6/22 TUXIE AMPS-416; +2.5-405; +4-290; +6-199; PMPS-491; +4-418 Hitting highs again

Status
Not open for further replies.
Slowly but surely Tuxie is coming down. A nice slow drop is much better than a bounce or a nose dive :)
 
I did Tuxie's PM shot 1 hour early to make up for the one hour late he was this morning. With his PS so high I don't think this is going to have any bad effects on him. He is really hitting the highs today and his timing is completely off as far as the nadir.
 
Those are some yucky numbers, hopefully our boys will come back down really soon.

Sammy is at least hanging around the blues...Tuxie has decided that red is his new favourite colour. If it wasn't for the blue Tuxie had this morning I would increase in the morning, but sometimes he takes 4 or 5 days to settle in, so I will wait another day. Hopefully Sammy can settle into the low blues or greens and show Tuxie the way down there. ;)
 
Shooting early when you have high numbers, as long as you're experienced (like you, not newbies), can be a great technique for bringing down high numbers. You're increasing the overlap between this morning's shot and this evening's shot. Not recommended for people who can't monitor, but in your case that was a smart choice, in my opinion.

Looking at his ss, though, I'd call this a failed reduction. He should've landed back into green numbers after the reduction. You don't have to wait for settling after a dose reduction in the way you do when you're going up in dose. Here's one reference about failed reductions:

The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir describes what we've fondly dubbed "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW) here in L & L. You might also see this happening while following the Start Low, Go Slow Method.

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

The concept of "New Dose Wonkiness" is NOT applied to higher numbers which may be seen after a dose reduction.

There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot".
"Settling time" does not apply to dose reductions. We don't wait for a reduction to "settle".

When you see numbers trending higher after a dose reduction we immediately return to the last "good" dose as described in the
The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir:

"If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."

Hope this helps...

(the part above was written by Jill)

the second part of the post is saying that this doesn't apply to a cat when you DECREASE a dose. let's say mookie drops below 50 today and you decrease the dose. if you see higher numbers following the dose decrease, that's not NDW. NDW only applies when you're increasing a dose. higher numbers following a dose decrease can be from one of two things. one possibility is that it simply isn't enough insulin. another possibility is if the cat dropped quickly, or if the cat dropped into a lower range of numbers than it was used to, that can cause a bounce.
(this last part was written by me)​
 
Shooting early when you have high numbers, as long as you're experienced (like you, not newbies), can be a great technique for bringing down high numbers. You're increasing the overlap between this morning's shot and this evening's shot. Not recommended for people who can't monitor, but in your case that was a smart choice, in my opinion.

Considering how high he was and how much testing I do ( or should I say over-do ;) ) I had no problem with shooting early. Also he was an hour late this morning...I actually slept in!!! so this gets him back on track with his normal hours.



Looking at his ss, though, I'd call this a failed reduction. He should've landed back into green numbers after the reduction. You don't have to wait for settling after a dose reduction in the way you do when you're going up in dose. Here's one reference about failed reductions:


Thanks for your input Julie. I am leaning that way as well, but since Tuxie can take a little longer to settle in (after bouncing), I will give it another cycle and then see about the increase. Yesterday's blues are still within an acceptable range for my target with the AT meter and may even touch on high green in human numbers. Now that I have put the threat into words maybe Tuxie will straighten out...fingers crossed!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top