6/23 Simon AMPS 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Member Since 2013
Yesterday he was 272 and today 276 for his AMPS numbers. Maybe his little pancreas is getting the message or maybe all of the treats he had last night with the every half hour ear pokes raised it higher than it would have been without that :lol:

I am happy to see a yellow pre shot this morning and gave him his normal dose. Will monitor accordingly.
 
Thanks Terri. Had no idea what we would see this morning. I figured he would be way high and bouncing after last night's drama, but he behaved and we had a nice yellow number ;-)
 
AMPS 276
+2 318 after feeding/eating
+4 259 (he has been eating well this morning)
+6 255 ??? Staying up there today
 
Staying over 250 is a good thing??? Not sure that I understand that, but ok I guess. Was hoping he would surf in the blues today but no such luck. He is hanging out in the 200's today. He likes to surprise me with his numbers that little munchkin. He is so sweet though. He has been poked a lot in the last 24 hours, poor baby :dizcat angry(2)_cat bcatrun_gif

As for me, not doing too much better unfortunately and have to call all of my docs tomorrow when they get in. I recently had radiation for breast cancer and it nicked the lung according to the diagrams and this could be what is happening to me. I can't catch a full breath and it is horrendous. Feels like I am drowning. Must be awful to have asthma! I feel totally drained and I just want answers. At first we thought it was the new drug I started which has steroids (called Aromasin) but that is unlikely per the people on the breast cancer board I frequent (message board people know more than doctors/vets for sure since it is all based on personal experience) so I have to call my radiation oncologist to find out what is up rather than the medical onc. Ugh...life is never ever just peaceful for me these days.

Ok, pity party over. Back to laundry. Life goes on :roll:
 
I am so sorry to hear you are having medical issues, Joyce. Stress is never good for feline or human. ((hugs from Colorado))

The cycle today may be high and flat because of yesterday's low cycle. You usually get one of 2 reactions - flat and a little high or quite high the first few tests after the low and then the first preshot after. Looks like Simon is treating you to both options.

Regardless, remember, it is just one cycle. Tomorrow's is sure to look different. :mrgreen: one thing I am noting about Simon is that food does really seem to impact his bg levels. This is good because you were able to bring up that low yesterday with food pretty easily. And he also seems to go up after the food at am and pm. (except yesterday when the early lower number was a sign of a low cycle). And when he has gone lower than expected, it is sometimes when he is not eating well. How low is your low carb? Any way to drop down to a lower carb and see if it makes any difference? The other thing to try is to spread his meals out - smaller meals several times a day and see if that makes a difference. Even limiting the first meal in the am and pm to a little less and then putting more down a little later might make a difference.
 
+2 318 after feeding/eating
+4 259 (he has been eating well this morning)
+6 255 ??? Staying up there today
+8 311
 
Staying over 250 is a good thing??? Not sure that I understand that, but ok I guess.
No being over 250 is not a good thing. What is a good think is not to be really low again this morning.

Bounce was expected. Simon hasn't been in those low green numbers a lot before.

Not unexpected that he is staying higher today.
 
AMPS 276
+2 318 after feeding/eating
+4 259 (he has been eating well this morning)
+6 255 ??? Staying up there today
+8 311
+10 = none. Fell asleep and did not set alarm
PMPS 318 which is right where he was this morning at +2

Rather high and flat day for him. We will see how he does tonight. I am positive there was no fur shot as I felt all over and he was dry as a bone. Not sure why he barely budged but I guess the bounce theory is as good as we got. He is less hungry today and yesterday for some reason and he threw up last night which we found this morning. Could account for why he went so low after eating since we did not know he barfed. We dound it today in a corner in the front room. It was dried up food so am betting it was right after he ate his dinner.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I am so sorry to hear you are having medical issues, Joyce. Stress is never good for feline or human. ((hugs from Colorado))

The cycle today may be high and flat because of yesterday's low cycle. You usually get one of 2 reactions - flat and a little high or quite high the first few tests after the low and then the first preshot after. Looks like Simon is treating you to both options.

Regardless, remember, it is just one cycle. Tomorrow's is sure to look different. :mrgreen: one thing I am noting about Simon is that food does really seem to impact his bg levels. This is good because you were able to bring up that low yesterday with food pretty easily. And he also seems to go up after the food at am and pm. (except yesterday when the early lower number was a sign of a low cycle). And when he has gone lower than expected, it is sometimes when he is not eating well. How low is your low carb? Any way to drop down to a lower carb and see if it makes any difference? The other thing to try is to spread his meals out - smaller meals several times a day and see if that makes a difference. Even limiting the first meal in the am and pm to a little less and then putting more down a little later might make a difference.

Simon eats FF classics and all of those under 5% carb.Yesterday, he was eating the chicken classic pate at 4%.

The way you describe about feeding him is pretty much the way he already eats. He eats lots of small meals a day. I leave the food out, but he doesn't go near it for hours on end and then eats a little bit and then a few hours will pass and he does the same thing. I pick up the bowl at 4PM and he doesn't eat until his PMPS has been done at around 5:45, and then I give him a fresh 1/2 can, saving the other half for later which I divide up into a tblsp here and a tbsp. there. Has been working well in the past in terms of his BG. We shall see if changing to "meals" helps or not. I will now not leave the food there anymore when he looks satisfied.
 
I'm sorry to hear about your health issues, I can sympathize, my dad has cancer and has just completed 6 weeks of radiation and it was pretty rough. We spend every Sunday together these days because we know our time is limited.

I'm glad everything turned out ok with Simon.
 
Thanks Robin. Thankfully I am going to be fine as they caught mine very early and my chance of recovery is 100% as it is stage 0 cancer known as DCIS. But, some of the trmt protocols are really awful and difficult. Thanks for your support. I hope your dad feels as well as possible for the time he has left. Hugs.

Simon's at 94@ +5. Heading to bed as this is a common number for him at night. Left him a couple tablespoons of food and now saying goodnight!
 
Joyce I am sooo thankful that you are going to be OK and that they caught it early. I hope that you get to feeling better soon!
Terriy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top