6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61,+5.25 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120671

We were sooo close!!! I tried to give him a LC snack at +8.75 but he was not in an eating mood. Normally when he has a bowel movement either he's relieved and ready to eat or doesn't want to eat at all. This was a don't want to eat at all moment. Even this morning he didn't want to eat. I had to try 3 different foods and he finally ate. Someone had a tiny hair ball this morning and once again I have no idea if that was him.
Question: has anyone here used Slippery Elm Bark for nausea and constipation? I'm not sure if it has sugar in it?
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115

That's not a bad start to the day. Maybe you'll get that green PS soon. I'm glad you finally got Peyton to eat for you. I've seen others post about giving their kitties Slippery Elm Bark. Maybe you should put SEB? in the subject line to get some attention to your question.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115

I've used it but not in Gracie. It should not affect his BG if you get the pure powder. Of course, no guarantees but there's nothing in it that theoretically should raise his BG. Its just bark from the slippery elm tree. And while all plants produce some sugar during photosynthesis, it should be negligible. Certainly not as much as chocolate milk :lol: sorry...that's going to be a LL classic. :roll: :roll: ;-)

We need to discuss Peyton.....I am not comfortable with you giving him insulin when he drops into the 40/30s. I'm thinking we give it a go even if you don't have a green PS. Hopefully he will eat LC at +9 today. Even one tsp will help. His PSs could be high, also, due to too much insulin.

Unless you hear otherwise from Wendy, Dyana, Julie, Sienne, or me, why don't you plan to start the trial tonight as long as his PS is not high blue or higher?
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115

Good morning. I feel like we just spoke. Well, Marje gave me the answer to the question I was asking in my condo. I thought you would be told to go ahead with a trial. I won't congratulate you until it is official and I see the PMBG tonight!!! Have a great day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115

Ok Marje :) I'll be checking my condo to see if anything changes. I'm rushing home from work now because this is normally the time he goes low. I think if I can keep him from going too low that we can possibly get that green PS. I'll update in just a few.
You were right Elise :) I hope you didn't stay up too late. How's our boy doing?

Thank you all for stopping by and answering my question about SEB. I got mine from an alternative vet and she put some in a little baggie so I don't have an ingredient list. I will look at the link you sent me and probably order some. I don't want to give him what she gave me without knowing if it's the pure powder. I would assume it is but u just want to be safe. I gave it to him on occasion before his diabetes diagnosis so I'm glad we can still use it.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115

aacckkk - i can't believe he got into the 30's again last night! You must be exhausted - i hope you can get a nap in today!
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33 YIKES!

Woohoo!!!!!!!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!!!! I feel like it's a dream! I understand it's a "trial" so I'm trying not to get overly ecstatic but it's hard not to :)
I barely made it home in time. He's back in the 30's again. Lather, rinse, repeat...I know my little guy is tired of that! He doesn't understand why I'm only going him a smidge of food and then poking again. He says FEED ME! Retesting in 5 minutes.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33 YIKES!

If you can stay home with him I wonder if it is okay to give more than a tiny amount of food. I haven't seen this particular situation but maybe Marje or Julie will chime in??? My thinking is that since you are starting a trial, who cares if you get a food spike as long as you can get and keep his BG up. Of course you can't overfeed to the point that he will be full.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO TIME

AMPS115
+2.5 33 fed HC gravy
+2.75 33 fed HC gravy and added a drop of Karo
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO TIME

He will only eat small amounts at a time but when I just give him gravy he looks at me like "that's all I get?" Lol
I just resorted to Karo for the first time. I wasn't sure how much so I just put a drop. It was probably 1/8th or 1/16th of a teaspoon
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO,+3 54

+2.75 33 gave HC gravy and karo
+3 54 fed HC gravy

I was getting nervous there for a minute. Thank you Karo!!!
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO,+3 54

Karo might leave the body sooner. It doesn't seem to with Max though.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO,+3 54

I gave him some more HC gravy just in case. About to retest again
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO,+3 54,+3.5 82

He's up to 82 so I let him have some of his regular 5% food. That boy was hungry!
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO,+3 54,+3.5 82

glad to see he's up to the 80's. Not sure if you can continue to test/carb him, but i think i'd leave a lot of food out for him if you have to head back to work.

Elise is right, sometimes we just gotta get them if and not worry if it raises the BGs more than is ideal.

congrats on the official beginning of the trial! Peyton has made it abundantly clear that he doesn't want any insulin right now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO,+3 54,+3.5 82

I don't have to work again until 5:30 tonight so I can keep checking on him. Waiting a little longer to retest since he's had gravy, karo and 5% food.
Thank you :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton AMPS 115,+2.5 33,+2.75 33 KARO,+3 54,+3.5 82

You are all a godsend! If I had stuck to what my vet was saying we wouldn't be at this point right now. I wish some vets understood this insulin better. Mine is about to find out :)
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61

The karo must be wearing off. He's dropped again but not too low. I fed him some higher carb food to try to help him surf or maybe come up just a bit
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61

Just popping in to wish you luck with OTJ. Peyton appears to be on a mission! You're doing so great with him! :thumbup
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61

goodness, Peyton really is enjoying keeping you on your feet!!
Ok......time to do the trial!! Good luck!!

I have also used SEB on Spot when he gets really constipated. no ill effects that I can see and it does work.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61

Our guys are keeping us on our toes! Max just needs a lot of juice to do it.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61,+5.25 8

Looks like he's finally surfing :)
Thank you all for stopping by and giving us well wishes: Tara, Deb, Elise, Julie, Marje, Missy and Carla
Paws are crossed that this works!
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61,+5.25 8

WOOT! Congrats on the trial. I love seeing so many at once. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: And Peyton is done with this juice.
Go Peyton! bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61,+5.25 8

He's definitely sending a message loud and clear I am done with the jooce!!!

Good catch. I'd be sure he's nice and flat tonight when you have to go to work. Remember the depot even with not shooting. It might take a few cycles for him to drain it.
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61,+5.25 8

Since I have to leave for work at +8 I will give him a little LC food then. Wish I were going to be here at +9. The good thing is that I just have to run go do a meeting and then back home. I should be back home by 7:00-7:30
 
Re: 6/23 Peyton +2.5 33,+2.75 33,+3 54,+3.5 82,+4 61,+5.25 8

feeding at +8 is ok as far as stimulating his pancreas to lower his BGs by the next shot time. Usually people see the BG lower about 3 hrs after eating, and if that happens, it's still going to provide a lower pmbg.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top