6/22 Rusty PMPS 165, +4.5 205; another dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98159

Good Morning, Everyone,

Well, we have broken the 400 barrier. This is a first for Rusty. It's probably a bounce, but his numbers have been whacky and not "normal" lately (probably because of the pancreatitis flare, since everything else on his recent labs was good [June 10th; see the Labs tab on Rusty's spreadsheet]). In any event, I had intended to raise his dose again, so decided to take him up a drop this morning to what I am calling a fat 2 units (2.99mm on the digital calipers, Terumo syringe). Depending on what happens today, I may add another drop tonight to make it close to a full .25 unit increase. Advice and/or opinion would be welcome. Rusty's quantity of pee has increased and this morning I saw him drink water (he almost never drinks water).

Anyway, his appetite is good, he seems to be breathing well, he isn't vomiting, his litterbox contributions are good (but more pee than usual), and he is enjoying his combings, his schmoozes, his outdoor time. He hasn't done much playing lately, however.

We are headed to the farmers' market this morning and are eager to see what wonderful greens and veggies our CSA share will bring us. Today will be a "rest" day at home. I want to get out on my bike before the predicted thunderstorms arrive.

Wishing you all a lovely weekend: no fires, no floods, healthy kitties and healthy beans,

Ella & Rusty

Hey Kitties, Plans are proceeding nicely for our Full Strawberry Moon party tomorrow night. Elsa tells me that Bug and Lola have perfected the pizza crust and many kitties on the Kitchen Krew have great ideas for the menu. More planning today on my porch. see you later,
Rusty
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Morning Ella, and hey Rusty, what's up with that number! You are needed as our LagoonMeister! Good luck on the dosecrease. Did Rusty have a urinalysis last Labs? Usually for Mags a lot of peeing indicates a UTI but not always. It's good he's feeling good otherwise. Enjoy the Farmer's Market today. Scritches to Rusty.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Given that Rusty's numbers have been rather uncharacteristic for him, I'd lean toward the larger increase. Hopefully, it will get his pancreas kick started.

Have fun at the farmer's market. I love going to markets.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Hi Ella. Hope the extra drops do the trick and bring Rusty's numbers back down to the normal Rusty range.

Have fun at the farmer's market.

Today will be a "rest" day at home. I want to get out on my bike before the predicted thunderstorms arrive.
Is that an oxymoron? :lol:

Have a great day Ella.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Rusty! What are you doing? Use that xtra bit of jooce well today, Big Boy!

Hi Ella.....mmmm, farmer's market day. Since you're reminded me, I can do that too. I'm certain that Checks will let me go out for a while. Gotta go to the library anyway.

Enjoy your day, Ella :-D
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O)

:shock: on that amps. WOW - I don't think I have ever seen Rusty in the red zone. Good luck with the dosecrease - and the additional drop tonight I hope it will be what Rusty needs to get things jump started and back on track. I suspect the water drinking is due to the higher BG's. Mannie's always increased too when He was running high. Rusty - dude, down you go, please! It's great that all else is well with Rusty - YAY! I do believe you are correct on the P'titis.

Enjoy the farmer's market - they are always such fun.

And a bike ride too? I so need to get that going here too. Kinda slacked off in the bike department.... :roll:

Have the best of days.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Paws crossed that the dosecrease gets some action.
No one is after your title Rusty, so don't be too eager to give it up, okay?
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

whoops. I hope he reads this dosecrease threat in his condo while you're at the Farmers Market and brings his little self back down. Enjoy collecting your fresh veggies and then have fun "resting" on your bike ride.

Rusty, dear, you must have a broken GPS. Stop, put your head facing your tail and your tail facing your head. Now, march. xoxo auntie mary

Hey Rusty, i'm on my way for planning and fun on the porch! I've got some meeces for grillin while we plan for the Full Moon! Do you think Auntie Ella will let us make cookies? I love cookies. See you in a sec. Ollie
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Ella --

We do have Farmer's Markets but they are not always easily accessible. My favorite is called the Green City Market. All of the purveyors are screened as organic and sustainable farmers. They do have products other than produce (e.g., artisanal breads, a butcher, cooking demos). The hassle is parking. There is an adjacent parking lot that charges an arm and a leg so on top of paying for organic produce, you are paying for parking. There are some smaller markets at various plazas in the city but if you want to stock up, there's no parking. Times I was walking, it made for a challenging workout especially if you want to buy produce like tomatoes and cantaloupe.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Hello, Ella & Rusty
Nice to meet you! Rusty is a beautiful kitty.
I hope that the dose increase will work!
It's great he's is feeling so good!
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope Rusty comes down today. I hope you get some good stuff at the Farmer's Market.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

Good luck with the increase, Ella. I'd also opt for the higher amount (not sure if you saw my post from last night). I wasn't sure if you wanted to raise before Camp Stu but looks like you need to.

I'm also wondering if he might be in a little pain if his pancreatitis is episodic. Cats are marvelous at hiding pain. I'd also discuss this with my vet or if you have some bupe, you might give him a dose and see if it helps. Just a thought.

