6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84 PMPS 96, +3 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73656

Sorry for the very late post, one of those days.

Well the daddy bean slept late, right through the alarm and so this is what he saw at 8:30 AM (AMPS 70), instead of the usual 5:30 AM, a shock :shock: for sure. If you have been following Daphne's higher AMPS since the start, and know I've been trying everything to get that one number to cooperate, it was a shock to see the 70 this morning for DH. He does mornings, and I do afternoons, and I also do one morning on the weekend for DH to sleep in. Anyway, while it was a shock for DH, it wasn't a surprise for me. Oh, and the auto feeder was set to open at her usual time at 5:30am. I know Daphne's pancreas is working a bit and we see all the time that the food brings her down. And I have guessed for a while that her higher AMPS is from the dawn effect http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/dawn-effect/AN01213
so it makes some sense that if we didn't test at 5:30 AM while the "dawn effect" is still in effect, (usually from 2AM to 8AM), that if we do the AMPS later, after the hormones settle back to normal her AMPS would be better, and so today I guess I proved my theory.

BUT unfortunately I am not a scientist, (that would be Marj and maybe some others on the board). I was the one who slept through science class :cool: :roll: . So whoever reads this can find it interesting, but thats about all I would take from it. ECID, and KTC, is what is important. I know Daphne very well now, and she is probably one of the more predictable kitties on the board (anti jinx), and she is also on a very low amount of insulin, 0.1, or one drop.

So we will be working to get back on schedule for the work week. I want to eventually get her on the 9am to 9pm schedule, since I think we will see better AMPSs, but I am a night person, and my illness is hindering my ability to change this.

The good thing is Daphne is happy, and her vet appt. yesterday went well. She had me on the deck for 3 hours today, of course, she earned that from her hard day yesterday. The vet called last night, and told me one thing about the blood work, and I can't figure out if she said, bin or bun, whichever it was, she said, Daphne improved a lot. It was 60 when she was dx in Nov. 2011, and now it was 28, I think it has to do with her liver.

OK, enough of this science stuff.

I hope everyone has a good weekend.

Sending vines to all the kitties and beans who need them today.
 
Re: 6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84

It was probably the BUN your vet was talking about. On my IDEXX lab work it says the normal range is 15 - 34.

What a nice range of numbers Daphne had today :mrgreen: You know we'll all be waiting for a picture of Daphne in her new du.

What does KTC mean?
 
Re: 6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84

Hi Barb, great report on Daphne. You're doing very good on the science part, as I'm totally lost, but what you're doing with the experiment is working. Daphne is doing amazing and just one drop, too! Have a nice weekend.
 
Re: 6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84

Very nice cycle. :mrgreen: I too would love to see a picture of Daphne's new do.
Liz
 
Re: 6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84

Thanks Dyana for the "bun" info., I thought it was, because I saw that on the old blood work, but it didn't sound like it on the phone. So I guess its more proof that the healthy numbers bring healthy kitties. Oh, I think I got that abbreviation wrong, is it KTK, know thy kitty?

Thanks Ann, I try anyway. Daphne has always, from the start, been an easy kitty, (anti-jinx), so I can't take too much credit.
 
Re: 6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84

Oh, sorry Liz, I guess the message crossed in the air. Well, I promised Daphne I wouldn't take her picture, because I don't think she thinks it fits her, but maybe I can sneak it in while she's sleeping. :lol:
 
Re: 6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84 PMPS 96

Solid greens today...very, very nice!!! Very interesting that her AMPS was much lower with the late shot...definitely something to ponder!!

Have a great night...enjoy this beautiful weather!!
 
Re: 6/23 Daphne AMPS 70, +1 68, +6 98, +9 84 PMPS 96

Hi Barb,
It will be interesting to see if your theory pans out. Daphne looks super today. I don't think you should try to take her picture. She'll know! Kitties know everything.

Thanks for visiting us this evening. I actually don't think the quiche was vegan, although if it had eggs they didn't really taste like eggs--more like custard--so maybe it was vegan. We are mostly vegetarian. Mainly I try to eat ethically.

Enjoy the evening. I gather that your weather has cooled down a bit. Ours is very comfortable (around 60 now--at 8:45 p.m.)

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks Melissa, same to you.

Thanks Libby, felt like we haven't seen a mostly green day in a while, but looking back its not that long.

Hi Amy, yes I almost know now that its that dawn effect with Daph, and small meals keep her BGs lower too. Now, tomorrow could all be so very different, :roll: but I hope not. Enjoy the weather too,... I loved today, it was pretty perfect!

Mainly I try to eat ethically.
So do we Ella, and yes, the weather is so much better. I can take these 80's with lower humidity every day of the year!
 
Gorgeous day for Daphne!!! And I say....science or not...if it works, do it!!

It's probably the BUN....it's a number that indicates whether kitty might be dehydrated but it can also be higher than normal due to a high protein diet.

Have a great night!!! You can come listen to the caterwauling at my house anytime.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top