6/23 Boo +10 132, +11 81,+12 73, +12.75 68, +13.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Thought you could use this: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

I'm better now that she doesn't look like she's about to keel over.

So, while i have a relatively quiet moment:

1. Is there somewhere i can study up on stalling? I don't know that that is.

2. If stalling is decided to be preferable over skipping a shot, do I post something in particular in the Subject line to have someone work me through it?

3. I am 10 minutes away from +12. Should I retest at that time?

I am loaded up with strips and lancets. My nerves are the only thing in short supply.
:smile:
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

that's okay, that is what we are here for- to err is human. i've been guilty of that too.

i also have a cat who was really addicted to dry and free feed, it took us a good 2 weeks to get his body into a habit of timed meals and wet food, it's a challenge, and there were nights we skipped shots at first - we also didn't have this group looking out for us helping us get through the how to's.

it took us about 6 weeks to get here, so think of it this way- you are so far ahead of where i was when i was first dx because you have already started asking for help, reaching out for advice and getting info.

you are doing good so far.

i agree it's not a good idea to shoot tonight. that does mean you will probably (but each cat is different) see some higher numbers later tonight and tomorrow morning.

however it's still a good idea to grab that +12 and (marjie chime in) put food down then so she can start getting accustomed to a timed feeding schedule.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

If you look in my signature block it has a link to "Dealing With Low Preshots". That will help.

In the future, if you get a +11 that makes you uncomfy, then post and ask for help. If you get what you think will be your PS but it's too low, then post:

+12 61 STALLING

That will usually get someone's attention to jump in and help you. I am monitoring you tonight so it's ok...you don't need to do that and you can take the "help?" out of your subject line when you have time. All is good...you're doing great.

Yes, please do a +12 and just post it. I'll watch for it and Mo is around, too.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

YESTERDAY
AMPS 201
1 Unit Lantus
+1 202
+2 176
+3 262
+5 374
+10 370
+12 (PMPS) 334
2 Units (a little shy of, actually)
+5 328

TODAY
+12AMPS 315
2 Units

+4 220
+10 132
+11 81
+11.25 69

I just thought I would copy your numbers here, since this condo has gone on to a second page. I was having trouble jumping back and forth. ;-)

I would test again at +12 and see where she is. Most likely you won't be shooting tonight, but you do want to be sure she has turned around and stops dropping.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

stalling in the headline-

yes- +12/+13 etc.. number Stalling or Stall

that grabs attention.

Read the how to handle low preshot sticky in terms of what the general protocol is for stalling:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46005

but do heed libby's advice because of the dry food, you'll need to make some numbers adjustments. figure out what that "low" preshot will be since it won't be standard for you. wet does give more control than dry, we just need to find a way to make some adjustments to account for the dry and options on how to help you steer boo's numbers.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81

Thank you. I have changed my subject box.... Going to take the +12 now.

BB in a minute.
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

+12 73

that's up from 64 (45 minutes ago)

Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

this could be some of the food talking, but dry takes a little longer to kick.

i would take this opportunity to stall, don't feed, don't shoot, and see where the #s go. also see what the others say too.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

My feeling is that is possibly a syrup influenced number; I'm not sure if the dry food has had a chance to kick in but this number is still way too low for you to shoot.

Carla....she might come up within the two hours but I think we believe she'll have to be much higher for you to shoot. You have a couple options:

1. continue to poke her to see if she will come up enough (alot) for you to shoot a non-food influenced number OR

2. decide now to skip the shot and just check her in an hour to make sure she continues to rise and doesn't come back down.

How do you feel about it?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

carla, i also just pm'd you with some links on spreadsheet help.

in the notes section it would be awesome and a half if you could put what time dry food was put down how much etc.. and same thing with karo

it will help us get a better idea of when numbers are being influenced by food since the numbers on dry are a little different.

i hope the posts i sent you help!
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Of course my gut instinct is to want to skip the shot because I'm scared. But I want to do what's right for her ultimately.