We have a few farmers' markets around here but not like those I've seen in other cities. It is rather discouraging. What they do have here is the opportunity to buy farm boxes with organic produce in them. You order a box and they deliver it to a local restaurant with that week's goodies. It's kind of like a CSA but you don't buy into it.

have a great day!
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!; dosecrease

OH Rusty it time to come down from there, paws crossed that he reads all these notes.
Have a great time at Farmers market :smile:
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210; dosecrease

Oh, dear! Rusty! :shock: Well, something is working! Slides are fun! I wonder if that test was off? Have fun at the market, we should go today too! It's been too long!
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210; dosecrease

Hi again,
Rusty listened to you all and came down (shall we call it a dive?). Tonight he gets the other drop added on (unless he dives into the mid greens). Marje, I do have Bupe, but I've never given it. He doesn't like his mouth fussed with. I've heard that you can also give it as a shot; is it subQ like insulin? Can you give it in an insulin syringe? If so, how do you measure it? (I have a syringe that the vet gave me and apparently I'm supposed to use the needle on the syringe to draw the Bupe out of the bottle, then take off the needle and shoot it into his mouth. I would rather not have to do all of this, especially since he is acting normally and eating really well. I don't want to stress him out.) At the moment he is taking his usual post-lunch "down time", napping on the front porch on one of the camp chairs. We are keeping an eye on him.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210; dosecrease

Ella

It depends on how your vet gave it to you. Does it say "injectable" on the bottle or whatever she gave it to you in? As long as it is not compounded with a flavoring, you should be able to inject it and yes, it is given subq. There would be some serious math into giving it with an insulin syringe :lol: :lol: :lol: And I don't know if the viscosity of the bupe is such that it would be more difficult to get it through a 31g needle. It should be ok but if given subq, it is usually given in a tuberculin syringe that is marked in tenths of milliliters.

I've given it subq a few times and used a 21g needle but normally I just have small syringes without needles and give it in the cheek pouch (orally). If you feel he is ok and doesn't need it, don't give it. You are most attuned to him and can tell if he's in pain by his activity level and even looking at his eyes. While cats are good at hiding pain, I would think he would be a bit more lethargic, maybe off his food a bit, eyes not as bright, maybe not as responsive to you as usual. The difference could be very, very subtle but I know you know him well.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210; dosecrease

Hi Ella....I'm glad to see that Rusty's come down. Whew! I'm sorry that he doesn't seem to feel well.
Being a caregiver and responsible for our pets health and comfort is not so easy. I too, have to watch for subtle changes, like body language...how slowly Checks walks, how slowly he lets his butt down, when he sits.

I put the bute in his cheek pouch too. I couldn't get it under his tongue. He doesn't mind anymore. I think he knows I'm helping him.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210, +9 135; dosecrease

Hi again,
Rusty is still heading down. Yay! He had a nice nap on the porch and ate his freeze dried chicken treat and a +9 Paw Lickin' snack (1 teasp.) on the little porch table. It was raining when I wanted to go out on my bike, so I worked out on the rowing machine in the basement (where it is nice and cool--very warm and muggy outside today). The rain stopped and Edward and I went for a short walk.

Thanks to all for checking on Rusty. Marje, many thanks for the info. on how to give Bupe. The Bupe the vet gave me last spring (2012) is in a test-tube-like bottle with a stopper cap. I don't know if it is flavored. The vet packaged it. There is no expiration date on it. If I decide to use it, I'll call and ask. She thinks I know more than I do and doesn't realize that I am a "specialist" in FD!!! :lol:

bbl,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210, +9 135; dosecrease

I would definitely call before using it. It might very well have expired.

I'm the WORST about taking expired meds but I will never, ever give it to the cats. :roll:
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210, +9 135; dosecrease

Saw your question on our condo. Tobey and Gracie are just getting one a day. But the dosing is pretty liberal on it and Rusty is a much bigger cat.

I started giving Tobey two a day because the NRT vet, Dr. B, did her testing that determines how much the body needs. But after a few weeks, he stopped wanting the second one. I think it is fine to give Rusty two a day.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210, +9 135; dosecrease

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Thanks to all for checking on Rusty. Marje, many thanks for the info. on how to give Bupe. The Bupe the vet gave me last spring (2012) is in a test-tube-like bottle with a stopper cap. I don't know if it is flavored. The vet packaged it. There is no expiration date on it. If I decide to use it, I'll call and ask. She thinks I know more than I do and doesn't realize that I am a "specialist" in FD!!! :lol:

Even if it is "straight" (not compounded and not flavored) Buprenorphine, I would use caution if it has been transferred from the original container to what sounds like a red top tube. The vet may transfer it with the intent that it is to be given orally, and so it may not be sterile "enough" for injection. I don't like injecting anything that has been transferred out of the original container (unless it has been transferred into the syringe to be used for injecting). Especially if it was transferred a year ago.

Ella, if you need any Tuberculin syringes to try out (hopefully not to inject this :shock: ) let me know, and I can bring some.
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty AMPS 400!!!, +5.5 210, +9 135; dosecrease

Zener is impressed with Rusty's slide. No need to start so high, buddy.
Liz
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty PMPS 165; another dosecrease

Hi Ella,

Well that was a nice slide for Rusty today. Good luck with the dosecrease :smile: The ER Vet gave us Bupe, prefilled oral syringes. I only gave it to Zeus once, and he did not like it. He looked kind of spacey, and then he did this lip smacking and swallowing really hard thing. It was strange.

I hope Rusty is feeling well tonight
Kathie
 
Re: 6/22 Rusty PMPS 165; another dosecrease

Oops, saw this too late, Sienne. He got another drop this evening: total dose increase of 2 drops. We'll keep close watch over him and will stay up later if need be (normally we turn in around 11:30, which is +5, but we usually test him at 11 P.M. (+4.5). In any event, he had gone up 30 points between +9 and PMPS, so it wasn't a falling number.

@Linda: I don't think I want to try out those syringes! I'm not going to do anything with this Bupe. We can talk about it next week. I don't think Rusty is in pain. He is behaving normally. Thanks for the info. and the offer. Maybe bring one so that I can see what they look like.

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top