6/23 Ebby AMPS 433 Dosing Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Member Since 2012
Just wanted to make sure I'm dosing this right. She is very bouncy, and I've been pretty much ignoring those high preshots in terms of dosing her. I have held her .50 dose because it seems when she comes off the bounce that her numbers are pretty good on .50.

So, should I keep the .50 for now? Thanks!!
 
I'm going to be a PITA and not answer your question until you answer mine: What's the chance of your getting at least a before bed test every night?
 
Ha ha Sienne, No, you're not a PITA.

First off, we've had company the past few days, so in general I didn't get in as much testing as I would have liked. Was just trying to test to make sure she was safe, but didn't get much other data.

I'll also explain my lack of testing at before bed time:

As far as the once before bed: I work evenings waiting tables. I am usually home by 10:30 pm, but with this job never know exactly what time I will get to leave work. I decided on a shot time of 11:30 am/11:30 pm. So basically this shot is right before bed, and a +1 or +2 is at 1:30 in the morning. Getting a nadir is about 4:30/5:30 am. The first week on Lantus, I set my alarm to check and test her which I felt was important, but as the days went on I was really needing my sleep. I'm trying to do testing when I can, but also trying to find balance in keeping myself healthy, and getting enough sleep.

So, just wanted to explain the situation a little. Had any of her PMPS been pretty low, I would have absolutely been setting the alarm to test, but most have been yellows, and reds. So, that being said, I can try and do whatever tests would yield more info, but honestly I don't know if getting a +1 or a +2 after a 400 pmps reading is worth disrupting our sleep, since I have a pretty good idea what the number will be. I hope this doesn't sound lazy or careless, as I will do anything for Ebby, but again, it's just about the balance.

So....
Sienne and Gabby said:
What's the chance of your getting at least a before bed test every night?
What time would the "before bed" test be? I can try and get whatever tests would yield good info, but I will probably need to set the alarm. Thanks Sienne!
 
I would say to stick with the dose for now. My cat is also a bouncy boy.
I would suggest to set an alarm and get a mid cycle test at night time.
I also go to bed soon after PMPS, and my cat is on Levemir so his onset is around +4. But, for instance J.D. started at 349 this morning and is at 53 right now, so finding out how low Ebbey goes on a dose is important to determine if the dose needs adjustment. KWIM?
 
Your schedule makes it tough. Dyana's point is just the issue that has me concerned. It's entirely possible for a kitty to be in the 400s at pre-shot, drop to the 40s at nadir and bounce back to the 40s by the next pre-shot. I tend to encourage people to get a +2 or a +3 because if that number is appreciably lower than your pre-shot, there's a very good chance that numbers are dropping. I don't want to suggest to anyone to be up until really late hours. I think you're going to need to get data when you can so you can figure out Ebby's patterns so at least you can make an educated guess as to how much testing is needed.

Many of us work and can't test all day long -- much like your PM situation. You just need to do your best so that you have the information you need to make dosing decisions. Not having some of that date makes offering suggestions about a dose change challenging because safety is always the paramount issue. It's also important that you sleep and stay healthy. It really is a balancing act! Unless you walk in the door, test feed, shoot and then crash, I'd get a test whenever you can before you turn in for the night.

Right now, I'm hesitant to suggest increasing the dose because of the 98 during the PM cycle on 6/21. It looks like Ebby has been seeing blues and greens at this dose and then bouncing. It may make the most sense to try to time dose increases around when you have a day or two off so you have a chance to see how a new dose is working.
 
Thanks Dyana and Sienne!

I will try to get more tests at night. I set my alarm for +6 last night, and she was at 326! So, she was either high all night or bounced from an earlier nadir. Almost positive this was not a fur shot.

I will try for a +4 tonight. Also wondering if cat's insulin needs can change pretty quick...like one day does fine on .5, then the next few days needs more than that. I was thinking of giving her shot a 1/2 hour early today, just because she has been in the 300's (probably 400's) now for all night. She keeps following me around like, "I'm ready for my shot!"

I have tomorrow off work and won't go back until Wednesday night. Then I have Fri, Sat., Sun. off. Maybe increase dose then if nothing changes?

Well, thanks so much for the thoughtful reply and all the advice.
 
I was going to go ahead with shot an hour early...then she tested 185 at +11. Wow, this cat keeps me guessing. :?

Just want to share: Ebby now jumps up to her testing spot, and purrs while being tested. When I first started with this, I couldn't even begin to understand how everyone was able to test their cats! Thanks for helping me learn this testing thing!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top