Tara and Scully
Member Since 2014
Scully has been at 1.5 units for the last 20 cycles. We continue to see a mix of AMPS and PMPS numbers ranging from all over the 300s to the high 100s, but last night she had her first green PMPS at 79. Armed with a healthy stock of test strips and HC food/treats, we decided to go for it. When she hit 28 at +5, I panicked. She was showing no visible signs of hypo thankfully, but I didn't follow protocol for dealing with low numbers. At +5, she's normally ready to eat another small meal (we leave lc canned food down all the time and she free feeds). Last night instead of letting her eat her normal FF Classic Chicken, I gave her the entire can of FF Gravy Lovers Chicken, which she scarfed down like there was no tomorrow. I know I should have given just a teaspoon of gravy at a time and retested every 15-20 minutes, but I was afraid. I also let her have about 15 Party Mix treats, which she is no longer allowed to eat since her FD diagnosis. So, of course, instead of raising her BG up a little and encouraging a green surf, I carbed her up so much that her BG went through the roof. At +5.5 she tested at 99 and at +6 159. I was rewarded this morning with an AMPS of 479. Ouch!
Since this is the third time she has dropped below 50 on this dose (that I have been able to document), I think a dose reduction back down to 1.25 units is warranted. I was reluctant to reduce the dose before because she has been getting into those nice green numbers fairly regularly, but I don't want to endanger her. I did give her usual 1.5 units this morning because her AMPS was so high, but I'll reduce to 1.25 units tonight.
Since this is the third time she has dropped below 50 on this dose (that I have been able to document), I think a dose reduction back down to 1.25 units is warranted. I was reluctant to reduce the dose before because she has been getting into those nice green numbers fairly regularly, but I don't want to endanger her. I did give her usual 1.5 units this morning because her AMPS was so high, but I'll reduce to 1.25 units tonight.