used to no sleep.
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335

Your post to Boo's ears, Melissa!! :-D

She is NOT making this easy on poor old mom, that is for sure.

I just tested her at +2 and now I have to go to work. I plan on zipping back to check her around +5. Then I will be here all night making a birthday cake for my dad tonight, so I can keep an eye on her.

I finally got my spreadsheet started (with help from Mo)! And I did my first Ketone test... NEGATIVE! So it's not all a mess. :smile:

Would love input from anyone who has time to look at her crazy couple of days since hypo.

My next challenge (which begins this weekend) is the smooth, steady crossover to wet food, which she HATES.

Even Parm cheese got the thumbs down this morning. :-x

onward............ Hope everyone has a great Friday.
xo
Carla (and Boo)
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335

Tarragon hated the wet food at first too. You might try adding tuna water. That helped. Also, I boil chicken breast and then shred it and put it on top of the wet food he doesn't like and he accidently eats some wet. :lol: I know a lot of people use chicken or salmon dust.

Good luck!
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335

After the work out you got last night, Boo is kind enough to let you have a breather this morning. How sweet :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great Friday
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335

Melissa, she has never had people food other than the occasional bite or 2 of canned tuna, but I will sure try the boiled chicken.

Natalia, ;-) , isn't it the truth? Her hiding places are starting to get craftier. Had to make several trips around the house this morning to find her for +2. The good and horrible thing about when she dips low or drops too fast is that she comes looking for me and stays close. It's terrifying to watch, but at least she's not in distress somewhere in the back of a closet while I'm watching TV with no idea anything's going on.

xooxoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335

Good Morning :-D 1U probably is a very good idea. Boo is very sweet in his picture. Here's hoping for some lower (but safer) numbers. Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327

Thanks Bev. I'm REALLY hoping she doesn't end up dumping down to a low number today. She is exhibiting a small bit of the behavior now that I saw yesterday before the crash, but not to that extreme. I'm home now and can keep an eye on her for the rest of the day.

Updating my nifty SS!
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327

Carla, just checking in .... hope Boo listens to all the requests! You two need some down time! I'm glad your settling in well here, this is a great group of crazy kitty lovers! and they are taking good care of you! I hope today goes well.

Nancy and Payne
(who says yah! no ketones!)
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327

Thank you so much, Nancy. Boo is just a bit "off" today, so I'm glad I can be around to watch her a bit. I reminded my boss that in the 23 years i have worked for him, I have never taken a day off for a sick kid, or six weeks off to birth one. He couldn't really argue much. :smile: I hope you are having a wonderful day.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327

Morning Carla: so all is as expected today and these numbers are not bad for a skipped shot!! See...all ok!! And Boo is good :-D Now don't forget that chocolate that you have in your hypo kit right? I also lost about 10 lbs the first couple weeks of FD but have gained it back :lol: :lol:


Boo has decided to push me out of my comfort zone. Little stinker!!

Note Gracie's nickname is "Lil Stinka". Good reason if you look at her SS :lol: :lol: Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327

Hi Carla & Boo,
It's good that you decided to start over with the 1-unit dose. That way you can follow the protocol and have the confidence that you are proceeding in a manner that is safe for Boo. Today's numbers are a bounce from the low numbers of last night and are also reflective of the skipped shot. Now that you are giving a consistent amount of insulin, you should see a gradual emergence of bg numbers that are more representative of where Boo is. Previously your dose(es) and numbers were all over the place. What will happen now is that the "shed" should stabilize over the course of the next 3 days as it establishes itself as a "1- Unit Shed". Once the shed is stable, you will have a better idea of how the insulin is working on Boo. So try to be consistent and try not to worry. When you need eyes on Boo's numbers, be sure to say so in your subject line, and if you have a dosing question or are worried about numbers that you believe are too low when you get close to shot time, be sure to post early enough (+11 or so) so that people will have enough time to help you.
You are doing very well, and so is Boo.
The most difficult thing might be the switch to wet food!!

Hang in there!
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327, +6.5 352

Thank you, Ella. I don't love the 300's, but I sure don't love the 30's either. I will definitely need some help with tonight's dosage as her numbers progress throughout the day.

Thanks so much for everything!
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327, +6.5 352

hi carla, 300s may not look pretty, but it's a great place to start changing food, it gives you "wiggle" room. green numbers (as you saw last night) are a whole bunch of excitment, but not much wiggle room when you are looking to start making swaps with food.

take this as a great opportunity to kick back get your supplies together and put a plan in place.

have a martini too. you need to be sure to catch a break for you.
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327, +6.5 352

I just sent you a PM, Mo... I'm doing some homework RIGHT NOW!
THANK YOU~!
:-D
Carla (and a tuna water lovin Boo)
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +10 335 Dosing Advice?

So, how strange is it that Boo's numbers have basically stayed EXACTLY THE SAME all day?!

IF it stays in this mid 300 range for the next 2 hours (I am at +10 now), should I shoot 1 unit again to keep it consistent?

I'm hoping there is not huge fall off on numbers right now like there was last night at this time.

Thank you !!
Carla (and Boo)
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +5 327, +10 335, PMPS 322

Well, Boo's numbers didn't budge all DAY! I shot 1 unit just now.

