6/23 AMPS 223...Coleman

Status
Not open for further replies.

yogakat

Member Since 2013
Coleman and I (Kathy) just started here this weekend, so I have copy/pasted part of our intro just in case you missed it! We've only been on the 'general' board so far and were referred over here. Thanks to all who have responded since we showed up here...it is sooooo nice to hear from the Voices of Experience. Your advice and concern are making this not so crazy. Thanks for the warm welcome :smile:

Finally, two tests in a row in the low 200s! (FYI - to those of you who have suggested more random testing, that begins today!)

***previously...hello all. First time in TR so I will give Coleman a brief intro. He's a rescue, so age unknown but probably ~13+. Excellent health (well, except for this), excellent coat, excellent appetite, excellent attitude. Original dx 12/2/13 (and mild keto...overnight one night only at vets and then fine), last dose 1/1/14...and now testing high again...started insulin 6/14/14. Was testing regularly after being OTJ...then less often as it was always low. Then missed 3 weeks and BOOM. So, here we are again. Vet visit last Monday had urine cultures come back negative and check for pancreatitis negative. His exam was normal also.

I feed only canned from Dr. Lisa's list. Lantus dose currently 1.0 BID. We test every 6 hrs (apx...I tend to oversleep the middle of the night test by an hour...or two). Negative for ketones. Coleman is awesome to test...very easy and loves the process.
 
apologies to all...our computer wouldn't connect to the site when I tried to post...so I restarted the computer and then it posted too many times! Sorry :oops:
 
apologies to all...our computer wouldn't connect to the site when I tried to post...so I restarted the computer and then it posted too many times! Sorry :oops:
 
Hi Kathy and Coleman and welcome to Lantus Land!

Coleman is a very handsome guy and it's great to hear his health is so great. Did the vet note any possible infections or something like dental issues that would have caused him to come out of remission? I know Julie asked if you had any of his numbers from when he was first dx and went into remission. I'm wondering if your vet stopped the insulin too soon. That can happen as many vets think if the cat is between 150-200, insulin should be stopped. We strive for better numbers than that for a better chance at remission.

We ask members to post the link to their previous day's condo in the current day. Here's the link to Coleman's 6/22 Condo. To do this, just open the previous day's condo, copy the browser address, open a "new topic", put the cursor in the text box, click on the box above the text box, and then pa... It will look like this: [url]PASTE LINK HERE :-D

Here's a great post on Making the Most of your Lantus ISG Experience that will help us help you :-D

On yesterday's condo, Ann said that we are more aggressive with cats coming back from remission. Normally, we hold an initial starting dose 5-7 days. Coleman has already been at this dose 5 days. I'd increase his dose to 1.25u tonight and try to get a few more tests when you can.

Since it looks like you might work, perhaps you can shoot early enough to get an out the door (maybe a +2?) and in the door test with Coleman and I'd also strive for a +2 and before bed test each night to start.

Let us know how we can help!
 
First, I had to look up what a 'condo' is! Now, I have to figure out how to do one each day. :?

Questions...

1 - is there a template for a profile or do I just wing it?

2 - for Coleman's initial dx numbers, is it better on a separate ss or inserted into the current one?

Answers...

1 - Coleman's #s were typically well under 150 at the end of insulin, and after being OTJ were usually in the 70s

2 - I do work...but not a typical job. I am a yoga instructor AND I do on call therapy at a hospital. Generally I'm in and out throughout the day unless I'm at the hospital, which is usually no more than 2 days a week. So, I am fortunate that I can USUALLY do frequent and/or multiple readings throughout the day and keep an eye on him (tomorrow will be an exception). Also, my DH can do tests and shots if he's home before me...yeah!

3 - there are no dental issues...Coleman has no teeth! His mouth was awful when we rescued him and they all had to be removed. Also, his gums are in good shape!
 
First, I had to look up what a 'condo' is! Now, I have to figure out how to do one each day. :?

Questions...

1 - is there a template for a profile or do I just wing it?

2 - for Coleman's initial dx numbers, is it better on a separate ss or inserted into the current one?

Answers...

1 - Coleman's #s were typically well under 150 at the end of insulin, and after being OTJ were usually in the 70s

2 - I do work...but not a typical job. I am a yoga instructor AND I do on call therapy at a hospital. Generally I'm in and out throughout the day unless I'm at the hospital, which is usually no more than 2 days a week. So, I am fortunate that I can USUALLY do frequent and/or multiple readings throughout the day and keep an eye on him (tomorrow will be an exception). Also, my DH can do tests and shots if he's home before me...yeah!

3 - there are no dental issues...Coleman has no teeth! His mouth was awful when we rescued him and they all had to be removed. Also, his gums are in good shape!
 
It's helpful if the data is all on the current spreadsheet. You can insert rows above Friday, 6/13. Click on the far left side of the 6/13 row and it will highlight the row.

Then go up to "insert" on the top of the spreadsheet and choose "insert row above." It will put in a row above and then just add any dates and data you have. Doesn't have to be precise, but any info helps us see his story better.

about the profile - the paragraph you have above and on your previous post introducing him - that's basically what we need in a profile. You can use a google doc - that's probably easiest. Click on mine to see what I included about punkin. Anything about his medical history, age, weight, what he eats, etc. the fact that mr coleman is toof-less would go on there. Then link it in your signature like you did with his spreadsheet. When we're helping someone, we want to know anything that might be going on so any advice is appropriate to that particular cat. For example, we won't ask you 20 times how his teeth are now that we know he doesn't have any! :lol: Teeth can be a problem with many diabetic cats, and they often are a reason for coming out of remission.

I agree with marje - i'd increase his dose tonight. Thanks for already getting some different test times in there! I can see you're an "I'm on it!" kind of person! woot!

I suspect we all felt the way you described - doesn't seem like there's a lot of help out there on feline diabetes, and you get here and people do it 24/7 and will teach you what you need to know. It's a relief, isn't it? that's how i felt when I got here with punkin. :-D
 
Aww, Coleman you don't gots no toofs? Good thing wet food is all you need! Om nom nom... Just stopping by to say hi and welcome to LL. Julie and Marje have given great advice (as usual). Hope to see you splashing around in the lagoon soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top