6/23 Boo +10 132, +11 81,+12 73, +12.75 68, +13.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Everyone. I'm going to make it my mission to understand and make my first spreadsheet today (while working :o)

Boo had a consistently high night, which I'm attributing to the bounce/shed from her hypo night Tuesday. She started using piddle pads outside the box which is always an indication to me that her numbers are high. But I decided (and my vet graciously agreed with me) that we should keep her at 2 units at least through today and tonight so that the bounce can level out.

I actually slept last night (first time since Tuesday afternoon) so I didn't test as often, but here's a summary of what I have:

** Reminder that Boo is still on dry food... Purina DM **
YESTERDAY
AMPS 201
1 Unit Lantus
+1 202
+2 176
+3 262
+5 374
+10 370
+12 (PMPS) 334
2 Units (a little shy of, actually)
+5 328

TODAY
+12AMPS 315
2 Units

I will go home at lunch and test (around +3/4), and then again after work (around +9).

On a more positive note, I was so stressed out that I dropped 7 pounds in 2 days! :lol:

More later, and I welcome anyone's suggestions and advice.

Thanks from the newly baptized Newby.
Carla (and Boo)
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Good morning Carla! You have done so great this week with Boo. Sounds like you are becoming a habitual tester! :lol:

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

All those tests are looking great, Carla! Boo is so lucky to have you in charge of things!

I'm glad you finally got some rest last night. You really need to take care of yourself, too - don't forget that! We all understand the stress, and we're here to help make it all easier for you.

Have a wonderful day!

Amy
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Good Morning, Melissa, and thank you! I hate that sweet Boo's ears had to take a beating for me to learn under such stressful conditions, but she jumped right up on the table this morning and let me test her. She growled before the stick, but it was over quickly and then she got to play with Christmas ribbon. :smile: I am LONGING for the day that I can get her completely switched over to canned food and hopefully cut the insulin WAY back or out completely. Fingers crossed.

Hope you are having a great day!

Carla
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Thank you, Amy. I think my situation was kind of extreme (I hope so, anyway)... finding out that Boo was hypo on the first night of testing sort of threw us both into something we knew nothing about. I can't stress enough how grateful I am for this Forum and all the help/encouragement/comfort I received and continue to receive here.

Hope you are having a great morning. My best friend lives in NJ and I go there 3-4 times a year. I'm a big fan of that area.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Oh. I guess you didn't hear that your hypo kit should include chocolate. I guess someone forgot to tell you about that. (The bean needs a reward comparable to the HC you give your kitty! Chocolate, ice cream, wine -- whatever works. We don't want you wasting away.)
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Sienne and Gabby said:
We don't want you wasting away.)

HA! I think I have enough "stored" to last me a while!!! I realized I hadn't had anything but coffee about mid day yesterday when my hands were shaking so bad I had trouble holding the tester still enough to suck up the bubble of blood from Boo's ear. Funny, I was so focused on what SHE was eating that I completely forgot about my own food! NOT like me!! ;-)

But, Sienne, I think I might have to remember the choco treat for myself next time!!!
xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
I second what Sienne said. :) Beautiful #s!

Thank you Angela. I hate that they are high for so long, but I'm scared to DEATH about increasing her too quickly, which is what sent her into Hypoland initially. Thank you for taking time to look at them and giving me some affirmation.

Hope all's well with you today!!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

This just in.... called my vet and as of late May (when she was diagnosed with diabetes) she tested negative for Ketones.

Good to know......... but will start testing her anyway.

xoox
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Hi Carla.
You are doing a terrific job; except for forgetting the chocolate. So I ate some for you. :lol:

The numbers in the 300s aren't too bad, nothing scary. I'm sure you will get Boo down into lower territory soon, but not too fast.
You guys have already been there and it was a little too exciting, to say the least.

