? 6/23 Muffin AMPS 405

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...g-25-not-50-input-needed.179620/#post-1987628

Hi
She is always a surprise and not always a good one but at least she is not low. We will do +2 +3 to see where she is headed. Do you think she is reacting to the HC food yesterday? Also any advice on how to get her to gain weight even though she goes so low sometimes we have to feed HC or MC and leave room in her stomach to do that? I feel like we are starving her. Would like to be able to let her eat until she walks away. I have zero carb Young Again on hand. Do you thin I should give her that rather than LC canned all the time? Obviously I need help. :eek:Thank you! :)
 
Why did you change the dose from .50 to .25 then right back up to .50? With TR
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
REDUCING THE DOSE:
The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus & Levemir ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended.
    Hope this helps with the dosing.
    On the days when her numbers are not dropping why can't you let her eat till she walks away?
    On the days with low numbers keep the same amount of food just make sure you give it to her with the cycle of the lowering of the numbers.
    Do you have honey, karo and or syrup on hand to drizzle on her LC , Mc or HC food?
    I think the AMPS is from dropping lower and also the dose up then down then back up so soon can affect the numbers.
    Lantus likes consistency :)
    I have no experience with zero carb young again. I feed only a raw diet.
 
Hi Deb
I thought the .25 was a one time due to her low numbers. I was going to shoot .25 but then concerned she was going to go too low during the night and we generally can't test during that time. We have karo on hand (honey made her throw up) and lc, mc, and hc available.
Are you recommending we keep her at .5 even if she is low? Or should we go back to .25 and stay there.
 
Unless Muffin is on a potential hypo cycle, you can try giving as much LC as she will eat - the exception being 2 hours before shooting. If you are only feeding at shot times, try giving a bit more LC as a snack 2 or 3 times during the cycle. Non-regulated diabetic cats cannot process food properly. That's why they are always hungry.
 
I see that when she went down to 21 she eared the reduction to .50 I would have kept her there till she earned the next reduction below 50 but you dropped her to .25 then back up to .50.
On cycle 6/22 AMPS I would have held at .50 she was in the safe zone numbers always above 50 on the human meter. It's ok I'd hold the .50 unless she goes below 50 unless you are concerned that the depot is filled and will release and drop the numbers below 50.
You mentioned .5 even if she is low what do you consider low?
Your doing great. Nice thing is if we lower and it fails you can always increase. Always better to keep Muffin safe.:)
I think she is bouncing from the time in the lower numbers.
Lantus likes consistency.

Hopefully others will be able to give advice too;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top