Here's hoping for a quiet night.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276

Cautiously optimistic.... I'm liking the yellow numbers!!!

xoxoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo AMPS 322, +2 335, +5 327

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Carla & Boo,
It's good that you decided to start over with the 1-unit dose. That way you can follow the protocol and have the confidence that you are proceeding in a manner that is safe for Boo. Today's numbers are a bounce from the low numbers of last night and are also reflective of the skipped shot. Now that you are giving a consistent amount of insulin, you should see a gradual emergence of bg numbers that are more representative of where Boo is. Previously your dose(es) and numbers were all over the place. What will happen now is that the "shed" should stabilize over the course of the next 3 days as it establishes itself as a "1- Unit Shed". Once the shed is stable, you will have a better idea of how the insulin is working on Boo. So try to be consistent and try not to worry. When you need eyes on Boo's numbers, be sure to say so in your subject line, and if you have a dosing question or are worried about numbers that you believe are too low when you get close to shot time, be sure to post early enough (+11 or so) so that people will have enough time to help you.
You are doing very well, and so is Boo.
The most difficult thing might be the switch to wet food!!

Hang in there!
Ella & Rusty

Am i to gather from Ella's message that I should stay at 1 unit for a few days? I know I will be shooting very early in the morning and probably not a lot of people will be on a Saturday at the crack of dawn. I'm assuming that if Boo's AMPS is 180 or above, I should shoot 1 unit?

Ideas?
Thank you!
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276 Eyes Requested. Non Emergency

yes, you'll want to continue with the same dose (1u) for the next few days... unless boo tells us the dose is too high and in need of a reduction.
 
Re: 6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276 Eyes Requested. Non Emergency

I would definitely hold the dose for a few more cycles. Typically, with any change in dose, you want to hold the dose for 3 days unless the numbers drop and a dose reduction is earned. You're seeing a good sized reduction in numbers at +3. Boo's numbers may continue to drop so you're seeing some response to this dose. Lantus takes patience in order to get results.
 
Re: 6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276

what a good day, Carla! Very nice numbers, you've done well and had some great advice! Give Boo a big hug for all of us!

Nancy and Payne
(who is trying to catch the last of the sun in the window :)
 
Re: 6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276

Always great to see you and Payne, Nancy!!

I think Boo and I are about to get some SLEEP!

xoxoxoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276

Marjorie swears by the ones at Chico's, but I go with these Sounds like you might be needing multiple pairs?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Another FYI to store away in all the info that you've been thrown into this week.... A very flat yellow cycle where the numbers are very similar is often a signal that the next cycle will be extremely active. Not always, but often!

You continue to do fantastic... Boo is doing great!
 
Re: 6/24 Boo PMPS 322, +3 276, +6.25 330

Tee hee! I may need those in assorted colors!!!

Just took her +6 (330) and it looks like her food is kicking in (dry unfortunately)... so I'm thinking it's a good time to take up the bowls and make her a little hungry for the wet food I'm going to put out (with fingers crossed) after AMPS. It's gonna be a long haul getting this one to like wet food!

Thanks all for your guidance and encouragement!
Carla (and Boo)
 
Well, Boo just surprised me for sure. She actually WOKE ME UP. She sleeps in a little pet bed next to my bed and she pawed me on the arm till I woke up. She has NEVER done that. And then she ran to the place where her food bowl usually is. DOH! :o When I picked her up to test her she growled at me. She was acting so strange, I was very nervous about what I was going to find on the monitor display. 325. Nothing out of the ordinary at all for her!

I think she's just HUNGRY and mad at me for taking her food up at midnight!

WOW. This is going to be a battle of wills for sure getting her to eat wet food. But at least I can count on her hunger to drive her a little. Hopefully.

I have 45 minutes before AMPS. I hope she doesn't plot my murder in that time! :o

Carla
 
I wish I knew how to post a picture... all 3 of my cats are sitting here on the kitchen counter looking at me waiting for food. I had no idea this transition would bring such a captive audience!!!! :o
 
Good morning Carla :smile:

I was woken up too, by Chloe, our latest arrival. She claimed it was to tell me the coffee was ready,
and that Simon was waiting for his Tapazole, bg test, and insulin. I believe her, thousands wouldn't... ;-)

I get the "captive audience" too... A friend of my daughter was here at one mealtime, and remarked
"Man, it's like African Lion Safari around here". :-D

I'm really fortunate with Simon, he's an "eat what's put in front of you" kitty. When I initially transitioned him
(years ago) he went immediately into remission (including a near-hypo incident on his last shot) . I strongly suspect
his hyperthyroid issue helped end his FD honeymoon.

As I'm sure you know, patience is key to food transition (and insulin dosage), and to some extent yes, it's a battle of wills.
But worth it in the long run for sure.

You look great in those patience pants :lol: I've got a pair around somewhere too ;-)

Have a great day, and say Hi to Boo from the gang here.
Bruce
 
Bruce, so great to hear from you. LL is kinda quiet at my a.m. shot time! My 2 other cats took to this morning's new routine like gangbusters. Boo, however, after yowling for her food, hid under the bed when I served her her dry food with some wet underneath it. She is such a creature of habit. I'm going to leave it down for a while and then I will put her dry down because I'm scared for her to go so long without eating after I just shot her.... especially since this is the middle of a post close-hypo day and she is still bouncing around a bit. Patience indeed.

I hope you and the lion safari have a wonderful morning!!

coffffeeeeeeeeee!!!
Carla, Boo, Mo and Paulie Walnuts
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top