Re: 6/22 PurrCee AMPS 361 ??
Hi Julie
You are doing a GREAT job grabbing those spot checks. I also read PurrCee's profile and really enjoyed the info you put on there about him and his housemates. I'm sorry that he hasn't adapted to testing yet. Perhaps my post on
Testing and Shooting Tips might help?
I think PurrCee is adjusting normally to the lantus. He pretty much looks like most cats when they start out. He is "bouncing". I'm not sure if it's been explained so please forgive me if this is redundant.
When PurrCee was dx with diabetes, his BG was probably up there for a bit before you noticed the symptoms. That is normal. The liver has then become accustomed to those higher numbers. When the insulin is started and numbers start to come down, any number lower than what the liver is used to....or any fast drop in numbers...causes the liver to release counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the BG back up to what it perceives is a "safe" number. Which is the high one. So it takes time for the liver to get used to normal numbers. We call this "liver training school" or LTS. Some cats bounce only a short time, some cats bounce for much longer. Basically, they bounce until they don't. Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear. PurrCee is likely bouncing from that 149 yesterday.
I do think you should increase the dose to 1.25u tonight as long as you can continue to test as you have been.
Also, any time you get a preshot number that is lower than you have shot before, please do not feed him but post and ask for help. We will help you learn to shoot lower and lower, safely and gradually. We "shoot low to stay low" here but you can't do it in one big step.
FD will teach you patience. It's a tough lesson especially for someone like me that just wanted Gracie better RIGHT NOW! Even though the numbers are still not where you like, I promise you he is better and healthier for getting the insulin and the care you are giving him. Hang in there...he will find his dose!
Good luck with the increase.