Just wanted to say welcome to FDMB and hi, from the other side of the Volunteer state. :-D
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Thanks, CD. That sure is a cutie in your picture. And I appreciate you covering my chocolate mistake. I'm still learning! :lol:

Hope you guys are enjoying some mild(er) temps this week like Memphis is!!
xo
Carla (and Boo)
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Welcome & Great job! :YMHUG:

Great #s for still being on the "kitty crack". You'll see even greater ones (usually on much less insulin) when you
get the switch to wet food done :smile:
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Thank you, Bruce. That is what I am counting on!!! She's going to be a difficult case, but I'm compiling my arsenal of helpful tips and tricks from you guys. My FortiFlora arrived in the mail about 10 minutes ago. Look out, Boo, your crack days are numbered! ;-)

I'm so glad I have the testing down now so I can make the switch over nice and smooth (fingers crossed).

Hope you are having a great day!!!
xoxoxox
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Good morning, Carla and Boo!

Not a bad start for Boo this morning, given the week she's had!! Hopefully the Fortiflora will be a success for you! Be sure to pick up some low carb treats as well. Willie's newest addiction is bonito/tuna fish flakes. talk about kitty crack!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

You're doing great! But you definitely need chocolate for those low numbers... :lol: :lol: :lol: I really need to lose weight for this wedding I'm in just after July 4th. Maybe we should trade cats for a week?? :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315

Hi Carla and Boo too!!

I just wanted to stop by and say HI *waving to you and Boo* and welcome to lantus land!

Great job the other night, i was watching what was happening, i just didn't want to say anything since you already had so much on your plate at the moment. It gets easier, i promise.....pretty soon you'll be an old pro and won't soil your pants when you see a lower number! :lol:

Good luck on the switch to wet, i haven't tried fortiflora but heard great things about it. Leo thankfully took the switch to wet like a champ and hasn't looked back since. He's a big time FF addict now :-D

Anyway, have a great day.
PS i lost about 10 lbs the first few weeks after Leo was diagnosed as well....you aren't the only one.
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315, +4 280

Thanks Tracy. I have high hopes for the fortiflora!!! I'll experiment with it tonight. I have 3 cats so it's hard to tell who has eaten what if I just leave something out and go to work.

JUST GOT HOME FOR LUNCH and tested Boo. +4 is 280. I was pretty psyched about that. She basically stayed in the 300's yesterday. Really trying to visualize and understnad the bounce and the long term qualities off Lantus. I know the number is still high, but I'm glad we didn't go over 2 units this morning.

Opnions??

Carla

P.S. When i first looked at the monitor, it was upside down and for a second I thought it read 082. I gotta tell you, i nearly panicked! :o
 
Re: 6/23 BOO AMPS 315, +4 280

Jill, I am bumping this up in hopes that you will see it!
xoxoxox
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280

Sorry Marje!!! I was doing 8 things at once and for some reason had in my mind Jill has posted that!!!!

I probably shouldn't operate heavy machinery today. ;-)
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280

P.S. When i first looked at the monitor, it was upside down and for a second I thought it read 082. I gotta tell you, i nearly panicked!

I did this once when the meter read 85. It was upside down and I thought it said 28. I seriously almost hyperventilated!!! Then I felt ridiculous!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

You're doing so well. Boo's numbers are looking really fantastic. The fact he's on dry food still, well, these numbers are REALLy looking good!! I can't wait until you do the switch to wet because then the fun begins!!! I don't know if anyone has mentioned another great flavor enhancer to sprinkle on her food...freeze-dried salmon. It comes in a little tub and you can get it at PetSmart. Champ would eat a bowl of sand if it had freeze-dried salmon sprinkled on it. He's almost done himself an injury trying to open the tub by himself with his teeth!!! :lol: :lol: They come in good size pieces that you can just crumble over his food. I don't know how much Fortiflora is, but the tub costs about $7 and it lasts a long time. Plus you can give it to him for treats after his pokies.

btw...you know you're going to be okay when you gain back a couple of pounds!!! I had lost so much weight in such a small amount of time (loved my Weight Watcher's weigh-ins!!). The day I weighed in and had gained three pounds back, I knew I was over the FD hump!! :lol:

I hope you're having a really terrific day!!!
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280

Ha! Patty, I didn't think I would ever eat again Tuesday night. I felt like I used to feel in college when I stayed up all night studying and eating Nodoze.

HOWEVER, I must be getting better because on the way back from testing Boo at lunch, I tore into a Subway turkey sandwich like a Cave(wo)man.

