6/23 Rosie AMPS 270; +6 107 - Back from vacation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
After Rose was released from the hospital, we took some time off for vacation. I haven't posted in over a month. She enjoyed vacation, but could have done without the long car ride... Over the last month, I have been making systematic increases and am now back to what I think was a break through dose for her (back in early May).

Rosie was hospitalized due to severe constipation. To manage going forward, vet wants to transition her to Fiber Response (dry) food. I don't want to make this her exclusive food, but can see if some amount will be helpful. Holding now at 2 TBSP / day. Based on her litter box behavior, I believe the constipation problem is a GI motility problem (now taking Cisapride for this). I have done searches and also inquired with Royal Canin regarding lowest effective dose for Fiber Response, but there seems to be an operating assumption that it is fed exclusively to a cat with no other health problems (certainly not diabetes).

I want to continue with TR so I'm questioning keeping any dry food in the picture but second guessing everything. I need to systematically evaluate previously suggested maintenance / preventative options now that the crisis has past (pumpkin, SEB, probiotics etc).

Previous.
 
Hmmm, I'd give a serious think to keeping on with the wet and adding pumpkin to that. Some folk here also use miralax on a maintenance dose to prevent problems recurring.

Perhaps if you change the thread title to reflect the question you'll get some advice of those with experience in this area.
 
I had a civvie with motility problems. Cisapride and miralax did the trick. There was some fine tuning to do with the miralax depending on the frequency and ease of bowel movements. (This cat lived in my bedroom by choice so I was able to surreptitiously watch). Cisapride has to be compounded because it was taken off the market years ago because of heart irregularity side effects in humans. My civvie stayed on cisapride to the end. I do know of one person who took their cat off cisapride. It had to be weaned off. I don't know if this would be the case in other cats.

This link deals with cisapride dosing/usage in pets: http://c.ymcdn.com/sites/www.aavpt.org/resource/resmgr/imported/cisapride.pdf

Also, from the pet Merck Manual: http://www.merckvetmanual.com/pharm...gastrointestinal-prokinetic-drugs-monogastric
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top