6/23 Jinx PMPS 203, +2 216, +4.5 210, travel question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147, +2 50

That's a bit of a dive Jinx. Slow it down some, big boy.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147, +2 50, +2.5 51

He finished eating his food and I gave him his HC around 2.25. So I'm hoping the LC and HC haven't taken full effect yet. Will check again in 30.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147, +2 50, +2.5 51, +3 47

+3 - Gave 1 tsp HC and 1 tsp LC and will check again in 30. Would normally be thrilled that he earned a reduction but I can't help but think the pukus last night was a factor.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147, +2 50, +2.5 51, +3 47, +3.5 43

+3.5 - gave 2tsp HC and 1tsp LC.

If this doesn't bring him up in 30, I'm going to give him a little bit of honey. Any advice on how much?
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147, +2 50, +2.5 51, +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 5

Jinx is getting pretty full so I'm going to give him a little bit of honey or karo if he dips below 50 again. Any advice on how much to give him? I plan on giving just a drop or two on some LC but please let me know if I should use a little more.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147, +2 50, +2.5 51, +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 5

Just a drop is good, Joe. But did you just try gravy first?

ECID....BUT one of the things we found was when we continued to give Gracie HC after she was started up, she shot up like a rocket. Since he's coming up, if you can get him to eat some LC, maybe he'll surf.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147, +2 50, +2.5 51, +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 5

tested 43 at +4.5 and is not eating. just rubbed a little honey on his gums. advice???
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43

just gave him .3 mL of karo with a syringe and it looks like he threw up all of the food i've given him today.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43

He threw up and THEN you gave him the karo, right?

Let's retest 20 mins after you gave him the .3ml of karo ok? And breathe....I'll keep checking in for your numbers.

Do you have any baby food? The Beech Nut chicken usually is a good one; it's about 7% carbs and has nothing in it but chicken. You don't want any baby foods with anything in them but the chicken ....so no garlic, onion, etc.

After the next test, it would be really good if we could get him to eat something like a bit of baby food with more karo in it.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43

i don't have any baby food. and i gave him the karo and THEN he threw up. giving some more now unless advised otherwise real soon.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43

If he threw up after the karo, maybe it's the karo he doesn't like. So it might be best to go back to honey in the event the karo is the problem. Also...do you have any plain vanilla ice cream? You can see if he'll lick that and keep it down. It has sugar in it.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +3 47, +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43

You're doing great Joe. Don't panic!

I know 40s seems really scary but as long as you are there with Jinx and monitoring him for any clinical signs of hypoglycemia, you are good.

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:

staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma

If honey or Karo is not sitting well with Jinx you can try pure maple syrup as well.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147..., +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 5

59 at +5.25. Will leave some food out for him. Hoping he gets his appetite back real soon.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147..., +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 5

Cathy's right.....the 40s are scary especially if he's not eating but one step at a time. Please let us know when you get the next test.

ETA: good job!! just saw he's up to 52. If you have anyone who can get some baby food for you, it would be good to get some food in him because his numbers will wobble just with honey/karo in him.

Also....before I forget, please reduce him tonight by .25u so his new dose will be 2.5u.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147..., +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 59

How is Jinx acting through all this? Are you more panicky and he's sitting on the couch wondering what all the fuss is about? :lol:

That's usually what Cini does when he throws me a 40.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147..., +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 59

Thanks, Cathy and Marje. I felt ok about bringing him up from 43. But 43 on top of not eating the gravy or his favorite food (tuna fish) in addition to the pukus was a bit much. I'm doing better now and will test in 30. He crawled into his cat house to get away from me but otherwise seems fine. Really hoping he eats soon though.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147..., +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 59

OK good.

Don't forget, close your eyes, tilt your head back slightly, extend your arms out to either side and repeat - "I'm a daisy in the breeze, I'm a daisy in the breeze." And gently sway back and forth and take a deep breath in between mantras. :-D

Extra points if you are a large burly man and you do it outside where the neighbors can see you. :lol: ;-)
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147..., +3.5 43, +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 59

Cathy, I actually tried it (indoors) but couldn't stop laughing. :lol: :lol: Which I really needed, so, thank-you!

