6/23 Henry's home from the hospital. AMPS +11 67

That 49 was on the nova



Yes, down 2 more points to 47 on the Nova. He just got off my lap and ate some more. How long does the Karo usually take to kick in once he swallows it? He's used to getting medicine in syringes, so the Karo goes down easy, but he's not thrilled about me rubbing his gums
You need to give him some more Karo. Either rub on gums or give him 5 mls. (2 lots of 2.5 mls ) we don’t want him to be sick.
What were the carbs you fed him?
Would appreciate you getting back to us quickly on questions please:)
 
You need to give him some more Karo. Either rub on gums or give him 5 mls. (2 lots of 2.5 mls ) we don’t want him to be sick.
What were the carbs you fed him?
Would appreciate you getting back to us quickly on questions please:)

Sorry on the delay, I'm trying to do a bit of work in between checks. I'll focus harder over here. Going to give more karo now. I only gave 1.5ml last time and that seemed to really help.

edit: we just ticked back up to 93 on the libre. I'll check the nova in 5 minutes.
 
Alright, we're on the upswing. Nova reading 62 at almost +2. I gave ~1ml Karo about 20 minutes ago. Just gave another 1ml. Hopefully that isn't too much.

edit: libre reading 76
That’s good. Thanks for the update John. It can be hard waiting on the other side of the world for an update on a dropping BG.;)
Always good to hear that honey or high carb has been given and then the updated BG.
 
So this is +2.5 isn’t it?
Has he eaten anything else? We need to make sure he is eating enough food.
Just feed him low carb food now, no higher carb food I think unless he drops again.
If you can get a +3 and that is OK we might be able to go to hourly.
Yep, that was +2.5. Libre just clocked in at 130. He's been going over and picking at his food periodically. So I should probably put the higher carb stuff away, huh?

edit: I'm also trying to teach myself to dose .1U should the need arise using @Wendy&Neko 's instructions.
 
@Wendy&Neko - I'm practicing dosing the .1U, if I just slowly push the plunger and wait for the drop to become big enough to fall by itself, I'm only getting about 2 drops per unit. Now this is using gatoraide. I'm guessing the insulin would have a different surface tension that may make the drops happen when their bigger or smaller? If I eyeball to where it seems .1U would be based on your instructions, there isn't enough liquid to form a full drop to drop on it's own. I can make it come out if I press firmly and quickly on the plunger tho. Does this all sound correct?

edit: I think I got it down. When I get it to where it seems .1U is, I'm able to push out a consistent amount onto the paper.
 
Last edited:
You think I'm good to relax a bit and just check every hour now? The libre will alert me if anything gets too high(250) or too low (70)
 
You think I'm good to relax a bit and just check every hour now? The libre will alert me if anything gets too high(250) or too low (70)
If you could get a +4 please John as that’s not far away, and then we will cut down on the testing.
How are you holding up? Sounds as if you have been having fun with the syringe!
 
If you could get a +4 please John as that’s not far away, and then we will cut down on the testing.
How are you holding up? Sounds as if you have been having fun with the syringe!
Not bad. a little tired. I'm just worried things are going to go south when I'm full exhausted. Yeah, I've never really played with a syringe before, it's so strange how 1U is only 2 drops of gatoraide. Just a tiny amount of liquid. OK +4 test on deck in a few minutes
 
Hi John, I'm going to bed as well. It's midnight for me. I guess you're getting some much needed sleep!

If you can, you want to get a +11 and post for dosing advice, if Henry hasn't bounced to the moon. You can move your shot time forward by 30 mins a day or 15 mins per cycle till you get to 9 or 10 am/pm.

Tag @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko for dosing advice.

Good luck! :-)
 
Hi John, I'm going to bed as well. It's midnight for me. I guess you're getting some much needed sleep!

If you can, you want to get a +11 and post for dosing advice, if Henry hasn't bounced to the moon. You can move your shot time forward by 30 mins a day or 15 mins per cycle till you get to 9 or 10 am/pm.

Tag @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko for dosing advice.

Good luck! :)

Yes, Luckily I was able to get a couple hours. My new libre alarm clock just woke me up. We're at 242 with the libre and rising quickly. @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko I'm wondering if some R might be in order right now to stave off going too far into the 300s? Also, not sure what dose of Lantus should be given in an hour and a half? I'm guessing 2 units? Should I try .1U of R right now to see if we can't control this bounce a little better? Thank you for all your help @Bandit's Mom
 
Is this 242 at +10?

I'm not sure I would give R and 2U. Depends on what the AMPS looks like. He has stayed lower for much longer last night/ this morning. Hopefully, Wendy will be around soon.
 
Ugh, so the nova is now showing 350! I think he really needs some R, plus we don't know if .1U is even going to be enough?

edit: huge discrepancy between the nova (350) and the libre (238) right now at +10.5
 
I know I shouldn't be doing this on my own, but since Henry is such a Ketone machine in the 300s, I'm going to wait another 12 minutes til +11 and give .1U of R if I haven't heard anything back.
 
I know I shouldn't be doing this on my own, but since Henry is such a Ketone machine in the 300s, I'm going to wait another 12 minutes til +11 and give .1U of R if I haven't heard anything back.
John i would really wait for some advice, i think @Wendy&Neko was very emphatic about how dangerous it can be if used without understanding the process. You are doing a great job and you had a lot of very good advice here, i believe waiting a bit more to hear from someone with experience in the domain would not do any damage.
 
I would hold off on the R until +12/shot time - typically we give the R at shot time along with the Levemir. Henry is bouncing!
Also we don't give R the same cycle as a dose increase because you don't know the impact of the R vs the increase - though clearly Henry is not in a typical situation and I'm not sure if 0.2 qualifies as an increase. It is very frustrating taking over from ER doctors when they've been dosing with R and compensating with IV dextrose. They use a big hammer vs our delicate management.

Hopefully Wendy will check in sometime soon, she's our R guru.

Also adding @Lisa & Oberon who uses R
 
Back
Top