Do I have to decide what to do right now, or can I test again in an hour and decide then?

I don't want to mess up what her body is trying to do, but I also don't want to shoot her and have another hypo night that will take another 72 hours to recover from.

My vet just called and said skip the shot, so I'll have some explaining to do if I don't, but I can handle that.

What do you think is in the best interest of BOO?

(and thank you for the hugs)

Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

She is asleep in the floor and barely lifts her head when I pet her.

I hate this.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

mococo said:
carla, i also just pm'd you with some links on spreadsheet help.

in the notes section it would be awesome and a half if you could put what time dry food was put down how much etc.. and same thing with karo

it will help us get a better idea of when numbers are being influenced by food since the numbers on dry are a little different.

i hope the posts i sent you help!

Mo, thank you so much.. Very kind of you... when i look at the pm, the links at the bottom aren't actually links to click on. Am I doing something wrong?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Carla: sweetie...this is your kitty, not your vet's :-D :-D You have to do what you feel is best; you hold the syringe. I know that is really hard when you like your vet but you are your kitty's advocate. I'm not saying you should stall and possibly shoot. I'm saying that you make the decision you are comfy with; you don't have to justify it to your vet. Hard step to make but most of us had to make it at some time.

Skipping a shot is not the end of the world and it won't be "bad" for her. It would have the same result as if you gave a fur shot.....which we all have done ;-) ;-)

Yes, her numbers will go up but they'll come back down. I can't predict what she'll do tonight. ...oh I wish I had that crystal ball for my girl :lol: :lol: :lol: One would think if she rises to 150-200 on her own in time for you to shoot, that she might keep rising. But we don't know that. And if you are worried about another hypo, you should absolutely not shoot. She's not anywhere near a number you can shoot right now.

By all means, we can wait and you can retest...I will be here for you and esp if you decide to shoot a good, rising number that's much higher. So you just let me know what you are most comfortable with.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

marjie gave you two really great options that are in line with the protocol.

take a deep breath, look out the window, pull away from this for a second- you need to decide what you are most comfortable with.

your cat has also had a looong day, lots of testing, this is new to her too- i know after even a full curve day, d'art would get sick of me and just give me either a quintessential "whatever" disinterest or put up a fight to everything.

you can always grab a 12.50 see where things are going and decide what you would like to do from there- if she's headed up, if it's the same, etc... you are in control of this situation, you'll be fine.

more deep breaths.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Looking at her now, I can't imagine I'll get to a shootable number tonight. We are now at +12.5.

If you guys are going to be around for a bit, I will test as many times as would be helpful to determine if she's climbing quickly.

I have no experience with this stuff, obviously. But I cannot imagine shooting her tonight. And that's me... not my vet... I promise. ;-)

Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

I have no experience with this stuff, obviously

That's why we are here. We have an agreement in LL that if you help someone, especially if you help them with a low PS, then you stay with them until the kitty is up safely no matter how late it gets. So when I responded to you...I committed myself to stay with you until you decided what you want to do.

Mo is right...step back, take a breather. Go with your gut. I am here for you whichever you decide. Honestly, I would be very surprised if she comes up enough for you to shoot at any reasonable time tonight that doesn't throw you way off. But if you want to keep monitoring just to see, I'm hangin' with you!!
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Just tested her
+12.75 she is back down to 68
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

I do not want to shoot her tonight.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

There you go ...I think she is making the decision for you. At any time that you decide you no longer want to keep stalling, then feed her. Keep checking her hourly to make sure she is coming up. I'm still around all night....still checking in.

eta: she is essentially at the same number...she's surfing. But what she isn't doing is going up.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

i think marjie hit it on the head earlier, the 81 was the karo talking, now we are seeing it walking away.

which is useful information, it also lets you know that the dry hasn't kicked in yet.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Carla: we cross posted so I just saw that you don't want to shoot her. I'm glad you are going with your gut so that you are comfortable.

