6/23 Cain PMPS 70; +2 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

AMPS is 75
+2.79 is 73

Late condo today. I've been busy this morning. Never fun to go feed the cats and while half asleep, realize that there is a huge trail of ants running around the kitchen sink. ohmygod_smile I have an idea of blocking them from our house, providing it doesn't rain anytime soon. Considering my county is now under a burn ban due to drought, I don't think we're going to have an issue with that. It doesn't stop any colonies that have established themselves inside but I might be able to slow down the ones coming in from outside. But I need more material. Basically, the only thing I have found that slows these suckers down is baby powder. I think they suffocate on it or something. Anytime I've put it on the concrete slab foundation outside, they don't come in that entry way anymore.

So right now, three sides of the foundation has powder on it. (It's a small house.) The most outdoor populated side of it is still uncovered. I ran out. And we found out that last night these suckers turn their nose up at vinegar. It stops them for a whole three minutes or so. These have to be crazy ants. Nothing is really working on them to stop them long. They ignored the baits. Raid will kill them but only for so long. So I'm trying this method. Can't hurt really. If it doesn't work, I'll take a hose to the foundation and clean it off.

And that's your ant information condo for today. :lol:

Off to get myself a treat. I'm tired of dealing with ants and I'm going to be mowing (hopefully) later. Maybe I can locate their nest somewhere. With the mower. :twisted:
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73

Hi Jennifer--

those darn, darn, darn ants!!! I inherited a strawberry pot filled with hens & chicks, but it's ant-ridden. I sprayed the shite out of them with a bug killer that doesn't harm plants (gosh I hope not!!!)

Wonderful to continue to see Cain's lovely numbers :mrgreen:

Have a wonderful week :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73

Hi Jennifer!
Wow Cain surfs perfectly all the time, I'm so jealous.

I'm not sure if you already tried or someone else suggested, but spraying alcohol where ants trail is effective, and also I've heard rubber bands work too as they don't like the smell of rubber.
And if you find their nest or bunch of them together, pouring hot water or bleach is effective!
Good luck!!!
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73; +7.57 69

+7.57 69

The lawn is mowed! And Dad brought home some more baby powder so I now have a complete ring around the house on the top facing part of the slab. Next up, the ground around the edge of the foundation if this stops them enough. Dad also brought home some bait that said would work on crazy ants. His coworker is giving him something tomorrow to help with them. Dad said that he thinks their nest is right near the front door. Convenient for them, the ants.

@Kat - Hopefully that spray worked and it didn't affect the plants. Cain's continuing to do well on this dose. Have a good week! :D

@Mariko - It took a while to get to here... well it seems like a while with all the lack of sleep but over two months now. He's thrown me a few loops and sudden "oh that's not a good number" every so often. He seems to like these lower doses now. Here's hoping. Ooh we haven't tried alcohol or rubber bands yet. I keep reading vinegar works but not with these ants. Once I find their nest, I'm going to have a pot of water on the stove asap. :D I read cinnamon might work, but these ants probably not. But if we get a regular ant invasion I know all sorts of stuff to try on them!
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73; +7.57 69

Hi Jennifer,

Hope you got your treat! You deserve it ~ mowing and fighting ants :-D

I can't stand ants. They are the hardest to get rid of - hope you find the nest and destroy it!!
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73; +7.57 69

Cain is looking great as ever. This is now 14 cycles or 7 days at this dose. :cool:

Ick on the ants. :evil: We get carpenter ants here. Not so much inside the house but inside the walls. Yuck!
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73; +7.57 69

Very super on the numbers.

I think with ants, you have to find the nest. Last week we had them crawling up a pole outside and when our pest guy followed the line of ants, the nest was clear across the yard. He baited it...ants gone.

That's probably why you aren't having any luck...you have to find the nest.
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73; +7.57 69

Hi Jennifer. This is the most beautiful ss in all the land. You're such a good kitty Cain.
Have a good night!
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73; +7.57 69

@Wendy - Hmm, does this mean he should try a trial?

@Marje - Yeah I'm hoping to find the nest soon. At best I can barrier off the house (hopefully) until we can find them. They're not being very obvious of where their nest is though. But with the lawn mowed a bit, maybe I can find it now.

@Jane - Yup! I got my treat of chocolate frozen yogurt. So delicious. :D

@Doreen - Aww thanks. :D He's doing most of the hardwork. Though he definitely gets more sleep than I do. Have a night!
 
Re: 6/23 Cain AMPS 75; +2.79 73; +7.57 69

Let's see what the wise ones say tomorrow. He's definitely getting close.

Chocolate frozen yoghurt - yumm!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top