Marie&Leonard
Member Since 2018
Leonard is normally 225-258 PMPS - tonight we got 136 and then 116 30 minutes later after feeding his FF pate. We increased Lantus Monday pm to 3 units from 2.5. I’m thinking of going back to old dose?
Hi Marie,
Right now Leonard is in safe numbers but I understand your concern with the quick drop.
Do you have some medium carb food (7-11% carbs)? You could try feeding Leonard a tsp or two of that and test in 20 mins to see if he’s slowed down and his numbers either stay the same or come up. Test again another 30 mins after that. It’s important that you only feed a teaspoon or two at a time so that he doesn’t get full in case his numbers really do end up dropping. I think you may be in for a night of testing
Do you have a hypo kit in case his numbers start to drop further? If you can help it you don’t want his numbers to go below 50. You can find tips on preventing hypos here. If your next tests are even lower edit the title of your post to include a question mark. You can choose a question mark from the drop down to the left of the text of your title. If you drop below 60 I would edit the title drop down to be 911 so that you have more attention.
Quick interventions to stop BG levels from going too low include a drop of honey massaged into Leonard’s gums or high carb cat food.
I’ll tag a few people who are much more experienced than me when it comes to dosing or handling low numbers, if they’re around tonight they may pop by and weigh in.
@Bron and Sheba @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko @Bobbie And Bubba @LizzieInTexas
+2 was 98I can be around if needed. I’ll watch out for you. Post your +2 number in the subject line and the thread please.
Fed low carb only, so far?+2 was 98
We have only fed fancy feast pate this eveningFed low carb only, so far?
I’d give Leonard a teaspoon of low carb food and test at +3.+2 was 98
We have only fed fancy feast pate this evening
already working on the gravy..I’d give Leonard a teaspoon of low carb food and test at +3.
Ok so you have already given gravy?already working on the gravy..
We gave 1 tsp gravy 40 minutes ago and just got 78 @ +3. Just gave 1/3 can FF pate. Setting alarm for 2 hours- Leonard is a 2 person cat to test and hubby is barely on board with middle of night testing. I can’t push him too much.Ok so you have already given gravy?
I’d still test at +3
I hope the carbs will stop this ! It’s going to be a long night...thanks for the encouragement ! Yes, I’m probably not sleeping much Definitely sounds like he is still dropping! I hope you can get your next test in successfully.![]()
Sorry I was not here. Had to duck out to the shops. I’d give him a teaspoon of the higher carb food if you are not going to test for 2 hours.We gave 1 tsp gravy 40 minutes ago and just got 78 @ +3. Just gave 1/3 can FF pate. Setting alarm for 2 hours- Leonard is a 2 person cat to test and hubby is barely on board with middle of night testing. I can’t push him too much.
Many of us have had those nights! When you are in doubt, and there is not immediate help, sometimes propping with some higher carb food is okay. Better safe than sorry. If you are not able to test at all (you mentioned you need an extra pair of hands to do so) later, then depending on how low the next test is, some higher carb might be ideal.I hope the carbs will stop this ! It’s going to be a long night...thanks for the encouragement ! Yes, I’m probably not sleeping much ![]()
I saw that you posted. I will look for them today. Enjoy your dinner!Hi @Bobbie And Bubba
Glad to see you back on. I am out at dinner and keep checking in. No response since +3 I hope all is ok.

Thanks!I saw that you posted. I will look for them today. Enjoy your dinner!![]()
Hey Marie, saw where the numbers were dropping last night. Hopefully the gravy and the food you gave propped him up. Where you able to get anymore test in last night?
I think it would be a good idea to take his dose back down back as the jump up to 3 units was too big. Since 2.5 wasn’t doing it , I would take him to 2.75 And get as much testing in as you can.
Do you have syringes with 1/2 unit markings on them so you are able to do the in between doses? If not, I would get some. I do t k is where you are located but if you have access to a Walmart , their brand Relion for 1/2 unit markings are very cheap 100/$13
Please give us an update as soon as you can.
Hey Marie, saw where the numbers were dropping last night. Hopefully the gravy and the food you gave propped him up. Where you able to get anymore test in last night?
I think it would be a good idea to take his dose back down back as the jump up to 3 units was too big. Since 2.5 wasn’t doing it , I would take him to 2.75 And get as much testing in as you can.
Do you have syringes with 1/2 unit markings on them so you are able to do the in between doses? If not, I would get some. I do t k is where you are located but if you have access to a Walmart , their brand Relion for 1/2 unit markings are very cheap 100/$13
Please give us an update as soon as you can.
We do have the 1/2 unit syringes.Leonard Spreadsheet
We did a +5.5 last night and it was 132 ! Just did a + 11 and it was 172. So now I wonder how to dose in an hour, what I might expect next and guess we should do a curve today (because luckily we can as it’s Saturday). Thanks so very much to everyone who helped and kept me sane last night-appreciate it !!
Glad you got that test in at +5.5. That gives some more data. He stayed nice and safe. With the high carb gravy in the picture he could have gone under 50 earning a reduction but that’s a guess. And he is likely to bounce today and could for a few cycles until it clears. To do a curve today might not give you a real understanding of what this dose can do because of the bouncing.Leonard Spreadsheet
We did a +5.5 last night and it was 132 ! Just did a + 11 and it was 172. So now I wonder how to dose in an hour, what I might expect next and guess we should do a curve today (because luckily we can as it’s Saturday). Thanks so very much to everyone who helped and kept me sane last night-appreciate it !!