So you can feed her but please retest in an hour and post so we know she's coming up. Her next number will be +13, and each time you test, just add the hours up since your last shot. So by tomorrow morning, you'll be at +24 ALTHOUGH I recommend you post at +23 at the latest and ask for dosing advice.

Again...I'll keep checking in just in case she goes lower and you get concerned. Just keep posting her numbers. You are doing wonderful!!

Thanks Mo for helping out!!! It's always great to have a team.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

I think skipping sounds just fine. Don't worry, you won't lose much progress, if any. I was sick for quite a while and I forgot shots all the time. Drew up the insulin, set the filled syringe on the counter while I got food ready, and completely forgot to shoot the insulin into the cat. Jazzy survived just fine, so I know Boo will be ok.

By the way, this indicates that even 2 units is probably too high a dose for Boo right now. What do you think about trying 1.5 units tomorrow? You could even go with 1 unit if you want.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

THANK YOU BOTH.

Please tell me that one day this will not be so hard.

I put the food down and she ate 2 little Pounce treats and a couple of kibbles of dry food. Then she parked it at the water and drank a LOT. Same thing she did after her low numbers Tuesday night.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

carla- you did good, it will get better, please please please step away from the computer between testing tonight (but still keep everyone updated!). take some time for yourself to decompress, you have earned it, you need it. it will keep you sane in the long run.

marjie- paying it forward for all those time you guys guided me though low numbers with mr. i think i'll surf low for an hour an a half pre shot then bottom out for funsies. my shortie knows how to get low ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Carla: it will get easier.....you will get more comfy with it. You had a big scare but you did great and Boo is fine. All is good!!!
My Gracie loves to do what Boo did tonight....she's given me more 50s PSs!!! You learn how to handle it. Before you know it, you'll be helping others. I promise ;-)

Mo: you are too funny! I'm so glad D'Art is doing well.

Carla...you are not alone.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Since I STILL am struggling with the spreadsheet, I'm sorry that things are so wonky with my posting numbers. Just so we are all on the same page:

TODAY:
AMPS 315
+4 280
+10 132 with erratic behavior
+11 81 ... administered Karo after this reading
+11.25 64.... administered a little more Karo and she ate a small amount of dry
+12 73
+12.5 68... put food bowls down after this number and she ate a small amount

Carla

Elementary question: If 7 p.m. is +11, would 7:15 p.m. be +7:15 or +7.25?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

If +11 is 7 pm, then 7:15 would be +11.25.

What exact problems are you having with your SS? I got one up this week for Garfunkel. I can walk you through it.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

carla:
if 7pm is +11
7:15 is +11.25



and marjie- humor is mandatory in fd- otherwise we would all shrivel up and become horrible sour biddies. and i wouldn't talk to any of you :P

edit- wouldn't! see i just cant' imagine that!

and we cross posted the numbers... sigh! i am going to sign off for the night and go entertain the nosy noisy frenchman who keeps climbing on the desk and knocking over my headshots.

carla- you did great tonight

you too marjie!
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Marjorie and Gracie said:
If +11 is 7 pm, then 7:15 would be +11.25.

What exact problems are you having with your SS? I got one up this week for Garfunkel. I can walk you through it.
I keep getting error messages when I try to download one, but I think Mo has posted a solution.

Will try again!

Update on Boo.... now she is up on the counter meowing at me to beat the band. It is going from one extreme to the other on behavior. I put out some tuna since she wasn't interested in the dry food and she is eating some now.

I last tested at +12.75. It is soon to be +13.5. She is fairly alert and trying to lick the syrup off her beard.

Does anyone have a preference on when I should test her again? Since she is up walking around and has eaten a little dry and a little tuna, it's hard for me to think her numbers are actually going to go DOWN, but what the heck do I know?!!! :smile:

Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Carla: if you tested at +12.75, I'd just wait and test at +14 to get you back on a regular schedule. If she's coming up then, I'd give her a break of a couple hours.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo +10 132, +11 81,+12 73, +13.5 83

Ok... so +13.5 83

AND, I think I've correrctly downloaded the SS. (thank you mo!)