It was so nice to be greeted at the door by Boo who looked alert and normal... and no pee was on the piddle pad. Funny how good they feel and look when the numbers start behaving. I know they are not where they need to be YET, but it's way better than a 550 or a 34. :!:

If she gets off insulin altogether, I may have to buy bigger clothes!! tee hee!
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132 Normal?!!

Ok, so I'm still fighting with the spreadsheet... I'm working on it, I promise.

Today, Boo's numbers confuse me!!

Summary of Today:
AMPS 315
+4 280
+10 132

YIKES! I have to give her a shot in 2 hours and I don't want to give her too much!!!!

And she is acting a bit strangely right now. She is not a very vocal cat, and she meowed at me from the moment I got in the door, purring a LOT and following me all around the house. Could this possibly be that 132 is a GOOD number and I just don't recognize a good mood on this normally grumpy cat? Or could something horrible have happened with her numbers between hours 4 and 10 when I was at work??

nailbite_smile
Carla (Boo)
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132 Normal?!!

Her behavior is a little weird, I have to say. i'm not liking this.

She is a tiny bit stumbly and quite agressive... not in a mean way... just like she has a little too much adrenaline. She did not eat the food I put in her bowl, which is odd and she keeps going back under the couch and licking the underlining. I pull her out and she goes back. Never seen her do that.

Should I be worried?
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132 Normal?!!

when the numbers go straight down like this, usually it means that the bounce is starting to clear. That's a good thing!

About her behavior, how long has it been since you tested? It's possible she's still dropping. As long as she isn't *too* low, it's possible that she is just feeling the drop, or maybe she is just feeling good to be in nice normal numbers. How was she acting when she was lower the other night?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132 Normal?!!

Libby, it's been 40 minutes since her last test. The night she crashed when her numbers got really low she was very groggy and apathetic. Now it's almost like she's revved up. She just ate a few bites of dry food and now (as I have been typing this) she is laying down and almost looks tired. So strange!

Should I test again?

Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132 Normal?!!

it wouldn't hurt to test again, especially if you think she is not acting like herself.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132 Normal?!!

She was dropping so quickly and she got lethargic so quickly (from such a hightened state), I put a little syrup on her gums. I hope that's ok!!!

I don't like this!!!!!
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132 Normal?!!

Carla: you are doing awesome. I think Libby, wonderful Libby, hit the nail on the head.

Because we don't typically feed between +10 and PMPS as you don't want to shoot a food influenced number, then I would advise you get a +11 and see if she is still dropping. If she is, get a +12. You do not want to shoot a dropping number like this. You may have to stall her shot and keep posting to us to see if her BG comes up.

It's ok....there are some of us around to help you if you have to stall. How long before your +11?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Okey doke....sorry, I didn't see it in your subject line when I posted but we may have cross posted....happens alot.

If it makes you feel better, you can do an +11.5 but looks like Boo might be in for a possible night of pokeys so, IMHO, I'd wait and post a +12 and save a strip.

She may very well get into the 50s or 40s but let's see what she does. Unless she is coming up quite a ways at +11, it looks like you will need to stall.

What is the lowest number you have ever shot? I'm assuming after the other night, you have plenty of HC, test strips, karo, etc?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

I can't do this again!!!!

I just tested her and she's down to 64..... I rubbed syrup

The lowest I've ever shot her was 201 (1 unit) yesteray.

???????
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Should I be doing syrup or letting her continue to drop?

CArla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

take a deep breath, she is not too low, ok? She is dropping but this is still a safe number. How much syrup did you give? Will she eat anything? I know she won't eat canned food, but what about tuna or people food?

I'm glad Marje is here too. We're having storms and I keep losing my internet.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Carla: if you rub syrup then you are influencing her numbers; when they are coming down like she is, you don't know when they will turn back up and you don't want a food/karo influenced number.

Sometimes the juice wears off and they start back up between +12 and +14. If she gets into the 40s, we'll have you retest 15 mins later and if she isn't coming up, then we will probably have you feed her.

How long can you afford to stall and still be able to test tomorrow? Remember that if you stall, she comes up, and you shoot an hour later, for example, then you will have to start making up the time tomorrow in either a 15 minute segment each shot or in one 30 minute segment for one shot (tomorrow night). Also, think about what number you would be comfortable shooting based on whether you can stay up and test, etc.