Thanks so much for your help ! You got me going in the right direction- my brain froze and I wasn’t even thinking about food (I was terrified). Thanks again !!Marie!
So glad to hear that everything turned out alright for you and Leonard last night. Good job keeping him safe
Thanks to @Bobbie And Bubba @Bron and Sheba and @AliceMeowliss&Cassandra for stopping by and sharing their experience in a situation that I don’t have a lot of experience in
I wanted to let you know that I gave you a little misinformation earlier about what constitutes Medium carb food. It sounds like you already know but just in case:
LC is below 10% carb
MC is 11 - 15%
HC is over 15%
Take care![]()
No problem! Sometimes in a scary situation you just need that kick in the pants to remind you to breatheThanks so much for your help ! You got me going in the right direction- my brain froze and I wasn’t even thinking about food (I was terrified). Thanks again !!

PS @AmandaE , another thing I love here—no one is afraid to admit to being wrong for the sake of making sure to disseminate correct information. I admire your coming back to add a correction. My favorite professors in college always could gracefully correct themselves. <3 It’s also helpful to lay that info out like that because we use all this specific lingo here and these abbreviations that might confuse newer people. Well done!
Good morning ! Leonard is doing good ! His numbers yesterday were in the 268-251 range @ amps, +5.5, +11 and PMPS. Those are the numbers we are used to seeing. We just did his AMPS and it was 213 ! So, was yesterday a bounce? Or the effects of the tsp of gravy ? LOL.. sorry so many questions. I truly appreciate our Aunties looking out for usGood morning Marie! How is Leonard doing? Please update when you can. We are like a bunch of old Aunties that worry.![]()
It was a bounce you were seeing. They will bounce from being in lower numbers than they are used to being in or a fast drop. He did both.Good morning ! Leonard is doing good ! His numbers yesterday were in the 268-251 range @ amps, +5.5, +11 and PMPS. Those are the numbers we are used to seeing. We just did his AMPS and it was 213 ! So, was yesterday a bounce? Or the effects of the tsp of gravy ? LOL.. sorry so many questions. I truly appreciate our Aunties looking out for us![]()
We reduced his dose to 2.75It was a bounce you were seeing. They will bounce from being in lower numbers than they are used to being in or a fast drop. He did both.
What dose did you reduce to?
If you can set up a signature and attach the SS that would help us to help you. In the signature put Leonard’s name, date of birth, insulin you are using, what meter you use , food you are feeding and any health issues he has or had had. And any thing else you think is important to know.
Thanks for letting his Auntie’s know how he’s doing. Oh, and there are some Uncles here too
Yell if you need help setting up. Someone will assist you. I’m quite challenged myself and someone set up my SS for me.I plan to work on my signature today- I have had a difficult time using FDMB - I am easily challenged technologically !
Thanks again to to our new Aunties and Uncles out there !
Yell if you need help setting up. Someone will assist you. I’m quite challenged myself and someone set up my SS for me.
Testing my signature..@Marie Stephens I had spreadsheet help, too! Not everyone is as technology savvy as the next person and that’s okay. I’m supposedly a millennial and I still need help! We have a forum for if you need technical support of sorts, too, if you need help with your spreadsheet or website navigation. It is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/suggestions-tech-support-testing-area.6/
It can also take a little time to learn to navigate all the forums and remember where things are, and I think that is pretty normal when we are already using all our mental power to deal with this new and daunting diagnosis.
Keep on keeping on. Glad Leonard is maintaining smooth numbers and back out of his bounce.![]()
Awesome job! Signature looks perfect! If you need help attaching the the SS to it Yell. Someone will help but sadly it won’t be me as I am a real tech mo-mo.Testing my signature..