She is now eating MORE tuna (the ONLY wet food I can get her to even look at).

CArla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

Ha! Sorry Marje... I got antsy! nailbite_smile

I will now wait and give her a break for sure. Thank you!
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

You are very welcome. Remember...without insulin, she can't hypo and the longer you get away from the shot, the more likely her numbers will stay stable or go up (unless she's like Garfunkel :lol: :lol:).

I'll check in in a couple hours....the break will do you both good. She's got a great surf going now.

GOOD JOB!!! ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81,+12 73

This is a test to see if I got my SS on here successfully.
Fingers Crossed.
 
Great job by all of you ladies tonight! Been watching and keeping out of the way. Carla, the SS looks just fine. Get some sleep now. Boo will be fine. She's "surfing" and she won't hypo because she didn't have a shot tonight.

Ella & Rusty
 
well, well, well... looks like some kitty's dose is still a bit too much!

libby suggested no shot tonight and dropping the dose to 1unit or 1.5 units in the morning. i'm leaning towards reducing to 1u twice a day only because it's easier to work up the dosing scale (if necessary) than it is to come down the scale rapidly. another "special" consideration we have with boo is her refusal to convert to a wet low carb food. we don't have the usual tools available to us to bring up low numbers quickly when a kitty is eating dry food. i think dropping the dose to 1u bid is a safer option.

what do you think?



ps - NICE spreadsheet! :mrgreen:
 
Thank you, Ella.... I may try to curl up for a few hours with my sweet Boo (who is eating... again). She is looking better and better.

You all are amazing.
Thank you so much!

xo
Carla
 
Ah, thank you Sienne. I did miss Jill's post!

Jill, I would love nothing more than going back to 1 unit. Fortunately I will be around tomorrow night and throughout the weekend to help get this leveled out.

But I would feel MUCH better about actually going to work tomorrow morning giving her 1 rather than 2 units.

Would you say a shootable number at +0 would be 200 or above?

EDITED TO ADD: And would this be an ok time to pull my AMPS time back a tad? It was set at 8:30 on Wednesday after her hypo night. I usually leave for work at 8 a.m. on Weekdays. Would tomorrow be an ok time so move my AMPS time back 30 minutes to 8:00 a.m. or even earlier? Ideally I would like to shoot at 5:30 a.m. and p.m.
 
cmcd65 said:
Ah, thank you Sienne. I did miss Jill's post!

Jill, I would love nothing more than going back to 1 unit. Fortunately I will be around tomorrow night and throughout the weekend to help get this leveled out.

But I would feel MUCH better about actually going to work tomorrow morning giving her 1 rather than 2 units.

Would you say a shootable number at +0 would be 200 or above?

what's your morning schedule like? do you have a couple hours between the time you shoot and the time you leave the house?
 
Jill, I was adding that on to the end of my last post. You beat me to it!

On a normal day, I would leave the house at 8:00 a.m. Optimally, I would love to shoot at 5:30 a.m. and p.m. but that got thrown off when I shot her late after her hypo night.

Would this be an ok time to move her AM shot back a little since we skipped tonight's shot?

Carla
 
since you're skipping the shot tonight you can move her shot back to 5:30am tomorrow morning. how's that for getting back on schedule in a hurry? :mrgreen:

i think you would be fine to shoot 1u if boo's preshot number is 180 or over at shot time. my guess is she'll bounce from hitting green and low numbers in the morning will not be an issue.

"if" boo's morning number is less than 180, you can retest her in 30 minutes to see if she's rising.
 
hey Carla, just giving you a (((((hug)))))....you sure have been thru the ringer in a short period of time.
I think I can promise....it will get easier...it will get better.
Still keeping an eye on you.
Lori
and tomtom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top