6/23 Samba AMPS 222 +2 323 +4 319 +6.5 265 +8 242 +10 248 PMPS 257 +1 275 +2 254 +3.5 258 +6 185

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think I would increase if you don't see green today especially since you will be able to monitor. I am wondering if the gradual dose change time is playing into the numbers going higher?

I noticed you do scruff shots have you considered giving them on the sides of the stomach. I've heard and read that the scruff of the neck has very poor blood supply and insulin absorption is rather erratic . I always move around on both sides of the stomach making sure not to inject into muscle. Make sure you don't inject the ribs of the cat.:)
 
I think I would increase if you don't see green today especially since you will be able to monitor. I am wondering if the gradual dose change time is playing into the numbers going higher?

I noticed you do scruff shots have you considered giving them on the sides of the stomach. I've heard and read that the scruff of the neck has very poor blood supply and insulin absorption is rather erratic . I always move around on both sides of the stomach making sure not to inject into muscle. Make sure you don't inject the ribs of the cat.:)
When I try doing anywhere but his scruff, he gets really angry :blackeye: how do you make a good tent with the belly fat? I've tried the rolling technique, but I struggle with it and it seems to irritate him. The only thing that doesn't seem to bother him so much is making a big tent in the center of the scruff. I even tried rotating around the scruff, and he got pissy about it :woot: I must not be doing it right...when I pinch the other areas, there doesn't seem to be enough skin to pull (?) thanks so much for your reply :)
 
When I try doing anywhere but his scruff, he gets really angry :blackeye: how do you make a good tent with the belly fat? I've tried the rolling technique, but I struggle with it and it seems to irritate him. The only thing that doesn't seem to bother him so much is making a big tent in the center of the scruff. I even tried rotating around the scruff, and he got pissy about it :woot: I must not be doing it right...when I pinch the other areas, there doesn't seem to be enough skin to pull (?) thanks so much for your reply :)
Well with Fritz for a long time he had a shaved belly from an ultrasound making it super easy to give his insulin. My kitty Fritz is so over weight and lays on his side to eat that is when I gently slide the needle just under the skin so I don't do any tenting. He doesn't even know hed had his insulin.
 
Hmm. Sounds like what you're saying is there doesn't seem to be enough loose skin to pull to make a tent any place other than at Samba's scruff. If so, seems like Samba may not like the pulling sensation on his skin. I don't know how common of an issue this may be. Uncle seems to have plenty. Hope someone else can weigh in and help figure it out :bighug:
 
I agree it's time for more insulin so I'm glad you raised the dose tonight, Sarah. Hopefully, he will give us so,e idea over the weekend as to how the 3.25u will work for him.

I didn't actually give insulin in the belly but more like the flank. It was fairly easy to pull the fur/skin up and roll there but some cats just do not tolerate anything but scruff shots.

Just as a thought, absorption is said to be slower with scruff shots so it "might" also follow that duration has the opportunity to be longer. Just a hypothesis.

I'm hoping he will come down into some decent numbers tonight although it's looking like he likes the flat yellow.
 
Well with Fritz for a long time he had a shaved belly from an ultrasound making it super easy to give his insulin. My kitty Fritz is so over weight and lays on his side to eat that is when I gently slide the needle just under the skin so I don't do any tenting. He doesn't even know hed had his insulin.
Thank you...I will continue to try with him and see how it goes. Fritz sounds and looks adorable.
 
Hmm. Sounds like what you're saying is there doesn't seem to be enough loose skin to pull to make a tent any place other than at Samba's scruff. If so, seems like Samba may not like the pulling sensation on his skin. I don't know how common of an issue this may be. Uncle seems to have plenty. Hope someone else can weigh in and help figure it out :bighug:
Yes, he doesn't like the pulling of the skin, maybe because he knows what's coming (although the needle going in shouldn't be hurting him, right?) I don't think that the injection itself actually hurts him, but he begins to quietly growl when I first pinch the skin. If I try to explore too much and pinch too many different areas, he becomes oppositional, so I'll have to remember to mess around with it when it's not shot time and practice rolling the skin or where I'd gently slide the needle in when he is just relaxing, lol :rolleyes:
 
Just as a thought, absorption is said to be slower with scruff shots so it "might" also follow that duration has the opportunity to be longer. Just a hypothesis.
I would like to see this hypothesis to be true!!! :) happy to hear that you agreed with the dose increase; thank you. His numbers really suck today o_O
 
Yes, he doesn't like the pulling of the skin, maybe because he knows what's coming (although the needle going in shouldn't be hurting him, right?) I don't think that the injection itself actually hurts him, but he begins to quietly growl when I first pinch the skin. If I try to explore too much and pinch too many different areas, he becomes oppositional, so I'll have to remember to mess around with it when it's not shot time and practice rolling the skin or where I'd gently slide the needle in when he is just relaxing, lol :rolleyes:
I know every cat is different, but I don't think typically the poke of the needle should be hurting him if it's just going into the skin and not hitting any muscle. I have only noticed Uncle flinching twice since I started injecting roughly 9 months ago and I must have got something besides skin.
I know one thing that really gives me an advantage is that when he's eating he either doesn't know or care about getting his shot ;)
 
I know every cat is different, but I don't think typically the poke of the needle should be hurting him if it's just going into the skin and not hitting any muscle. I have only noticed Uncle flinching twice since I started injecting roughly 9 months ago and I must have got something besides skin.
I know one thing that really gives me an advantage is that when he's eating he either doesn't know or care about getting his shot ;)
Yeah, food MUST be part of the equation or Samba is NOT participating, lol. This is such a learning process!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top