6/22 Simmy AMPS 61; +4=90; PMPS 73

Meesta Simmy

Member Since 2019
Simmy's last BLUE (101) was Thursday 6/20's AMPS!!! Let's hope that he's GREEN from here on out!!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

How do I know when a reduction is earned? Would I drop .5 to 1.25 units?

:):):)

Hope all have a blessed day with the numbers you want.

:cat::cat::cat:
 
Nice start for Simmy. Reductions are taken in 0.25 increments. His next dose will be 1.25 units. With TR he can earn a reduction by going under 50 or staying in good numbers for 7 days, meaning mostly green and a few low blues. Today is day 6. If he stays green all day today and tomorrow you will take the reduction or if he goes below 50 today. Congrats. Simmy is looking good.
 
There are two ways a kitty's dose is reduced. From the dosing methods sticky regarding TR:
The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
I would look at the second bullet point. Simmy has been at the current dose and in almost exclusively normal range for a week. On that basis, you can reduce the dose by 0.25u.
 
PMPS 73!

Should I stay the course for one more day before reducing? Things are going so well that I'm hesitant to change anything... :blackeye:

No, no, no — I'll give him 1.25 tomorrow... :nailbiting:
 
Back
Top