It's ok...breathe. It's ok if you decide to skip a shot tonight. You don't have to have another night like the other one. You are doing fine!!!
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

She is not interested in food of any sort. She was all hyped up, then she literally just sat down and fell asleep.

+11 81... I rubbed one end of a finger full of karo
15 minutes later 64..... rubbed another end of finger full.

Now she is sitting and looking at me.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

hi welcome, i haven't been on your condo before.

syrup acts really fast it will go really high, and then it will leave, since you're close to shot time and test time and she's still at 81- i wouldn't do additional syrup.

she's not in an unsafe range at 81- you are okay and you are in the driver's seat. you are doing good.

my concern- i don't want you to spike her too fast too hard and toss a good chance to see what her numbers will do

(i see she is on dry food- does she eat wet at all? if not will she eat something like plain chicken breast or tuna? the goal is to take a look at something lc in her system, even if it's people food like chicken breast.)

it looks like marjie here too and but i know libby's internet has been on and off due to storms.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Carla: I think if she doesn't come up to above 200, you should plan on skipping her shot. And then one of the experienced dosing folks can think about a good dose for her tomorrow. She may need less juice even still.

How long can you stall to see if she comes up above 200 (which is probably not too likely)?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

She will not willingly eat anythign other than dry food.

If I have to, i can call in to work again tomorrow..... and then it's the weekend, so I'm a little more flex on times. I'll do whatever I have to do with the stalling.


Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

We are at +11.5 now. Should i retest?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

how close are you to normal test/shot time now?
i have to go feed a deranged frenchman who is opening all my kitchen cabinets. brb
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Ok but, again, I don't think you should shoot unless she is close to 200 OR she is really getting a pretty good rise.

I know you are working very hard to make the diet change for her....you are an awesome bean. But we probably need to use a little more caution since she likes dry food.

So you are up for stalling? How much syrup did you put on her gums :-D :-D Even if she comes up alot from that, we do not want you to shoot that rising number...need to be sure the karo/syrup has worn off. I really think you will probably end up skipping tonight. But again, that is OK!!!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Yes, I am ok to stall or skip. Now she is up eating dry food.

Should I be letter her eat or not??

I'm so sorry.... I'm not sure what I'm doing!

She looks MUCH better than she did a few minutes ago.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Right now I am 20 minutes away from regular shot time
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

Carla: ...please do not let her eat.

Because we don't typically feed between +10 and PMPS as you don't want to shoot a food influenced number

eta: rule of thumb, no feeding between +10 and PMPS and also when you are stalling...which we aren't yet ;-) ;-) How much did she eat?

It's ok....I think we're probably not going to want to shoot now because her BG should come up with that food and you really don't want to shoot a food inflouenced number as they can turn back around. I'm not sure if a dry food kitty will do that, too, but considering what she did the other night, I would assume she could.
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

I have taken up the food bowl now.. but she DID eat some. She's a free feeder and I was not aware that she didn't need to eat before PMPS.

Thank you for continuing to check in........ I feel a little lost. Again.
Carla
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

She ate for 20 seconds or so.... maybe 1/8 of a cup?
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

It's ok...don't feel lost. You're on a learning curve here and there are a lot of variables. Just basic things to keep in mind:

--don't feed between +10 and PMPS so you'll have to pull her dry food up between those times

--don't feed when stalling; post and someone will guide you through it. We like to see if they can come up on their own.

Are you doing ok??
 
Re: 6/23 Boo AMPS 315, +4 280, +10 132, +11 81.. help?

you're doing fine, no worries! There is always a bit of trial and error at the beginning, especially when someone comes in on a high dose and we have to try to find out where a correct dose is.

The dry food does throw a wrench into things, because it means that the tools most of us use to steer numbers (like wet food, which hits the system quickly) are not available to you. It's harder to judge when her food will hit her system. It's fine, we just need to be more conservative until we get Boo onto a good, safe dose. You will eventually learn how quickly she responds to food and how long its effects last in her system. For now, though, you don't want to shoot on as low numbers as some of us do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top