If only my girlfriend (or my buddies) saw me doing that :-D :-D :-D

This message will self-destruct in 30 seconds. :-D
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 59, +5.7 68

Don't forget, close your eyes, tilt your head back slightly, extend your arms out to either side and repeat - "I'm a daisy in the breeze, I'm a daisy in the breeze." And gently sway back and forth and take a deep breath in between mantras.

Bahahahahahaha Cathy!! I think I'LL try that. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Glad he's up more, Joe. Now I can go run my errands ;-) But hopefully you can get some food in him. Please stay on top of his tests in case the sugar wears off. I know he doesn't like the tests but maybe hold his paws out to the side and murmur "he's a daisy in the breeze, he's a daisy in the breeze" or pretend you're Leonardo and he's Kate ;-)
39080.jpg
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +4 54, +4.5 43, +5.2 59, +5.7 68

Thanks, Marje! That made me laugh. :-D :lol: I'll definitely stay on top of his tests and will send a message once he eats.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx AMPS 147... +5.2 59, +5.7 68, +6.5 89, +7.5 84

Coming up nice and slow but still hasn't eaten yet. He's just passed out on the couch. Definitely a rough day for my little friend.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx PMPS 203

Well, it was a tumultuous day to say the least but Jinx did well; I'm drinking a beer now, and all is good. :-D

Got him off the Primal raw quail this morning and just fed him some Rad Cat raw turkey. I called around to several specialty pet food stores in the Denver area and that brand got the ravest reviews. Jinx seems to agree. Fingers and paws crossed his stomach does as well.

Had a question I wanted to pose to everyone. I know this must come up a lot but this is the first time I've planned on leaving town since Jinx was diagnosed. It's only for a day and a half this week and I have a pet-sitter who's also a vet tech that can check BG's, but it still makes me nervous. Is there a way to ensure that Jinx will be fine if I leave town for a couple days? I'm assuming reducing the dose or not shooting at all are options. But, I'm interested to hear your experiences as to whether your cats have quickly recovered from either of those, or if doing that could result in a major setback. Thanks, everybody. Hope you all have a great night.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx PMPS 203, travel question

One thought about this morning's pukus episode... I know we typically suggest giving 2 tsp of food when steering numbers. It may be too much food for Jinx especially if your feeding every 30 min. over several hours.

When I travel, I have a vet tech who comes in. Gabby is a diva. She won't permit anyone to test her except me. She get very scared with strangers. As a result, I reduce her dose for the time I'm traveling since my petsitter has to shoot blind. I would not skip shots but, like I said I reduce the dose. You can scroll through Gabby's SS to see what I've done. The times that I travel are in gray. You can also give your sitter a "no shoot" number in case Jinx is running low.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx PMPS 203, travel question

Both good suggestions from Sienne. I also wonder if the gravy bothers him like it does Gabby.....
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx PMPS 203, travel question

Gabby's GI issues with gravy don't include pukus. She gets diarrhea. However, it's more the issue of gluten. Gabby is sensitive to gluten. If you're feeding a raw diet, what kind of HC are you using? You may want to be sure to avoid beef as it's a common allergen for cats.
 
Re: 6/23 Jinx PMPS 203, travel question

Thanks for info on travel, Sienne. I'll take a look at Gabby's SS. From what I've seen with Jinx, I wouldn't feel comfortable giving a no-shoot number. His lowest BG ever was a 32. That was at +6 after a 364 pre-shot.

The gravy could have caused the pukus today. It is the first time I gave him 2tsp at once but he's thrown up days I'm not giving gravy as well. Today, I have a feeling it was because the first time I gave him karo, I shot it into his throat with a syringe and he threw up a couple minutes later. The second time, I aimed the syringe into the side of his mouth and he was fine.

If it starts up again, I''m going to start keeping a pukus journal and will try to pinpoint the reason/s. I'm really hoping it won't be an issue anymore, though. The days he didn't tolerate the Primal raw quail, he'd typically throw it up within a half hour of eating it. Even with very small portions. Knock on wood, he's holding down the new stuff going on 2.5 hrs now. As far as his HC, I'm giving him the gravy from FF Gravy Lover's chicken.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top