6.23 Bella amps 199,+2 61,+3 48,+3.5 68,+4 54,+5 50.+5.5 54 ,+7 58,+9 77,pmps 114,+2 130

HRH Bella on his throne lol
BFFA98A5-E804-45AC-899F-C2A8C9ED172B.jpeg
 
Guess last night was just a tiny bounce (no fur shot)!.

I had a used litter problem. I was using an old bucket that litter had came in lined with a garbage bag with Gizmo but got rid of it (it was way past its expiration date anyway). So I needed something for Frankie. I wanted something that didn't look ugly in the bedroom.

I ended up getting a diaper pail! It uses regular tall, 13 Gal kitchen garbage bags. It was kinda $$ but it was what I wanted. In looking at it, I knew a regular litter scoop would be too big (for dumping) and found a solution for this too. I got both from Amazon and they arrived yesterday. I used a command hook to hang the scoop on the side of the pail!

The pail is shorter than it appears but that is fine with me. It makes it more stable. I love the scoop - nothing sticks to it!!

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00821FLSU/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B07F9VVBVM/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
litter.JPG



scoop.JPG
 
Guess last night was just a tiny bounce (no fur shot)!.

I had a used litter problem. I was using an old bucket that litter had came in lined with a garbage bag with Gizmo but got rid of it (it was way past its expiration date anyway). So I needed something for Frankie. I wanted something that didn't look ugly in the bedroom.

I ended up getting a diaper pail! It uses regular tall, 13 Gal kitchen garbage bags. It was kinda $$ but it was what I wanted. In looking at it, I knew a regular litter scoop would be too big (for dumping) and found a solution for this too. I got both from Amazon and they arrived yesterday. I used a command hook to hang the scoop on the side of the pail!

The pail is shorter than it appears but that is fine with me. It makes it more stable. I love the scoop - nothing sticks to it!!

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00821FLSU/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B07F9VVBVM/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
View attachment 45812


View attachment 45811
Love that!
 
Bellas SS is looking really good for quite a while now! Maybe he's near the right dose to be regulated ? ( I wonder what's up with the yellow at pmps?)
images
 
Bella says "It's great to be KING! Now bring me my food." I like that pic. He looks very happy and relaxed. And healthy.

Our house is also pretty catified. Theresa has purchased 12-15 dog/cat beds...for only 5 critters.

@LizzieInTexas - we have the same scoop. Over time (8 years), it will corrode a bit. I think the urine gets to it.
It must great, I wouldn’t know, I’m just the servant lol
 
Yes lol my whole house is cat lol isnt it supposed to be?? That's what they are telling me
Someone gave me a sign once that is now up in my living room, it says “no outfit is complete without cat hair”
How could the house not be all about the cats?!!!!?!

I have house rabbit(/s), too, sometimes there is hay on the floor. It’s normal. Perfectly fine. Guests, please step over the barnyard and proceed to the couch.
 
For Bella, if he was my cat, I would reduce the dose again.

Last year I helped a lot of other owners here. The bouncy cats are tough, and they don't like to live in the standard protocol. For them, and Leo, I always targeted nadirs in the 100-150 range. That gets them some different nadirs from 80-180, but it helps their kidneys below the 200 (general) renal threshold.

This strategy also keeps them safe. Advice my vet gave me upon Leo's initial diagnosis.

The other consideration are the humans. You can't keep staying awake all night. It takes a toll.
 
Last edited:
Leo used to bounce around a lot more than Bella. We used to dose him an amount based on his last 12 hours. For higher dose cats, that works a bit. For low dose cats it would be pretty hard to do it.
 
Someone gave me a sign once that is now up in my living room, it says “no outfit is complete without cat hair”
How could the house not be all about the cats?!!!!?!

I have house rabbit(/s), too, sometimes there is hay on the floor. It’s normal. Perfectly fine. Guests, please step over the barnyard and proceed to the couch.
I say my house looks like a geriatric cat hospital
 
For Bella, if he was my cat, I would reduce the dose again.

Last year I helped a lot of other owners here. The bouncy cats are tough, and they don't like to live in the standard protocol. For them, and Leo, I always targeted nadirs in the 100-150 range. That gets them some different nadirs from 80-180, but it helps their kidneys below the 200 (general) renal threshold.

This strategy also keeps them safe. Advice my vet gave me upon Leo's initial diagnosis.

The other consideration are the humans. You can't keep staying awake all night. It takes a toll.
Thanks Jeff
 
For Bella, if he was my cat, I would reduce the dose again.

Last year I helped a lot of other owners here. The bouncy cats are tough, and they don't like to live in the standard protocol. For them, and Leo, I always targeted nadirs in the 100-150 range. That gets them some different nadirs from 80-180, but it helps their kidneys below the 200 (general) renal threshold.

This strategy also keeps them safe. Advice my vet gave me upon Leo's initial diagnosis.

The other consideration are the humans. You can't keep staying awake all night. It takes a toll.
I fell asleep in my recliner late yesterday afternoon!
 
Rugs everywhere due to Abby’s arthritis IV bag hanging from wall, stairs going to couch, bed and cat tree and of course all the diabetic supplies lol
That’s more intense than our set up! Just wait until all my cats are over the age of 10 though. That’s when I open the kitty nursing home. Haha.
 
Opinions please, should I reduce him again since he just had one last week?
Nope. Bella is a long term diabetic. Under TR that means reductions under 40, though some people with bouncy cats hold for three times under 50 on separate days. The way to get them to not bounce is to get them used to green. Shying away from a dose with just a bit of green is not the way to do it. Bella barely touched lime green today, and could still be seeing influence of the 1.5 units unit depot.
We used to dose him an amount based on his last 12 hours. For higher dose cats, that works a bit. For low dose cats it would be pretty hard to do it.
Doesn’t work for high dose cats either, and was probably one of the reasons why Leo bounced all over the place. Our experience here is that the depot style insulins work better with even dosing, instead of dosing like in and out insulins.
 
some people with bouncy cats hold for three times under 50 on separate days.
@Bellasmom That's where we're at - Luci is so bouncy I'd not consider a reduction until she throws down 3 times under 50 - if she goes under 40 she's more serious about a reducie - she's a tough one to regulate...if I reduce too soon it's not long before she's zooming high all the time...she's all over the road right now and loves her diving board still.
 
@Bellasmom That's where we're at - Luci is so bouncy I'd not consider a reduction until she throws down 3 times under 50 - if she goes under 40 she's more serious about a reducie - she's a tough one to regulate...if I reduce too soon it's not long before she's zooming high all the time...she's all over the road right now and loves her diving board still.
Nope. Bella is a long term diabetic. Under TR that means reductions under 40, though some people with bouncy cats hold for three times under 50 on separate days. The way to get them to not bounce is to get them used to green. Shying away from a dose with just a bit of green is not the way to do it. Bella barely touched lime green today, and could still be seeing influence of the 1.5 units unit depot.

Doesn’t work for high dose cats either, and was probably one of the reasons why Leo bounced all over the place. Our experience here is that the depot style insulins work better with even dosing, instead of dosing like in and out insulins.
I've always thought it was 50, duh on my part, I fell asleep and Mike gave normal dose so it wasnt a reduction
 
Doesn’t work for high dose cats either, and was probably one of the reasons why Leo bounced all over the place.
Well, it generally worked for Leo. And it kept him from having so many hypos.

Yes I understand that depot dosing is resilient because of the depot. In Leo's case it did not work even when I maintained the dose.
 
Back
Top