6/23 Neko PMPS 391 +2 388

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73657 was a bounce recovery day followed by some bounce clearing action in the night. I went to bed at +4 at yellow and woke up to blue. This is Neko's lowest ever preshot - yes I shot.

OK, the question. It's my mother's 90th birthday. I've made a monstrous chocolate cake. There will be about 17 people there for a late lunch. The kicker - they live on an island and I have to catch a ferry to get there, so once I'm gone I can't get back until a couple hours before dinner. I have to leave around +2.75. DH has said he will stay and catch the later ferry, which means he'll be here until +5. So, please help me with options choices. I think they are:
1) Neko's numbers go up and I don't have to worry - hah! small likelihood of that happening
2) I carb her up. I have some MC popsicles in the freezer I could leave out. How much should I leave if this is the option?
3) I give her higher carb for her +1 and +2.
4) DH ends up missing the party.

Neko was in the kitchen this morning waiting for me to get up, so I suspect she was lower overnight. Otherwise unfazed by everything. We had a good purr during the test, CPC, two yard patrols and now waiting for me to put the autofeeder out.
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 - advice on leaving?

Wendy&Neko said:
Yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73657 was a bounce recovery day followed by some bounce clearing action in the night. I went to bed at +4 at yellow and woke up to blue. This is Neko's lowest ever preshot - yes I shot.

OK, the question. It's my mother's 90th birthday. I've made a monstrous chocolate cake. There will be about 17 people there for a late lunch. The kicker - they live on an island and I have to catch a ferry to get there, so once I'm gone I can't get back until a couple hours before dinner. I have to leave around +2.75. DH has said he will stay and catch the later ferry, which means he'll be here until +5. So, please help me with options choices. I think they are:
1) Neko's numbers go up and I don't have to worry - hah! small likelihood of that happening
2) I carb her up. I have some MC popsicles in the freezer I could leave out. How much should I leave if this is the option?
3) I give her higher carb for her +1 and +2.
4) DH ends up missing the party.
You have your options well thought out. You did shoot at 169 on a lower dose on the 6th, and she did alright. Does your DH test? How about, since you have to leave and are concerned, starting with a +1 today, and maybe getting a feel for what Nedo has planned for this afternoon. I would wait on the MC until we see what the +1 is.
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 - advice on leaving?

Thanks Dyana for taking the time. I know you are super busy yourself today!!

Yes, DH tests. I'll do a +1 in about 20 minutes.
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 - advice on leaving?

Good, I'm glad your DH tests. I think you'll be fine, then. It's nice of him to wait behind.
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 +1 168 - advice on leaving?

+1 168 Not much change, but today, of all days, is the lowest of the LC raw foods she gets. Plus she just spent the last 20 minutes outside wandering all over because she has pine needles all over her tummy.
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 +1 168 - advice on leaving?

She's probably feeling pretty good in these numbers.

Keep surfing nicely, Neko.
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 +1 168 +2 255 - whew!

+2 255, looks like my kitten was listening to my concerns and DH will be able to come with me to the party. I guess that means she is bouncing from wherever she went last night.

I'll still take the 2.75 before my final decision and give her +3 snack a little early. Depending on the number it'll be LC or MC.

@Dyana - thanks, I think Neko is feeling a lot better in blues than she did a couple of months ago, hence the adventures outside. I appreciate you taking the time with me when JD is keeping you so busy today.
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 +1 168 +2 255 - whew!

Nice to see Neko in those nice numbers! :-D Neko will do fine while you are at the party.
Liz
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 +1 168 +2 255 - whew!

I think you're right -- Neko may have gone a bit lower overnight and you were seeing the beginning of a bounce. I hope You come home to yellows, though!
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 +1 168 +2 255 - whew!

Hi Wendy,

It's good to see Neko in lower numbers He's looking good. Have a good time at the party!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 6/23 Neko AMPS 166 +1 168 +2 255 +3 234 +11 276

+3 234 +11 276
I was a little worried when I saw the +3 but it was only a drop of 20 points, so I gave her a tsp of MC, and left out a frozen MC popsicle of 2tsp. I also asked a friend to stop by around nadir and see how she was doing. The left out MC was gone. Based on Neko's behaviour, I got her to give 1tsp of LC and 1 tsp of MC. Apparently Neko "almost bit her finger off" in her eagerness to get the LC, that's when I suggested adding the MC. All in all, rather pleased to get home to yellow. I suspect she was quite a bit lower during the day based on how she was/is acting.

The party was successful, we had 15 people over, including my mothers 92 year old sister and 86 year old brother, and assorted cousins, one of whom came over from Victoria so a good family get together. The weather was great until the party started to break up and then the rains began again. Of the 12x18 inch chocolate cake, only 3 pieces came home with us, one will go to the friend who stopped by.

@Liz - it was so good to see Neko that low this morning, and part of me wanted to stay home and see how it went. I'm a bit of a numbers nerd.

@Sienne - a short lived bounce (I hope), she listened to you about the yellows.

@Melanie - Neko's numbers are looking much better of late. A record low PS for her. Once I knew a friend could stop by I relaxed and enjoyed the party.

@Helen - Thanks Helen, a successful party. I think she was quite pleased with how it turned out. At her age it's good to have happy occasions to get together with family.
 
So glad you got to enjoy the party, just make sure Neko doesn't get any of that remaining chocolate cake!!! :lol: on the pine needles on her belly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top