6/23 charlie amps 333 +5 373

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. I can't give dosing advice but it looks like Julie suggested you give this 6 cycles and you are at three. A cycle is 12 hours. Lantus is a depo drug and needs time to build up. Good luck. I hope the numbers start to come down for you.
 
Since he had been on 4 units of Vetsulin before, I know it's been discussed that he may need a higher dose. I count this morning as cycle 4 for Charlie on 2.25 (6/21 PM, 6/22 AM & PM, 6/23 AM )

In the past, we've had cats that stayed high like Charlie and have recommended .25 increases as often as every 4 cycles, but that is VERY aggressive ...Now you do test more than enough, but those couple of blue numbers are what makes us stop and think...IF those were real numbers and he's a really bouncy kitty, increasing at the same time that he may "break" a bounce could send him too low, which just sets him up for another bounce.

Also, the protocol is already an aggressive approach, and it says to hold each dose for at least 6 cycles..and we have seen cats that needed those extra couple of cycles before the numbers changed.

Hopefully, by bumping your condo, we'll get some more opinions on what might be suggested as the best thing to do with Charlie....I know you have to be concerned with all those high numbers!

Have you had any luck checking for ketones yet? I know you were saying you hadn't been able to earlier. Here are some Urine catching tips that might help!
 
I would - here's the part of the TR protocol that would apply to Charlie right now:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

He's getting to around 200 in between the bouncing - so i'd give the 6 cycles on this dose before increasing.
 
Max is impossible to get in the act. I have managed a couple of times to put plastic over the litter and get enough to sample. I bought gravel but haven't tried it yet. THe plastic was how I determined he had diabetes and then confirmed it the next day with a vet visit. I'm envious of those that can put a ladle under their cats and get them to pee.
 
I always thought the "Attach a film canister or container to a long pole" sounded hilarious!!

I can just picture me, standing around the corner so the cat doesn't see me with my long pole, trying to get a film canister in "just the right place", while not
A. hitting the cat in the head with the pole or the canister
B. having the cat decide the pole/canister combo is a great toy
C. chasing cat around the room with pole trying to get her back into the litter box

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
hahahaa i've never heard of the film canister idea!

i made a temporary litter box by sliding a box lid inside a large plastic bag, then put in lentils. you can use gravel or aquarium gravel too. then when i fed punkin, i shut him in the laundry room with me and the box and waited. the lentils/gravel doesn't absorb urine, so you can just tip the box to get some to test. easy and not much stalking involved. ;-)
 
Darin,

it looks like everything from yesterday afternoon til now has disappeared from the board. I just looked at Charlie's ss, though, and think it would be a good idea to increase his dose tonight by 0.25u. He's had 6 cycles at his current dose and nadirs are in the 200's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top